This is the "Home" page of the "Dissertations and Theses at Stony Brook University" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Libraries Stony Brook University Health Sciences Library

Dissertations and Theses at Stony Brook University  

Information about how to locate and access theses and dissertations at Stony Brook University
Last Updated: May 9, 2013 URL: http://guides.library.stonybrook.edu/theses-and-dissertations Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Collection Information and Help

Please direct questions about PRINT dissertations and theses by graduates of Stony Brook University to: Kristen J. Nyitray (see right for contact information)

Please direct questions about ELECTRONIC dissertations and theses by graduates of
Stony Brook University to:

F. Jason Torre
fjason.torre@stonybrook.edu
Head, Preservation Department
Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library
Room W-2550
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3310
631.632.9960 (t - office)
631.632.7109 (t - department)
631.632.7116 (fax)

Karen D'Angelo
karen.d'angelo@stonybrook.edu

Cataloger, ETD Collection
Technical Services
Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library
W-2520
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3347
631.632.7137 (t)

 

Official Repository

Special Collections and University Archives is Stony Brook University's official repository for the print, archival masters of theses and dissertations.

*If you need assistance locating a SBU dissertation or thesis, please contact us.
If you are unable to locate an item, please let us know. It is possible that that the file is "in-process" or that the author has selected to embargo or restrict access.

 

Search Strategies

Full-Text and Citation Subscription Databases
Access limited to students, faculty, and staff at Stony Brook University
 

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses@Stony Brook: citations and/or access to the full-text (1997-present) of dissertations and theses authored by graduates of SBU.

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: full-text and citations; contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works; includes 2.7 million searchable citations to dissertation and theses from 1861 to the present.

Open Access - Free Databases

Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) currently indexes over 1.6 million freely accessible electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs) published around the world. Metadata (information about the theses) comes from over 600 colleges, universities, and research institutions. The OATD project is led by Thomas Dowling, director of technologies at the Z. Smith Reynolds Library at Wake Forest University.  For more information about OATD and how it compares with other resources for finding electronic theses and dissertations, see the article “Open Access Theses & Dissertations: Launch of a New OA Discovery Tool,” from Information Today.

 
Full-Text of SBU Electronic Theses and Dissertations (May 2007 to September 2011)
In May 2007, the Graduate School instituted electronic submission of theses and dissertations in PDF format. These documents are called electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Cataloging records in STARS include direct links to the PDFs. The content is maintained in DSpace, the State University of New York digital repository.
  Access to these documents is free and available to the public. 

Print Editions of SBU Dissertations and Theses (pre-2007)
Dissertations and theses authored by students of Stony Brook University prior to 2007 in print format can be located by searching STARS, the library's online catalog. 

Abstracts
Abstracts of the most recently submitted dissertations (January 2008-present) can be downloaded directly from the Graduate School. Searching is limited to year and month of defense. Please visit http://www.grad.sunysb.edu/academics/ddd.php for more information.
 
 

About Special Collections and University Archives

Special Collections and University Archives select, acquire, preserve and provide access to rare, valuable, and scarce primary and secondary materials in a variety of formats in support of the educational and research endeavors of Stony Brook University's students, faculty, and staff.

The department also extends its services to researchers in the wider geographic region, nationally, and internationally. Holdings include: books, manuscripts, and maps dating from the 15th century; the University Archives; audio/visual materials; and a digital repository.

All are welcome to explore the library's unique collections.

Department Head & Associate Librarian

Kristen J. Nyitray
Contact Info
Head, Special Collections & University Archives
University Archivist
Frank Melville, Jr. Memorial Library, E-2320
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3323
631.632.7119 (t)
631.632.1829 (f)
Send Email

Subject Specialist

Profile Image
Lynn Toscano, M.A. Italian Literature
Contact Info
(631) 632-7119
on campus: 2-7119

Fax: (631) 632-1829

Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library, E2320

Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY11794-3323
Send Email
 

Purchasing Print Copies and Electronic Files

Purchasing Print Copies and Electronic Files
Please note: the University Libraries do not sell or reproduce dissertations and theses. Copies can be purchased from ProQuest's UMI Dissertation Express service.

Copyright © 2013 Stony Brook University Libraries
Phone: 631.632.7100 | Email: Library Webmaster
Stony Brook University
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip