Research & Subject Guides: COLLECTIONS: Maps: Nineteenth-Century Maps

Nineteenth-Century Maps, Part A

Nineteenth-Century Maps

Plan of St. Johnsville with residents' homes identified, provided by the Fort Klock Historic Restoration.

Color map of upstate New York and Long Island in two parts.

A chart of the coast of America : from New York and Philadelphia to the Strait or Gulf of Florida, and from thence to the Mississippi

1837 map of the eastern coast of America. Includes numerous notes, 12 insets (including extension from Florida to mouth of Mississippi River), and 6 panoramic views of selected portions of the coastline.

A geological section of the country from the neighborhood of Sandy Hook in New Jersey northward through the Highlands in New York towards the Catskill Mountains.

Map of geological cross-section by Samuel Akerly in 1819. Relief shown by profile and with spot heights.

A map of the State of New York [northern section]

Digital image of the northern part of De Witt's 1802 map of New York.

A map of the State of New York [southern section]

Digital image of the southern part of De Witt's 1802 map of New York.

A map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities : including the turnpike roads now granted as also the principal common roads connected there with

1808 map showing major roadways in New York State.

A map of the state of New York : exhibiting the situation and boundaries of the several towns, wards, and counties and specifying in each town, ward, and county, the whole population thereof, and in the several counties, the population upon which the apportionment of senators and members of assembly is based, with tables of apportionment

Hand-colored 1845 map prepared for the New York legislature. Includes notes, table of statistics, and insets of the cities of Schenectady, Rochester, Buffalo, Albany, Troy, Brooklyn, Utica, Hudson, and of the city and county of New York, Brooklyn and Williamsburgh.

A map of the village of Williamsburgh, Kings County, N.Y. : showing each lot of ground in said village, as laid down on the assessment of the village, together with the assessment number of each lot

Hand-colored map from 1845 including notes and showing street names, property lines and lot numbers.

A map prepared for the report of the New York & Erie R.R. Co., 1844, exhibiting the line of the N.Y. & E. R. Road : & the present state of the work, together with the area of the country tributary to the railroad and the population thereof.

Map showing railroad lines in New York and adjacent states.

A New Map of New York with its Canals, Roads & Distances from Place to Place along the Stage & Steam-boat Routes.

1836 map in full color by county with profile of the Erie Canal. Charts detail distances between points using Steam-boat routes. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

A New Map of New York with its Canals, Roads & Distances.

1846 map in full color by county with distances by steamboat routes. Profile of the Erie Canal from Lake Erie to the Hudson River included. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Adirondack Mountain Resorts Reached Via the Adirondack Railway from Saratoga

Railroad map by the Delaware & Hudson Railroad System, date unknown (PDF file).

Albany Rural Cemetery

1846 map showing cemetery sections and street names.

An improved map of the Hudson River : with the post roads between N. York & Albany

1834 map with relief shown by hachures and spot heights.

Annotated Bibliography of Selected New York State Maps: 1793-1900

Extensive bibliography by Jo Margaret Mano. Includes historical information, but no images.

Bridgman's new railroad & township map of New York from the latest official & other authentic sources adapted for use in institutions of learning, business offices & libraries.

Shows drainage, post offices, county seats, cities and towns, county and township boundaries, railroads and canals. Includes list of counties and statistical data, and a view of the state capitol. Also contains four inset maps of New York showing congressional districts, geology relief , and climate.

Brooklyn

Street map of Brooklyn published for Advertising Bureau, Brooklyn City Rail Road Company. Overprinted in brown to show "Twelve Routes, 42 miles of Streets and Avenues Traversed by Cars, all Starting from Fulton Ferry." Contains a list of routes in lower left of map.

Buffalo 1896

Color map from Rand McNally & Co.'s Universal Atlas of The World.

Chart of Long Island Sound, 1822

Nautical chart showing the north shore and east end of Long Island, as well as the southern coast of Connecticut.

The City of Brooklyn. Sketched and drawn on stone by C.R. Parsons.

A bird's-eye view of the city, showing points of interest.

City and County of New-York.

1836 topographical map of Manhattan Island, including sites of interest (Search David Rumsey collection).

City of New York.

1836 map in full color with references to churches, public buildings, hotels, and others. (Search David Rumsey collection).

City Of New York.

1845 full color map of the city showing ward boundaries and ferry routes. Includes census of the city at various periods.

City Of New York.

1846 full color map of the city with a list of references to buildings, squares and markets. (Search David Rumsey collection).

City Of New-York

1848 full color map of the city, covering Manhattan up to 26th St. on the west and up to 40th St. on the east side, as well as parts of Brooklyn and Williamsburg. Shows wards and ferry routes.

Clinton County, New York

1869 map in full color by township (PDF file).

Coast Chart No. 20 New York Bay And Harbor, New York.

1866 map by the U.S. Coast Survey, including information about the location of light houses and beacons, tidal changes, and variations of the magnetic needle. (Search David Rumsey collection).

Colton's new township railroad map of New York with parts of adjoining states and Canada.

Detailed map showing drainage, cities and towns, internal boundaries, distances between stations and the railroad network. Also includes insets of New York vicinity railroad and of the eastern portion of Long Island.

