Early Maps (Maps created prior to 1800), Part A of Three Sections
1735 map of the British colonies, including New York (PDF file).
Part of a large map of New York State.
A chart of the bar of Sandy Hook : the entrance of Hudson's River in the Province of New Jersey
British map created in 1784, showing Sandy Hook, NJ, and the entrance to the Hudson River.
A chart of the bar of Sandy Hook : the entrance of Hudson's River in the Province of New Jersey
1832 reprint of above map.
A Chart of the coast of New England, New York and Long Island from Cape Codd to Sandy Point.
Early eighteenth-century map showing the northeast coast from Long Island to southern Maine.
A chart of the coast of New York, New Jersey, Pensilvania, Maryland, Virginia, North Carolina, & c.
1780 map with relief shown by shading.
A chart of New York Harbour : with the banks, soundings and sailing marks from the most accurate surveys & observations.
Map published between 1784 and 1794 with relief shown by hachures and depths shown by soundings.
[A chart of New York Island & North River, East River, passage through Hell Gate, Flushing Bay, Hampstead Bay, Oyster Bay, Huntington Bay, Cow Harbour, East Chester Inlet, Rochelle, Rye, Patrick Islands, &c.]
Revolutionary-era map covering the coast of Long Island from Eaton's Neck to Yellow [i.e. Red] Hook, western Long Island Sound, parts of New York Harbor and Manhattan Island, and the Paulus Hook area of New Jersey.
A chorographical map of the Northern Department of North-America, drawn from the latest and most accurate observations, at Amsterdam by Cóvens and Mortier and Cóvens, junior.
Hand-colored map from 1780, showing land grants and purchases in northeastern New York State and granted townships in Vermont and parts of New Hampshire, and Massachusetts.
A chorographical map of the Province of New-York in North America, divided into counties, manors, patents and townships; exhibiting likewise all the private grants of land made and located in that Province
1779 hand-colored map compiled from actual surveys deposited in the Patent Office at New York. Appeared in Thomas Jefferys' The American atlas. 1776.
A Description of the Towne of Mannados or New Amsterdam
The "Duke's Plan" of New York, 1664
A draught of Lake George, and part of Hudson's River taken September 1756 by Captn. Joshua Loring.
Relief shown pictorially. Depths shown by soundings. Indexed for points of interest.
A draught of New York and Perthamboy Harbour.
Circa 1750 map showing eastern New Jersey, Staten Island, Manhattan, and western Long Island. Probably an inset from Emanuel Bowen's map, "Particular draughts and plans of some of the principal towns and harbours ..." Relief shown pictorially with depths by soundings.
A general map of the middle British colonies, in America : containing Virginia, Maryland, the Delaware counties, Pennsylvania, and New Jersey ; with the addition of New York, and of the greatest part of New England, as also of the bordering parts of the province of Quebec...
Revolutionary-era map by Thomas Pownall, from the American Military Atlas. Includes inset "A sketch of the upper parts of Canada."
A general map of the northern British colonies in America : which comprehends the province of Quebec, the government of Newfoundland, Nova-Scotia, New-England and New-York
Revolutionary-era map originally from The American military pocket atlas , Plate IV. Relief is shown pictorially.
A large draught of New England, New York and Long Island.
Early eighteenth century map by Samuel Thornton.
A Map of the British and French settlements in North America...
1755 map of the mid-Altantic region west to the Mississippi and Ohio Rivers. Includes notes on the Indian tribes and historical events.
A map containing part of the Provinces of New York and New Jersey, drawn from surveys compiled by Thomas Millidge, major 1st Battalion, New Jersey Volunteers, 1780.
Shows area between the Hudson and Delaware Rivers, from Kingston, N.Y. to Trenton, including names of some property owners. Drawn in 1781 by Andrew Skinner.
A Map of the country round Philadelphia : including part of New Jersey, New York, Staten Island, & Long Island.
British map ca. 1750 with relief shown pictorially. Date Unknown.
A map of the eastern part of the province of New York with part of New Jersey, &c
Map originally appearing in London Magazine, 1756. Includes inset "Fort Frederic at Crown Point, built by the French 1731."
A map of New England and New York
Hand-colored map of the northeast from 1676, including illustrations of animals and coat of arms. Relief shown pictorially.
