Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Citations & Plagiarism: Home

This guide can help you learn how to properly format your bibliographies and papers in AMA, APA, Chicago and MLA citation styles, and avoid plagiarism.

What are we talking about?

citation reflects all of the information a person would need to locate a particular source. For example, basic citation information for a book consists of name(s) of author(s) or editor(s), title of book, name of publisher, place of publication, and most recent copyright date.
 
A citation style dictates the information necessary for a citation and how the information is ordered, as well as punctuation and other formatting. 

bibliography lists citations for all of the relevant resources a person consulted during his or her research.

In an annotated bibliography, each citation is followed by a brief note—or annotation—that describes and/or evaluates the source and the information found in it.

works cited list presents citations for those sources referenced in a particular paper, presentation, or other composition.
 
An in-text citation consists of just enough information to correspond to a source's full citation in a Works Cited list. In-text citations often require a page number (or numbers) showing exactly where relevant information was found in the original source.

Citation Quick Sheets

Quick citation style guides for APA and MLA from Stony Brook University Libraries.

Open Access and More

Discover resources and information about Open Access, Scholarly Publishing, Copyright, Public Access Mandates, Research Data Management and more!

Visit the Center for Scholarly Communication and use the guides below to access collections, information and services.

How to Avoid Plagiarism

Scholarly Communication Workshops & Events

Fall 2016

 

Peer Review & Open Access

Date: 09/13/2016
Time: 4:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

Peer review is the process where experts in the field give feedback and comments on a research manuscript, before the paper is passed on to a journal editor, who then decides whether it should be published. In the majority of cases, these are volunteer academics (both the reviewers and editors). Peer review is the supposed gold standard for research articles, designed to apply rigor and scrutiny and weed out the bad research. However, it is important to note that having an article accepted through peer review does not make it correct forever.

Open access stands for unrestricted access and unrestricted reuse. Most publishers own the rights to the articles in their journals. Anyone who wants to read the articles must pay to access them. Anyone who wants to use the articles in any way must obtain permission from the publisher and is often required to pay an additional fee.

Peer review and open access are compatible.   In this session:

  • Discover sources of quality open access peer review journals.
  • Explore approaches to determining if a journal is legitimate.

 

EndNote Workshop

Date: 09/15/2016
Time: 10:00 am - 11:00 am

Location
Library Classroom A

Description 

Creating the bibliography is often the most tedious part of writing a research paper. Using EndNote, a bibliographic management software program, this task just became much easier. In this workshop learn: how to create an EndNote Library, how to download results from a literature search into EndNote, and how to organize your EndNote Library and much more. Led by Clara Tran and Robert Tolliver


 

It’s Free! Open Textbooks, Open Courses, Open Education for YOU

Date: 09/29/2016
Time: 3:00 pm - 4:15 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

Discover textbooks, teaching and learning materials that are freely available online for everyone to use, whether you are an student, instructor or self-learner.  The movement for open education seeks to tap into the vast potential of technology and the Internet to support more affordable, effective teaching and learning.

Open Educational Resources include:

  • full courses,
  • textbooks, course modules, syllabi, lectures, homework assignments, quizzes, lab and classroom activities,
  • pedagogical materials,
  • games, simulations, and many more resources contained in digital media collections from around the world.

Join Head of Research and Emerging Technology Laura Costello for a discussion of open education and demonstration of useful open educational resources.


Organizing Your Publications: Author IDs and Profiles

Date: 10/03/2016
Time: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Location
Health Sciences Library EBM Room

Description 

Organizing and managing your publications, particularly for grant biosketches, can be a challenge. The ORCID project is an international effort to provide every scholarly author with a unique identifier. SciENcv is a new tool from the NCBI that allows researchers to create and store biosketches specifically formatted for NIH and NSF grants, including an automated import function from ORCID. These resources will be demonstrated. Led by Jennifer Lyon and Clara Tran


Academic Commons: the open access scholarly repository

Date: 10/04/2016
Time: 1:30 pm - 2:30 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

The Academic Commons is the new open access scholarly repository for Stony Brook University.  Stony Brook researchers and faculty can freely share their own pre- or post-peer reviewed drafts of articles and other materials.  In this session:

  • How to use the Academic Commons to discover and share work
  • Access usage statistics and other features that demonstrate impact of articles
  • Understand open access, and meeting a funded research public access mandate (NIH, NSF, etc.)

Join Head of the Center for Scholarly Communication Darren Chase for this hands-on demonstration and discussion of the new SBU Academic Commons.


NIH Public Access Policy

Date: 10/11/2016
Time: 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Location
Health Sciences Library EBM Room

Description 

Compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy is a requirement for all published peer-reviewed papers based on NIH funding; failure to comply can delay or stop further funding. So what is the policy and how is compliance managed? Led by Jennifer Lyon


Getting Published: Preparing Your Research for Publication

Date: 10/27/2016
Time: 2:00 pm - 3:00 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

This session offers help in many stages of the publishing process:

  • Secure Funding Use tools and guides for finding funding and grants from the NIH, NSF and more.  Understand publishing requirements (including NIH’s Public Access Policy).
  • Find Related Research Find tools, librarians and guides that will help you find the most relevant information and data for your research.
  • Manage Information / Writing Get tips on organizing and citing your sources and data, using tools such as EndNote and Zotero.
  • Select a Journal to Publish In Find impact factors of journals (via Journal Citation Reports and Scopus) and find journals in your field, including open access journals.

Your Copyright: Increasing the Impact of Your Research

Date: 10/28/2016
Time: 3:00 pm - 4:15 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

Many publishers create significant barriers for authors who want to reuse or share their work, and for access to that work by others. Negotiating changes to standard publisher agreements can help authors avoid these obstacles, thus increasing options for authors as well as readership, citation, and impact of the work itself. Openly available articles have been shown to be more heavily cited.

In this session researchers and authors will:

  • learn about the advantages of retaining your copyright
  • review tools, techniques, and sites (i.e., the Directory of Open Access Journals) for discovering and evaluating high-quality open access peer reviewed journals
  • explore the new Stony Brook University Libraries Academic Commons

Research Data Services

Date: 11/23/2016
Time: 1:00 pm - 2:00 pm

Location
Center for Scholarly Communication

Description 

This session is an introduction to SBU Libraries Research Data Services.  Research Data Services provides guidance and support for all aspects of the data lifecycle, from planning your data management strategy during the proposal phase through preserving your data at the conclusion of your project.

How We Can Help

  • Not sure where to start? See the Research Data Services guide.  For a list of data-related services and support all over campus, see Campus Data Services.
  • Need to write a data management plan? We offer several resources for you.
  • Interested in learning about the best ways to organize, store, share and preserve your data? See our guide to managing data.