Cram's Rail Road & Township Map of New York.

1875 township and county map by the Cram Atlas Company in full color by county. Railroad lines are clearly marked (search David Rumsey Collection).

Cram's township and rail road map of New York.

Indexed township and county map showing relief by hachures, drainage, and cities and towns. Railroad lines are identified by initials.

East End of Lake Ontario and River St. Lawrence From Kingston to French Mills Reduced from an Original Drawing in the Naval Department by John Melish.

1815 color map showing soundings and ferry routes. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Elizabethtown, New York

1876 street map of the "capital of Essex county", showing buildings labeled with names of property owners (PDF file).

The Empire State, New York : with its counties, towns, cities, villages, internal improvements &c.

1845 map with illustrations of major events in the history of the state. Includes notes and 3 tables of population statistics.

[Entrance to New York Bay from Sandy Hook]

1822 map covering New York Bay from southern Manhattan to Sandy Hook, New Jersey.

Executors sale of property belonging to the estate of Jordan Coles, decd. : situate in the 6th ward of the city of Brooklyn, by Jas. Bleecker & Sons on Thursday, 2nd June 1836, at 12 o'clock at their sales room, No. 13 Broad St.

Map of Brooklyn covering area along the north shore of Gowanus Creek, including parts of Clinton, Court, and Smith streets, between Bay Street and Cooper Street. Shows lots and dimensions, and names of owners of adjoining properties.

Falls of Niagara and adjacent country.

1828 map by William Darby, showing the Niagara area of New York as well as Ontario, Canada.

Franklin County, New York

1876 map in color by township (PDF file).

Geographical, Historical, And Statistical Map of New York.

1822 map in full color by county, including Profile of Levels of the Erie Canal. (Search David Rumsey Collection).

Geological map of Long & Staten islands with the environs of New York

1842 map in full color, showing Long Island and vicinity. Includes inset "Map of New-York Island."

The Great metropolis in 1804.

Small map (possibly inset map) of New York City, covering Manhattan up to Desbrosses St. on west side and up to North St. (i.e. Houston) on the east side. Shows ferry routes.

Green-wood cemetery

1846 map of cemetery in Brooklyn, showing cemetery sections and street names. Includes illustrations.

Green-wood cemetery

1850 map of Brooklyn cemetery, showing cemetery sections and street names. Includes illustrations.

Hayward's map of the city of Brooklyn

1843 map of Brooklyn, including an illustration of Brooklyn Heights, inset, and list of churches and public buildings. Also shows wards and ferry piers.

Herkimer County, New York

1868 map in full color by township (PDF file).

Historic Maps of the Towns of Cazenovia, Fenner, and Nelson, Madison County, NY

Extensive collection of regional maps with links to related resources.

Hooker's New Pocket Plan of the City of New York

1824 street map of New York City. Includes lists of distributors, churches, markets, banks, newspapers, colleges, theaters, gardens, and public buildings.

Hooker's New Pocket Plan of the City of New York

1829 street map of New York City. (Search David Rumsey Collection).

Hooker's new pocket plan of New York

1838 street map of New York City covering Manhattan south of 15th Street and south of 31st Street from west to east. Includes lists of distributors, churches, markets, banks, newspapers, colleges, theaters, gardens, and public buildings.

Hudson River & vicinity

1835 map by David Burr showing the area around the Hudson River as well as western Long Island and northwestern New Jersey.

Hudson River & vicinity

1836 map by David Burr showing the area around the Hudson River as well as western Long Island and northwestern New Jersey.

Hydrographic map of the counties of New-York, Westchester and Putnam : and also showing the line of the Croton aqueduct.

1846 map showing area around the counties.

In or Out of the Adirondacks via the Ogdensburg & Lake Champlain Railroad

Railroad map of the Adirondack region, date unknown (PDF file).

Jefferson, Oswego, Lewis, Hamilton & Montgomery Counties

1871 color shaded maps from Asher & Adams' New Topographical Atlas And Gazetteer of New York (PDF file).

Johnson's New York by Johnson & Browning.

1860 atlas map in full color by county. (Search David Rumsey Collection).

[King's County, Richmond County].

1838 map by David Burr showing Brooklyn and Staten Island. Produced by unknown printing process that appears as white on black background.

Little Falls in 1802.

Map of town, from the Documentary history of the state of New-York, 1849-1851. Selected buildings shown pictorially.

Malone, New York

1876 map in full color by district (PDF file).

Map and guide of the elevated railroads of New York City.

Outline map of Manhattan showing stations. Includes train schedule and list of points of interest.

Map and profile of the Champlain Canal as made from Lake Champlain to the Hudson River and surveyed thence to the tide at Waterford

1825 map of the area surrounding the canal by James Geddes.

Map exhibiting the experimental and located lines for the New-York and New-Haven Rail-Road. Projected and drawn by P. Anderson, civil engr.

Detailed topographic strip map showing the coast from New York City to New Haven, Conn. Indicates drainage, relief by hachures, cities and towns, roads, and railroads. Chartered in 1844, organized in 1846, opened in 1849.

Map of 150 lots of ground situate in the eleventh ward of New York belonging to the estate of John Flack, decd.

1833 map covering the area bounded by Avenue C, Ninth Street, Lewis Street, and Sixth Street. Shows lot numbers, dimensions, and selected names of landowners.

Map of 188 lots in the 12th ward of the city of New York : being part of the estate late of Philip Webbers, decd.

1835 map of the city, covering area bounded by Tenth Avenue, 50th Street, Bloomingdale Road, 47th Street, Eighth Avenue, and 48th Street.

Map of 285 sections of ground at Flatbush, L.I., opposite the residence of Dr. A. Vanderveer, on the turnpike

1835 map covering area bounded by block east of Hamilton Street, "main road leading to Flatlands Neck," Brooklyn & Flatbush Turnpike, and "main road to Jamaica." Shows lots and dimensions, names of owners of adjoining properties, and buildings.

Map of 465 valuable building lots in the village of Astoria, Long Island.

1850 map of the village in Queens County, with lot numbers shown.

Map of 995 lots of the Rapelje propy. on the Brooklyn & Jamaica Rail Road & Turnpike

1835 map covering the area bounded by "Rail Road," the block west of Nassau Street, "Brooklyn and Jamaica Turnpike," and the block east of Market Street. Shows names of owners of adjoining properties.

Map of the city of Albany

1818 map showing wards and block numbers. Includes index to places of interest and north east view of the capitol in the city of Albany.

Map of the city of Albany

1828 map showing ward boundaries. Includes references to places of interest.

Map of the city of Albany

1843 map showing wards and block numbers. Includes index to buildings, banks, hotels and churches, as well as inset A plan of the city of Albany.

Map of the city of Brooklyn, and village of Williamsburg : showing the size of blocks and width of streets as laid out by the Commissioners, the old farm lines, water line, and all recent changes in streets...

1846 map by David Burr, showing wards for city of Brooklyn.

Map of the city of Brooklyn, as laid out by commissioners, and confirmed by acts of the Legislature of the state of New York...

1849 map by J.H. Colton, showing ward boundaries for the city of Brooklyn.

Map of the City of Buffalo.

Full-color map ca. 1855. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Map of the city of New-York / drawn by D.H. Burr, for "New York as it is, in 1834"

1834 map covering Manhattan up to 22nd St. on the west side and up to 34th St. on the east side, as well as neighboring parts of Brooklyn and Williamsburg. Shows wards, parks, ferry lines, and other points of interest.

Map of the city of New-York / drawn by D.H. Burr, for "New York as it is, in 1838"

1838 map covering Manhattan up to 21st St. on the west side and up to 34th St. on the east side, as well as parts of Brooklyn and Williamsburg. Includes key to public buildings in Brooklyn and notes on population. Shows ward boundaries, parks, ferry lines, selected public buildings and other points of interest.

Map of the city of New York.

1848 map covering Manhattan up to 19th St. on the west side and up to 33rd St. on the east side. Also covers parts of Brooklyn and Williamsburg. Shows wards and ferry routes.

Map of the City of New York extending northward to fiftieth st..

1852 map by Matthew Dripps. Shows all NY lots & buildings. Border has views of important city buildings. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Map of the city of New York : prepared for the model of New York.

1850 map covering Manhattan up to 19th St. on the west side and up to 33rd St. on the east side. Also covers parts of Brooklyn and Williamsburg. Shows wards and ferry lines and radial distances.

Map of the city of New York : with the adjacent cities of Brooklyn & Jersey City & the village of Williamsburg

Colton's 1843 map of the city and vicinity, showing streets, wards, fire districts, selected public buildings, and ferry lines. Includes information about fire alarms.

Map of the city of New York : with the adjacent cities of Brooklyn & Jersey City & the village of Williamsburg

Atwood's 1848 map of the city and vicinity, showing streets, wards, fire districts, selected public buildings, and ferry lines.

Map of the City of New-York with part of Brooklyn and Williamsburgh : population in the year 1850: 450,000 inhabitants

1850 map covering Manhattan up to 24th St. on the west side and 37th St. on the east side. Includes list of places of amusement, public buildings and churches. Also shows ward boundaries, fire districts and ferry lines.

Map of the city and county of New York : with the adjacent country

1831 map by David Burr of Manhattan, showing streets, wards, ferry lines, forts and selected public buildings. Includes census statistics, text and lists of public buildings, churches, museums, ferries, gardens and other places of interest.

Map of the city and county of New York : with the adjacent country

Same map as above, but dated 1832 (revised edition?).

Map of the counties of Albany and Schenectady

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels and landowners.

Map of the counties of Dutchess and Putnam

1829 map by David Burr, showing relief by hachures. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.

Map of the counties of New York, Queens, Kings and Richmond.

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township.

Map of the counties of Ontario & Yates

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels, and landowners.

Map of the counties of Orange and Rockland

1840 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.

Map of the country thirty miles round the City of New York.

1811 map showing Southeastern New York, Long Island, and part of New Jersey. (Search David Rumsey Collection).

Map of the country thirty three miles around the City of New York.