A map of New England, New York, New Jersey and Pensilvania
Map of the northeast printed in London in 1730, showing towns to which missionaries were sent. Relief shown pictorially.
A map of the Province of New-York, reduc'd from the large drawing of that Province, compiled from actual surveys by order of His Excellency William Tryon, Esqr., Captain General & Governor of the same, by Claude Joseph Sauthier; to which is added New-Jersey, from the topographical observations of C. J. Sauthier & B. Ratzer.
Shows administrative boundaries in New York and New Jersey. Also shows portions of Pennsylvania and New England. Engraved by William Faden in 1776.
A map of the Province of New York, with part of Pensilvania, and New England.
Map created in 1775, showing administrative divisions. Includes inset continuations of Lake Champlain and the Connecticut River.
A map of the Province of New York, with part of Pensilvania, and New England, from an actual survey by Captain Montresor, engineer [northern sheet]
Northern sheet of Montresor's 1775 map of the Province of New York
A map of the Province of New York, with part of Pensilvania, and New England, from an actual survey by Captain Montresor, engineer [southern sheet]
Southern sheet of Montresor's 1775 map of the Province of New York
A map of the provinces of New-York and New-Jersey, with a part of Pennsylvania and the Province of Quebec. From the topographical observations of C. J. Sauthier.
1777 map showing administrative divisions in New York and New Jersey.
A map of the most inhabited part of New England, containing the provinces of Massachusetts Bay and New Hampshire, with the colonies of Konekticut and Rhode Island, divided into counties and townships: the whole composed from actual surveys and its situation adjusted by astronomical observations
Map of New England and New York published in 1755 by Thomas Jefferys
A Map of the route from the city of Albany to the Fort Osswego on the Lake of Cataroque.
1750s sketch map which also shows the route from Albany to "Crown Point, belonging to the French." Includes "An account of miles from the city of Albany to Osswego."
A Map of the State of New York.
Map drawn in 1794 by Jedidiah Morse. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
A map of ye English Empire in ye continent of America : viz Virginia, Maryland, Carolina, New York, New Iarsey, New England, Pennsilvania
Map drawn circa 1785, covering North America from the Gulf of Saint Lawrence to the Great Lakes and South to Chesapeake Bay. Includes inset which covers Chesapeake Bay to St. Augustine.
A mappe of Colonel Romers voyage to ye 5 Indian Nations
Map of western New York drawn in 1700.
A new and accurate map of New Jersey, Pensilvania, New York and New England : with the adjacent countries
Hand-colored 1747 map of the northeast with relief shown pictorially.
A New and Accurate Map of the Present War In North America
Map of area of the French and Indian War, circa 1755 (PDF file).
A new and accurate map of the province of New York and part of the Jerseys, New England and Canada : shewing the scenes of our military operations during the present war
1780 map showing most of New York and parts of adjacent states.
A new chart of America with the harbors of New York, Boston, &c
Nautical chart of the east coast of the U.S. from Maine to Virginia, drawn in 1799.
A new chart of the coast of North America : from New York to Cape Hatteras, including the bays of Delaware and Chesapeak, with the coasts of New Jersey, Maryland, Virginia and part of the coast of North Carolina
Nautical chart of the east coast of the U.S. from Maine to Virginia, drawn in 1799.
A new and general map of the middle dominions belonging to the United States of America
1794 map covering Virginia northward to New England. Includes inset "A sketch of the upper parts to show the remainder of the lakes."
A new map of the English empire in America : viz. Virginia, Maryland, Carolina, New York, New Iarsey, New England, Pennsylvania, Newfoundland, New France &c.
British atlas map ca. 1719. Includes insets "The harbour of Boston or Mattathusetts Bay" and "A generall map of the coasts & isles of Europe, Africa and America."
A new map of New England and New York
British atlas map ca. 1700. Covers New England as far north and east as Casco Bay, ME., and covers N.Y. as far west as the Hudson River Valley. Includes key to selected placenames.
A new map of New England, New York, New Iarsey, Pensilvania, Maryland, and Virginia
Circa 1690 map, covering Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, southeastern New York, New Jersey, eastern Pennsylvania, Delaware, eastern Maryland, and eastern Virginia. Includes inset of New York Harbor area.
A new map of Virginia, Maryland, Pensilvania, New Jersey, part of New York and Carolina.
Map shows extreme southeastern New York. Includes inset, notes, decorative cartouche, compass rose, coats of arms and other illustrations.
