Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Journalism: Current News

Resources for Journalism, Communication, and Media Studies

Fall 2020 Library Operations

Check our Fall 2020 Library Operations guide for the latest updates on services and resources.

SOJ News

School of Journalism news

Loading ...

Associated Press Stylebook Online

Access the library's subscription to the AP Styleguide Online.

Current News - Free Fulltext

The University Libraries maintain online subscriptions to a number of newspapers through Nexis Uni and Proqest Basic databases.. The list betlow gives specific links to the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Washington Post, Wall Street Journal, and Newsday.  The list also includes links to Nexis Uni, Proquest Basic, Ethnic Newswatch.

Related Guides

Library Lingo

What did she say? Decoding some library lingo...

Indexes only provide citations for articles. You can search the indexes by keyword, title, author, source, etc. but you will always need to look elsewhere for the actual text of the article.

Abstracts are really called Indexes and Abstracts because they both index the literature and provide a brief summary of the article; i.e., an abstract. As with the Indexes, you will need to look elsewhere for the text of the article.

Full Text databases provide the indexing, and sometimes also the abstracting, but are especially useful because the contain the full text of the articles. Some databases, like LexisNexis, have only the text where others like Factiva contain images of the articles.

Librarian

Chris Filstrup's picture
Chris Filstrup
Contact:
Central Reading Room
Stony Brook University

Stony Brook, NY 11794
631-523-4635 (cell)

NYC Green Book Online

The Green Book provides information about the NYC agencies, offices, boards, and commissions. 2012 is the first year that this resource has been made available online.