1853 color map showing Southeastern New York, Long Island, and part of New Jersey. (Search David Rumsey Collection).

Map of the country twenty five miles round the City of New-York.

1835 atlas map showing Southeastern New York, Long Island, and part of New Jersey. In full color by county (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Map of the country twenty five miles round the City of New-York.

1840 color map showing Southeastern New York, Long Island, and part of New Jersey. Marked with latitude and longitude, as well as train routes. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)

Map of the county of Cayuga

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.

Map of the county of Columbia

1829 map by David Burr, with relief shown by hachures. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, and churches.

Map of the county of Erie

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.

Map of the county of Greene

1829 map by David Burr, with relief shown by hachures. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels, and landowners.

Map of the county of Herkimer

Map by David Burr, published in 1841. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels, and landowners.

Map of the county of Madison

1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels, and landowners.

Nineteenth-Century Maps, Part B

Coming soon. The section is being edited for dead links.

Map of the county of Monroe
1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Montgomery and Fulton
Map by David Burr, published in 1841. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels and landowners.
Map of the county of Niagara
1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Oneida
1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels and landowners.
Map of the county of Onondaga
Map by David Burr, published in 1841. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Orleans
1829 map by David Burr, in color by township. Also shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Rensselaer
1829 map by David Burr in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels and landowners.
Map of the county of Saratoga
Map by David Burr, published in 1841. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, parcels and landowners.
Map of the county of Suffolk
1840 map by David Burr in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Sullivan
1840 map by David Burr showing town boundaries, flour mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches and lot lines and numbers.
Map of the county of Ulster
1829 map by David Burr showing relief by hachures. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and landowners.
Map of the county of Wayne
1829 map by David Burr, showing flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of the county of Westchester
1829 map by David Burr in color by township. Shows flouring mills, factories, forges, saw mills, churches, and parcels.
Map of Dutchess County, New-York from original surveys
1850 map with relief shown by hachures. Includes text, illustrations, statistical table of Dutchess County, and inset "Plan of Poughkeepsie." Shows landowners names.
Map of a farm at Fort Hamilton in the town of New Utrecht.
1834 map of the area of present-day Brooklyn, covering lots numbered 1 to 122 between Smith Avenue and Stewart Avenue. Includes text and table of lot measurements.
Map of the Hudson ... from New York Harbor the Fort Washington.
Map by Andrew Thompson Goodrich, showing eastern New Jersey, Manhattan Brooklyn, and north to Fort Washington.
[Map of the Hudson ... from Sandy Hook to New York Harbor]
Map by Andrew Thompson Goodrich, showing extreme eastern New Jersey, Staten Island and Brooklyn
[Map of the Hudson River from Newburgh to Kingston].
Map ca. 1840 with relief shown by hachures.
Map of the Hudson River Rail Road from New York to Albany
Image from Library of Congress in MrSID format of 1848 railroad map.
Map of the Lakeland farms, near the villages of Lakeland and Hermanville, on the Long Island Rail Road.
1850 map with views of Ronkonkoma Lake, L.I., Lakeland hotel, post office and depot of Long Island R.R. Includes text and inset map of Long Island. Shows lot numbers.
Map of lands in the city of New York, lying between Tenth and Twentieth Streets and between the Second Avenue and the East River...
Map of lands of Peter Gerard Stuyvesant willed to his heirs. Includes text.
Map of Long Island showing the Long Island Railroad.
Map showing drainage, township and county boundaries, cities and towns, roads, and railroads.
Map of Long Island showing the Long Island Railroad and its leased lines.
Shows all of New York City and Long Island. Indicates drainage, cities and towns, township and county boundaries, and the railroad network. Chartered on April 24, 1834.
Map of Long Island with the environs of New-York and the southern part of Connecticut
1844 map including notes, insets and view of New-Brighton. Shows boundaries of states, counties and towns.
Map of Long Island with the environs of New-York and the southern part of Connecticut
Same map as above, but dated 1847 (revised version?).
Map of lots in the 5th ward of the city of Albany belonging to the estate of Peter Gansevoort, Jr. decd.
1834 map of Albany showing the block from Market Street to Water Street and from Spencer Street to Lumber Street.
Map of lots to be sold at auction by Anty. J. Bleecker on Thursday 14th January 1847 at 12 o'clock at the Merchants' Exchange : [New York City].
1847 map of New York City, covering lots on 49th and 50th streets between 6th and 7th avenues, as well as lots on 6th Avenue between 48th and 50th streets.
Map of the Marine Hospital ground, Staten Island / reduced from a survey, made by John Ewen, dated March 1845 by Daniel Ewen, city surveyor.
1845 map showing piers, wharf, passenger's dock, cemetery and public buildings
Map of the meetings constituting New York Yearly Meeting of Friends.