A new mapp of America : devided according to the best and latest observations and discoveries, wherein are described by their proper names, the seaverall countries that belonge to ye English, which are wholly left out in all French and Dutch maps, viz. New Scotland, Long Island, N. York, N. Jarsey, Mary Land, Pensilvania, Carrolina, et[c].
1690 map of North and South America. Includes inset of Arctic region.
A Plan of Albany, as it was in the year 1758.
Map circa 1759 with relief shown by shading.
A plan of the attack of Fort Washington, now Fort Knyphausen, and of the American lines on New-York Island by the King's troops, on the 16th of November 1776.
Map drawn in 1776, including descriptive index. Shows relief by hachures.
A Plan of the City of New York, Reduced from an Actual Survey
GIF image of 1763 map of New York City from Yale University Map Collection.
A plan of the city of New-York & its environs : to Greenwich, on the North or Hudsons River, and to Crown Point, on the East or Sound River, shewing the several streets, publick buildings, docks, fort & battery...
Revolutionary-era map including references and inset "A chart of the entrance to New York from Sandy Hook, shewing the properest channel for sailing, with ye banks and depths of water."
A plan of the country from Frogs Point to Croton River : shewing the positions of the American and British armies from the 12th of October 1776 until the engagement on the White Plains on the 28th
Revolutionary-era map appearing in John Marshall's The life of George Washington, 1807. Relief shown by hachures.
A Plan of Fort George at the city of New-York. Survey'd and drawn by C. J. Sauthier.
Manuscript map circa 1773, including index to buildings.
A plan of the Narrows of Hells-gate in the East River, near which batteries of cannon and mortars were erected on Long Island with a view to take off the defences...
1776 manuscript map, including "References."
A plan of New York Island, part of Long Island &c : shewing the position of the American & British armies, before, at, and after the engagement on the Heights, Aug. 27th, 1776
Map published circa 1806, depicting battle during Revolutionary War. Shows relief by hachures.
A plan of New York Island, with part of Long Island, Staten Island & east New Jersey, with a particular description of the engagement on the woody heights of Long Island, between Flatbush and Brooklyn, on the 27th of August 1776...
Hand-colored pictorial map. Includes an account of the proceedings of His Majesty's forces at the attack of the rebels works on Long Island, on the 27th of August 1776, taken from Gen. Howe's letter to Lord George Germaine ... dated Sep. 3, 1776.
A plan of the position which the army under Lt. Genl. Burgoyne took at Saratoga on the 10th of September 1777, and in which it remained till the convention was signed.
Map showing position of British and American armies at the Battle of Saratoga (published in Stedman's History of the American War, 1793).
A plan of St. Georges Ferry on Nassau-Island made the 10th August 1774, by G. Bancker, city surveyor.
Shows points of interest including wharf, ferry house, and "Mr. Livingston's wharf" and distilling house. Includes "Description as agreed on at St. Georges Ferry the 10th Augt. 1774 ... "
A plan of the township of Blenheim, as surveyed and divided in the year 1772.
1772 sketch map showing the names of several landowners.
A Plan of the works on Spikendevil Hill with the ground in front, protracted from a scale of 200 feet to an inch.
Revolutionary-era sketch map of the vicinity of Spuyten Duyvil, New York. Relief shown by shading.
A Portion of New York from the Hudson River west to the Unadilla Branch of the Susquehanna River; from the Delaware River north to Fort Stanwix.
Eighteenth century map drawn for William Harper. Area is divided into the various tracts of land with the owners identified.
A Prospective Plan of the Battle fought near Lake George on the 8th of September 1755.
Large clickable map drawn by Samuel Blodget and engraved by Thomas Johnston in 1755.
A Set of Plans and Forts in America, 1765.
Atlas published in 1765 by Mary Ann Rocque. Contains 30 plans of forts in North America, mostly in the New York and New England region, drawn from previously published maps.
A sketch of the operations of His Majesty's fleet and army under the command of Vice Admiral the Rt. Hble. Lord Viscount Howe and Genl. Sr. Wm. Howe, K.B., in 1776.
Map centered on the Hudson River and New York Bay from Sandy Hook to Haverstraw. Includes index entitled "References."
A survey of Frog's Neck and the rout[e] of the British Army to the 24th of October 1776, under the command of His Excellency the Honorable William Howe, General and Commander in Chief of His Majesty's forces, &ca, &ca, &ca. .
