Skip to Main Content
Stony Brook University

Preservation Department

Home site for the Stony Brook University Libraries Preservation Department, our mission, our roles, our services offered, etc.

       

 

Objectives

1. Identification, evaluation, and triage of library material needing preservation measures. 
This program element is carried out on an ongoing basis and is largely dependent on library staff outside the Department of Preservation Services – the Access Services Department and other departments as well – who assist in the identification of items that need preservation evaluation, triage, and treatment.

 

2. Repair and stabilization actions using effective, nondestructive preservation and conservation treatments.

Current treatment options utilized in the Department are:  commercial rebinding and re-casing, house repairs for basic re-mediation, construction and application of protective enclosures, preservation photo-duplication and microfilming for quality item replacement, and vendor out sourcing when advanced and specialized conservation work is indicated.  In all decisions and actions, nationally and professionally accepted preservation standards and techniques are adhered too.

 

3. Maintenance of materials and collections.  

This element includes a number of ongoing concerns and actions that are basic to the preservation program's success. They are:

  • Achieving acceptable temperature and relative humidity environments for all materials and formats held in the collection, to the extent that these factors can be controlled and remediated.
  • Promoting and supporting collection cleaning programs for all library storage areas.
  • Working with library staff, campus personnel, and vendors to provide adequate security for materials.
  • Maintaining an up-to-date Emergency Planning and Response Manual, improving response team members’ emergency recovery skills and knowledge, and coordinating the emergency response and preparedness program.
  • Building and maintaining communication channels with staff to report conditions that in their judgment are threatening the well-being of materials and collections.

 

4. Providing protection to “last” or “dwindling” copies of books and other materials in the library’s collection

And beyond the library's holdings, determining if any item should be retained or whether possible replacement or reformatting (according to nation preservation standards) is a better option.

 

5. Collaborating closely with the Department of Special Collections and University Archives, the Music Library and Maps Section.

These three areas hold some of the library’s most special, rare and valuable resources, so the Department aims for regular evaluating, determining, and addressing of those preservation and conservation needs.

 

6. Participation in the continued development of an electronic resources program and adopting strategies and procedures for the sustainable preservation of digital items and collections.

Library

Library Administration: 631.632.7100

Resources

campaign for stony brook

Follow Us


Comments or Suggestions? | Library Webmaster



Creative Commons License

Except where otherwise noted, this work by SBU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.