1852 map of New York State and parts of surrounding states, showing distances between places of meeting of the Religious Society of Friends. Includes inset map Part of Michigan.
Map of Morris's Purchase or West Geneseo In the State of New York.
Detailed 1804 map of the Holland Land Company, published for the promotion of sale of their Western New York lands. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Map Of New York And The Adjacent Cities.
1856 color atlas map of New York City. Includes Ellis Island, Governors Island and Blackwells (now Roosevelt) Islands (Search David Rumsey Collection)
Map of New York and vicinity.
1863 color map of New York City. (Search David Rumsey Collection).
Map of New-York Bay And Harbor And Environs.
1844 map by the U.S. Coast Survey. (Search David Rumsey Collection).
Map of New York City, Brooklyn, and vicinity showing surface & elevated railroads in operation and proposed.
Shows relief by hachures, drainage, parks, some buildings, names of property owners, streets, roads, and railroads distinguished by line symbols
Map of New York City, Brooklyn, and vicinity, shewing [sic] suburban lines of Long Island Railroad and its connections.
Map of the five borough area of New York showing drainage, settlements, streets, roads, and railroads. "Manhattan (El.)R'y,""Long Island R.R.,""proposed Cable El.R'y," and connections are color coded.
Map of New York exhibiting the post offices, post roads, canals, rail roads &c. By David H. Burr; (Late topographer to the Post Office.) Geographer to the House of Representatives of the U.S.
Detailed map showing relief by hachures, drainage, township and county boundaries, cities and towns, canals, roads, and railroads.
Map of New-York : on the improved plan of Sidney E. Morse
1828 map of New York State in full color by county. Includes index and inset: City of New York and vicinity.
Map of New-York Bay and Harbor and the environs
1844 map of New York Harbor and vicinity. Includes text, table of currents, notes, 4 coastal panoramas and 2 views of Sandy Hook Light.
Map of New-York Bay and Harbor and the environs
1845 map of New York Harbor and vicinity. Includes text, table of currents, notes, and 4 coastal panoramas.
Map of the New York Central and Hudson River Railroad and its principal connections.
1876 color map of the eastern half of the United States showing major drainage, cities and towns, the railroad network, with names of lines
Map of the New York Wilderness
1867 map of the Adirondack region (PDF file).
Map of Northern New York showing the route of the Adirondack Co. Railroad
Railroad map of the Adirondack region, date unknown (PDF file).
Map of part of the Jackson Homestead in the 7th ward of the city of Brooklyn...
1849 map covering the area bounded by De Kalb Avenue, Oxford Street, St. James Street, and Navy and Fulton streets. Shows selected lots with dimensions.
[Map of part of Kingston, N.Y., on Rondout Creek].
Map ca. 1830 probably covering the locality of Wilbur within the city of Kingston. Houses and other structures shown pictorially.
[Map of part of New York State between Albany and Buffalo : showing Erie Canal and other transportation routes]
1820 map of western New York State, including profile of levels for Lake Erie and Hudson River.
Map of part of Niagara River
1820 map showing Niagara River as well as Lake Erie and Grand Island. From Elkanah Watson's History of the rise, progress, and existing condition of the western canals in the state of New-York.
Map of property belonging to Gedney, in Nyack, Rockland Co., state of New York
1838 map in pen, ink and watercolor. Shows landowners names, lot lines, numbers, and dimensions.
Map of property on Brooklyn Heights, or, Pierrepont Estate, and neighbourhood.
1849 map showing streets and lot dimensions.
Map of property situated in the 12th ward of the city of New York belonging to the estate of John Taylor...
1834 map covering the area extending from Bloomingdale Road to Middle Road, in the vicinity of 39th Street, and intersected by 5th and 6th avenues. Shows lot numbers and dimensions, and adjacent landowners.
Map of the rail roads, from Rome to Albany and Troy, by one of the engineers who assisted in contructing, prepared from actual survey.
Detailed map of the Mohawk Valley from Troy to Rome showing drainage, relief by hachures, towns, and villages
Map of the rail roads of the state of New York.
1870 map shows drainage, cities and towns, county boundaries, canals, railroads in progress, proposed, and in operation. Shows connection with mineral areas in northern Pennsylvania.
Map of the railroads of the state of New York prepared under the direction of the Rail Road Commissioners, John S. Clark, William J. McAlpine, James B. Swain.
Map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing drainage, relief by hachures, county boundaries, cities and towns. Different colors indicate railroads in operation, in progess of construction and proposed.
Map of the railroads of the state of New York prepared under the direction of Silas Seymour, state engineer surveyor.
Map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing drainage, relief by hachures, county boundaries, cities and towns. Different colors indicate railroads in operation, in progress of construction, and proposed.
Map of the rail-roads of the state of New York prepared under the direction of Van Renssselaer Richmond, state engineer and surveyor; Geo R. Perkins, Dep State Engineer & Surveyor.
Map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing drainage, relief by hachures, county boundaries, cities and towns. Different colors indictate railroads in operation, in progress of construction, and proposed.
Map of the railroads of the state of New York showing the stations, distances & connections with other roads. Thos. Pentingale, L.P. Behn.
Outside the neat line are lists of distances arranged by individual railroad companies. "Connections with other roads" are listed across bottom of map.
Map of the real estate in the city of New York : between the south side of Washington Parade, 4th St., and the north side of Bellevue, 28th Street
