Research & Subject Guides: Political Science: International

Key Journals (Stony Brook subscriptions)

Foreign Affairs
Published by the nonpartisan Council on Foreign Relations Articles cover current events, economic, historical and political aspects of international affairs. Also included are topical essays, book reviews, maps and illustrations.
Foreign Policy: the magazine of global politics
A for-profit journal published by Washingtonpost Newsweek Interactive, LLC. It's current articles cover global politics and integration, and economics. The most recent articles may be accessed by going to MasterFILE Premier in our A-Z list of databases.
more...less...
2000 to present is also available at http://www.foreignpolicy.com/
International Affairs
Peer-reviewed journal by the Royal Institute of International Affairs in London, England. Articles focus on European and global economic and policy issues. There is an extensive book review section in each issue. Includes review essays and book reviews (organized by topics and regions).
International Studies Quarterly
Official journal of the International Studies Association. Articles deal with contemporary issues and controversies in intrnational politics.
Political Communication: an international journal
"Seeks cutting edge research at the intersection of politics and communication". Has a multidisciplinary focus and includes articles on the United States and the world.
Political Science Quarterly: the journal of public and international affairs
Review of International Studies
Topics covered include the political, economic, philosophical, legal, ethical, historical, military, cultural and technological dimensions of international studies. Journal includes research articles, literature reviews, ideas forums, debates, teaching articles and interviews.
more...less...
More recent issues may be accessed through Cambridge Journals in our A-Z list of databases.

Finding International Government & NGO Information

Our primary collection in this category consists of United Nations documents. Most of these are available in two microform collections:

1. Readex Microprint 13 set (1945-1980), and from 1981 to present in the Microforms Library Microfiche A487

There are also detailed indexes for United Nations publications in paper, on CD-ROM and online at the United Nations Documents webpage. Many important United Nations publications, such as the UN Demographic Yearbook, are cataloged in SEARCH. Two online databases (indexes) known as the PAIS Archive and PAIS Archive & International provide selective coverage of United Nations and other international publications.

We also have in paper many documents from international organizations, such as the European Union, the International Labour Organisation (ILO), the International Monetary Fund (IMF), the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), the United Nation's Educational, Scientific & Cultural Organisation (UNESCO) and the World Health Organisation (WHO).

These documents are cataloged in SEARCH.

Worldwide Governance Indicators
The Worldwide Governance Indicators (WGI) project reports aggregate and individual governance indicators for 215 economies over the period 1996–2013, for six dimensions of governance.

Websites

Foreign Relations of the United States (1861-1960)
Official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions that have been declassified and edited for publication. FRUS begins with the administration of Abraham Lincoln in 1861.

From University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

Political Science

Key Journals (Stony Brook subscriptions)

Finding International Government & NGO Information

Websites

Library

Resources

Follow Us