Research & Subject Guides: Political Science: Locate Articles Using Databases

Recommended Databases

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Cambridge Journals Online
1990s-present. Access to 500 fulltext, peer-reviewed journals and 20 books that cover a broad range of subjects across the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
PAIS Index
1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
1972- present. Search citations and abstracts from 750 periodicals with 510 peer reviewed publications. Over 300 full text articles available from 1972 to the present.. Covers many topics in the social sciences such as anthropology, economics, ethics, gender studies, psychology and political science.

Google Scholar and Library Databases

Google Scholar

A Google tool that:

searches the web for scholarly articles, books, theses, and related academic sources
generate citations and can also export citations to EndNote
to a certain extent shows "cited by" information for articles
can specify broad date ranges

Linking Google Scholar to Library Databases

You can set Google Scholar to display links into University Libraries databases for full text access.

Go to Google Scholar - Settings
Click on Library links on the menu on the left
Search for Stony Brook in the search box
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - FullText @ Stony Brook
Click save

You will now see FullText@StonyBrook links next to articles if the content is available in our databases.

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.

Political Science

Faculty Librarian

Schedule a Research Consultation

Recommended Databases

Google Scholar and Library Databases

Google Scholar

Linking Google Scholar to Library Databases

Library

Resources

Follow Us