1776 watercolor map of the Throgs Neck area, including "References to the plan."
A Survey of Lake Champlain, including Lake George, Crown Point and St. John.
Full-color map published in 1776. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
A Survey of Lake Champlain.
Map published in 1762, includes area of Lake George, Crown Point and St. John (PDF file).
A Survey of Lake Champlain including Crown Point and St. John's...
Map published in 1760, including descriptive notes and "References to Crown Point."
A Survey of the Roads of the United States of America
First American "road atlas" published in 1789 by Christopher Colles. Several individual sheets show roads in New York State. (Search David Rumsey Collection.)
A topographical map of Hudsons River, with the channels depth of water, rocks, shoals &c. and the country adjacent, from Sandy-Hook, New York and bay to Fort Edward, also the communication with Canada by Lake George and Lake Champlain, as high as Fort Chambly on Sorel River. 1776.
Hand-colored map showing relief by hachures and depths by soundings. From the publisher's The North American atlas. 1777.
A topographical map of the northn. part of New York Island, exhibiting the plan of Fort Washington, now Fort Knyphausen, with the rebels lines to the southward...
Map drawn by W. Faden in 1777. Relief shown by hachures.
An accurate map of Staten Island : with that part of New York, Long Island and the Jerseys which is the rendesvous of the two grand armies and the supposed present seat of action
Revolutionary-era map, including distance table.
An actual survey of the sea coast from New York to the I. Cape Briton : with tables of the direct and thwart courses & distances from place to place
1758 map showing Long Island north to Cape Breton. Includes distance charts, notes, decorative cartouche, and insets of New York and Boston harbors, Casco Bay, Annapolis Royal, and the Atlantic Ocean from the equator to N 600.
An exact map of New England, New York, Pensylvania & New Jersey, from the latest surveys
1778 map appearing in William Russell's The history of America.
An exact map of New Jersey, Pensylvania, New York, Maryland & Virginia, from the latest surveys
Map shows part of Long Island and Manhattan. Appears in William Russell's The history of America (1778).
An exact mapp of New England and New York.
Map from Cotton Mather's Magnalia Christi Americana, 1702. Covers area from the Hudson River Valley east to Cape Cod and from Long Island north to Casco Bay.
Plan of Albany from John Miller's A description of the province and city of New York, with plans of the city and several forts as they existed in the year 1695. Includes explanation to the plan.
Attaque de l'armée des provinciaux dans Long Island du 27. aoust 1776; dessin de l'isle de New-York et des Etats. Par un officier de l'Armée. Par acte du Parlement du 24 8bre. 1776.
Indexed, hand-colored French map showing relief by hachures.
Belgii novi, angliae novae, et partis Virginiae : novissima delineatio.
Map ca. 1650 covers part of Virginia north to Maine. Relief shown pictorially.
Carta della Nuova Inghilterra, Nuova Yorc, e Pensilvania
Italian map ca. 1760 covering Pennsylvania north to southern Maine. Relief shown pictorially.
Carte de la baye et riviere de Délaware...
Revolutionary-era French map covering the Delaware Bay and River. Also includes map of the Hudson River Estuary which covers Staten Island, parts of Long Island, and Manhattan.
Carte du Canada ou de La Nouvelle France et des decouvertes quiy ont ete faites
French map of Canada and the New World, date unknown (PDF file).
Carte de la nouvelle France
Western portion of Champlain's 1632 map of New France (shows all of New York).
Carte de la Nouvelle York : y-compris les terres cédées du N. Hamp-Shire, sous le nom d'etat de Vermont.
French map covering eastern New York State and Vermont. Relief shown pictorially.
Carte de la route des lacs depuis Montéal et St. Jean jusqu'à la Riviere d'Hudson...
French map from 1782, depicting parts of New York, Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Jersey and Pennsylvania, including areas bordering on the Hudson and Delaware Rivers, as well as Lakes Champlain and Ontario.
Carte des Terains au nord de la Riviere Mohac
Map in English showing area north of the Mohawk River in 1797.
Carte réduite des côtes orientales de l'Amérique septentrionale : contenant celles des provinces de New-York et de la Nouvelle Angleterre...
French revolutionary-era map showing east coast from Nova Scotia to northern New Jersey and Pennsylvania.