Street map dated 1831 with street names, property lines and landowner's names shown.
Map of the River St. Lawrence and Adjacent Country From Williamsburg to Montreal from an Original Drawing in the War Department.
Outline color fold-out map dated 1815 with the river, roads and local towns shown. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Map of the route of the proposed New York & Erie Railroad, as surveyed in 1834, reduced from the plans as returned by Benjn. Wright, Civil Engineer. D.R. Harrison, sc.
Shows New York state from Westchester County to Lake Erie, and part of northern Pennsylvania and New Jersey. The line was chartered on April 24, 1832. See entry 404.
Map of Saratoga Springs, Saratoga Ct., New York
1850s map drawn by John Bevan, civil engineer & surveyor.
Map of the Shore Line Rail Road route between New York and Boston, showing its rail road and steamboat connection with New York, New Haven, New London, Stonington, Providence, Newport, and Boston.
Detailed map of lower New England states and part of New York indicating drainage, cities and towns, state boundaries, township lines, and the railroad network.
Map of the State of New York.
Full-color 1826 map with statistical table including population figures for counties and towns. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Map of the State of New York.
1830 map in full color by county, including inset of a profile of the levels of the Grand Erie Canal, as well as statistical table of cities with their population.
Map of the State of New York.
1831 map in full color by county, including inset of a profile of the Grand Erie Canal (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Map of the state of New-York and the surrounding country
1829 hand-colored map also showing Connecticut, Rhode Island and Vermont and parts of Massachusetts, New Jersey and Pennsylvania. Includes profiles of the Erie, Champlain and Seneca Canals as insets.
Map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities.
1833 map in full color by county. Includes inset maps of New York City, Niagara Falls, Rochester, Albany and the Hudson River
Map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities.
1838 map showing county boundaries. Includes inset maps of New York City, Niagara Falls, Rochester, Albany and the Hudson River.
Map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities.
1850 map showing county boundaries. Includes population as of 1850, statistics and text. Also includes insets of places of interest.
Map of the state of New York / drawn and engraved by Sherman & Smith, New York.
1850 hand-colored map showing county boundaries. Includes illustrations as well as insets of major towns and cities.
Map of the state of New York : showing the boundaries of counties & townships, the location of cities, towns and villages, the courses of rail roads, canals & stage roads
1842 map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing relief by hachures. Includes inset maps of the St. Lawrence River, New York City, and the Croton Aqueduct and Hudson River.
Map of the state of New York : showing the boundaries of counties & townships, the location of cities, towns and villages, the courses of rail roads, canals & stage roads
1842 map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing relief by hachures. Includes inset maps of the St. Lawrence River, New York City, and the Croton Aqueduct and Hudson River.
Map of the state of New York : showing the boundaries of counties & townships, the location of cities, towns and villages, the courses of rail roads, canals & stage roads
1850 map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing county boundaries. Includes inset maps of the St. Lawrence River and New York City.
Map of the state of New-York showing its water and rail road lines. Jan 1855, by direction of John T. Clark State Engineer & Surveyor.
Map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing drainage, relief by hachures, county boundaries, cities and towns. Different colors indicate railroads in operation, in progress of construction, and proposed.
Map of the State of New York : with the latest improvements
1833 map of New York and parts of adjacent states showing county boundaries. Includes mileage tables, statistical tables and elevation profiles "Profile of the Western Canal" and "Profile of the Northern Canal."
Map of the State of New York : with the latest improvements / by Wm. Hooker.
1827 map of New York and parts of adjacent states, including text and statistical tables and elevation profiles "Profile of the Western Canal" and Profile of the Northern Canal."
Map of the state of New York with part of Upper Canada / engraved & printed by Fenner Sears & Co.
1831 map showing New York and parts of surrounding states and Canada. Includes inset map of New York City.
Map of the state of New York : with parts of the adjacent country, embracing plans of the cities, and some of the larger villages
Map by David Burr, including indexed tables of references and decorative cartouche.
Map of That Portion of the City and County of New-York North of 50th St.
1851 map of New York City showing topography. Includes inset of Westchester County. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Map of the town of Saratoga Springs, Saratoga Co., N.Y.
1879 map drawn from surveys of Cramer and Mott.
Map of the Town of St. Johnsville
1853 map provided by the Fort Klock Historic Restoration.
Map of valuable property situated in and adjoining the village of Flushing : (the village line running thro' the property), belonging to Mr. Gansevoort for sale by W. Smart, agent / surveyed by Benjamin F. Willets, dated July 1850.
Map covering property between Stanford Avenue and Franklin Avenue, and between Jamaica Avenue and Long Lane. Shows lot dimensions and numbers.
Map of the village of Flushing, Queens County, L.I. : nine miles east of the city of New York
1841 map showing village boundaries, landowners names and lot dimensions. Includes inset map of the town of Flushing.
