Research & Subject Guides: Communication & Journalism: Finding Articles & Databases

Overview

Every database is a package of information. That information can be published articles from academic journals but it can also be encyclopedia entries, images of artwork, film scripts, oral histories, and more.

The information you need will help determine what database (or databases) you use. This page presents a number of examples but reach out to a librarian if you want to explore further.

You can also browse all of our currently available databases here.

Academic Databases

Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary database with a good deal of full text. Great place to start.
SAGE Journals
Articles from journals published by SAGE publishing. Not all content will be full text.
MEDLINE (Web of Science)
Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences and related topics.
Dissertations & Theses Global International dissertations and theses dating back to 1861, many in full text.
Oxford Journals
Multidisciplinary academic articles. Not all content will be full text.
ScienceDirect
Strong emphasis on science and medicine. Not all content will be full text.
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Compatibility mode in IE9 or higher reverts the browser back to IE7 or IE8 behavior. If you experience issues accessing ScienceDirect using IE9 or higher, please disable the compatibility view mode in your IE browser.

Note2: Effective December 2016, Science Direct will also no longer support Internet Explorer 9.

Reference Databases

Oxford Reference
Full text compilation from over 175 Oxford reference sources.

Oxford Handbooks Online

Agency for Toxic Substances & Disease Registry (ATSDR)
"Toxicological profiles" for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites.
By Congressional mandate, ATSDR produces "toxicological profiles" for hazardous substances found at National Priorities List (NPL) sites. These hazardous substances are ranked based on frequency of occurrence at NPL sites, toxicity, and potential for human exposure. Toxicological profiles are developed from a priority list of 275 substances. ATSDR also prepares toxicological profiles for the Department of Defense (DOD) and the Department of Energy (DOE) on substances related to federal sites.
Artcyclopedia
Links to digitized art content.
Books in Print
Directory of in-print and forthcoming books, audios and videos.
Dictionary of American Regional English
Regional variations in words, pronunciations, and phrases in the United States with historical examples.
Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Articles on chemical substances including their properties, manufacturing, and uses.
Oxford English Dictionary
Provides the meaning, history, and pronunciation of words in the English language.

Communication & Journalism

Overview

Academic Databases

Reference Databases

Library

Resources

Follow Us