Map of the village of Hermannville, Town of Islip, Suffolk county, Long Island : 50 miles from New-York, and near the centre of the island.
Map of the village circa 1850, also covering "Village of Lakeland and Lake post office." Includes views of Lakeland Depot and Ronkonkoma Lake, as well as inset map of Long Island.
Map of the village of Peekskill, Westchester County, New-York / from actual survey by I.H. Herbert.
Map of the village circa 1840, showing buildings and names of landowners.
Map of the Western Part of the State Of New York.
1825 map in full color by county, including a profile of the western and middle sections of the Erie Canal, as well as tables of statistics and geological remarks (Search David Rumsey Collection)
Map of the western part of the state of New York, 1823.
Map showing county and township boundaries. Includes statistical tables and geological remarks on the western part of New York, and a profile of the western and middle sections of the Erie Canal.
[Map of wharves and piers on North River from Battery Place to Hammond Street]
1850 map of New York City. Includes dimensions of piers and blocks on West Street.
Map shewing the rail roads between Lake Erie, New York & Boston : intended to illustrate the importance of the N. York & Erie Rail Road
1842 map showing the routes of the railroad lines through New York and parts of adjacent states
Map showing the Geneva & Hornellsville Railroad and its connections.
Map of western New York and part of Pennsylvania showing drainage, cities and towns, counties, and the railroads with emphasis on the main line. See entry 562.
Map showing land required for Croton Aqueduct purposes / B.S. Church, resident eng'r.
Map circa 1850 showing the property of Samuel J. Tilden between Croton Aqueduct and N.Y. Central & Hudson River Railroad along Warburton Ave., probably in Yonkers, N.Y.
Map showing the location of the N.Y.& Oswego Midland R.R. with existing and proposed connection, January 1st 1869, [by Van R. Richmond, State Engr.&Surv.]
Maps of New York State and vicinity showing drainage, canals, cities and towns, and named railroads. January 1st, 1870 edition has "W.B. Gilbert, Chief Engineer."
Map showing the old farms : from 4th to 28th Street, east of 6th Avenue, New York / compiled from authentic documents by Edwin Smith, city surveyor, 1831.
Map circa 1831 showing streets, property lines and landowners names.
Map showing the Pittsburg [sic], Bradford, and Buffalo Railway and its connections, W.R. Bergholz, chief engineer, New York, Feb. 15, 1882.
Map of parts of western Pennsylvania and New York showing drainage, coal fields, iron ore areas, and fire clay areas, furnaces, and oil wells. Railroads are color coded.
Map showing the route & connections of the Central Rail Road Extension Company of Long Island.
Shows New York City and western Long Island. Indicates drainage, cities and towns, roads, and railroads
McCleary & Pierce's Geographical Analysis of the State of New York, Albany 1850.
A puzzle map of New York in full color by county. Surrounding pieces show adjoining states and bodies of water. (Search David Rumsey Collection.
Neueste Karte von New York : mit seinen Canaelen, Strassen, Eisenbahnen, entfernungen der Hauptpunkte und Routen für Dampfschiffe : nach den besten Quellen verbessert.
German map dated 1844 covering New York State and parts of adjacent states and Canada, from Meyer's Hand-Atlas. Includes inset mileage table and elevation profile, "Profil des Erie-Canals".
New map of the city of New York.
1850 map Manhattan up to 52nd St. Includes tables of the assembly, senatorial and congressional election districts, information about fire alarms, and directory to places of interest.
New York.
1823 full-color map including a profile drawing of the level of the Erie Canal (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York.
1828 school atlas map from the Middlebury Female Academy. (Search David Rumsey Collection).
New York.
1831 map in full color by county (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York.
1835 atlas map in full color by county, including inset map of Long Island (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York.
Full-color 1838 map of New York City by Thomas Bradford (Search David Rumsey Collection.
New York.
Full-color 1838 map of New York State by Thomas Bradford. (Search David Rumsey Collection.
New York.
1840 full-color map including inset map of Long Island. (Search David Rumsey Collection.
New York.
1841 map in full color by county. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York (City).
1841 map showing New York City in full color by labeled area. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York.
1828 map of New York State by William Darby.
New York.
1856 full-color atlas map with two inset maps: "Vicinity of Niagara Falls" and "Vicinity of New York" (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New York and its Environs.
1857 atlas map with New York City, Staten Island, part of Long Island, and Newark shown. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New-York / by David H. Burr
1835 full-color atlas map of New York State, showing county boundaries. Includes inset maps of New York City, Utica, Lake Champlain and the Niagara River.
New-York / by David H. Burr
1836 atlas map of New York State, showing wards and boundaries. Includes inset maps of New York City, Utica, Lake Champlain and the Niagara River.
New York By H.S. Tanner.
1823 map in full color by county. Includes a chart with the height of the mountains on the Hudson River. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
New-York, N. Jersey and Pennsylvania.
Full-color map ca.1833, showing the three states plus parts of adjacent states. Relief shown by hachures.
New York und Umgebungen.
Map of the New York City area, printed in Germany in 1828. Place names on map are in English
Part of U.S. Mil. Reservation, West Point, N.Y./ drawn by Cadet Chas. De L. Hine.
1889 topographic map in color with relief shown by contours and shading.
Plan for the drainage of that part of the city of Brooklyn which empties its water into Gowanus Creek & Bay
1848 map showing the part of the city lying between Court Street and the Fifth Avenue, Warren Street and Gowanus Bay.
Plan of the city of New-York : with the recent and intended improvements / drawn from actual survey by William Bridges, city surveyor, A.D. 1807
Map from Mitchill's Picture of New-York, or, the traveller's guide, through the commercial metropolis of the United States. Shows wards and public buildings, and includes "References" to places of interest.
Plan Of New York.
1860 map of New York City in full color by area.
Profile of the twelve avenues in the city of New York : from 24th to 161st Sts., shewing the elevations at the streets
1850 profile map of New York City compiled for D.T. Valentine's Manual for 1850.
Railroad map of New England & eastern New York compiled from the most authentic sources.
Shows county and township boundaries, and "Railroads completed, located and in progress."
Railroad map of the state of New York to accompany the twelfth annual report of the Board of Railroad Commissioners of the State of New York, 1894.
Includes insets of a miniature rail road map of the vicinity of New York and the western portion of Long Island. Shows drainage, cities and towns, distances, and named railroads.
Routes between New-York & Washington / drawn by I. Smith, geographer.
1837 strip map of transportation routes (highways, railroads, and canals) between New York, Philadelphia, Baltimore, and Washington.
Route of the Albany & West Stockbridge Rail Road, 1842.
Railroad map covering the area between the Hudson River and the western border of Massachussetts in the vicinity of Albany, N.Y. and West Stockbridge, Mass.
Route sketch of part of U.S. Military Reservation, West Point, N.Y. / by Cadet Charles De L. Hine.
1889 pen-and-ink/watercolor map shows relief by contours and shading.
St. Lawrence County, New York
1865 map with different townships lightly shaded in color (PDF file).
St. Lawrence, Franklin, Clinton & Essex Counties
1871 color shaded map from Asher & Adams' New Topographical Atlas And Gazetteer of New York (PDF file).
Sale of 30 valuable building lots on & near the 5th Avenue in the 18th ward, by Anty. J. Bleecker, on Tuesday 8th May 1849 at 12 o'clock, at the Merchants' Exchange : [New York City].
Map of New York City covering the area bounded by Broadway, 30th Street, Madison Avenue, and 27th Street. Shows lot numbers and dimensions.
Sanitary & Topographical Map of the City and Island of New York.
1865 map shows all the original water courses of Manhattan Island, with the street grid superimposed on top. Sewer lines are also indicated. (Search David Rumsey Collection)
Sherman & Smith's railroad, steam boat & stage route map of New England, New-York and Canada.
Detailed township and county map showing place names and some indication of drainage and relief.
Sketch illustrating the progress of the survey of the coast in 1845 showing the positions occupied in making observations upon currents in New York Bay & Harbor and the East River.
1845 map showing New York City and vicinity. Includes inset map showing coastal Connecticut and Fishers Island.
The State of New York.
1814 map with counties outlined (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
State of New-York for Spafford's gazetteer
1813 detailed map with major geographic features labeled.
State of New York, Jany. 1, 1824 : for Spafford's gazetteer.
Map of New York State and parts of adjacent states. Includes inset profiles of Erie and Champlain Canals.
State of New York with part of the adjacent States.
1818 map with counties and other states outlined in color (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
Tibbits Brook route.
Profile of Tibbets Brook route of Croton Aqueduct from the Harlem River to the Battery in Manhattan. Selected buildings in Lower Manhattan shown pictorially.
Topographic map of West Point, Constitution Island, and vicinity, N.Y.
1842 topographic map with relief shown by hachures.
The tourist's map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities
1828 map of New York, showing county boundaries. Includes elevation profiles of the Erie and Champlain Canals as insets.
The tourist's map of the state of New York : compiled from the latest authorities in the Surveyor General's office
Later edition of above map, published in 1831.
Troy, N.Y., from actual survey
1845 map of the city of Troy, also covering parts of Green Island and West Troy. Shows wards and lots.
Tunison's railroad, distance, and township map of New York from latest surveys.
Detailed 1898 map showing relief by hachures, drainage, cities and towns, counties, and the railroad network. Includes a directory of business firms below the map and a list of counties in upper left of map.
Valuable property in the 11th ward of the city of New York : to be sold at auction by George B. Rollins on Thursday, 25th March 1847, at 12 o'clock, at the Merchants' Exchange.
Map of New York City covering the area bounded by Lewis Street, 6th Street, Tompkins Street, and 5th Street
View of the Country round the Falls of Niagara.
1812 map showing the area from Lake Ontario to Lake Erie along the Niagara River. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
View of the Country round the Falls of Niagara.
1815 map with surrounding roads and ferry route noted. (search David Rumsey Collection)
Village of Auburn.
1837 map with a plan of the village in the center and different views of public buildings. Also includes a profile of the Erie Canal (search David Rumsey Collection).
Warren County, New York
1876 map in full color by township (PDF file).
Watson's New Map Of New-York And Adjacent Cities.
1874 map in full color, includes inset "Map showing the Hudson River And Adjoining Country" (search David Rumsey Collection).

COLLECTIONS: Maps

Nineteenth-Century Maps, Part A

Nineteenth-Century Maps, Part B

Library

Resources

Follow Us