Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Suggested Databases For Searching
Biological Abstracts (Web of Science)
1980-present. Citations and abstracts. Comprehensive coverage of the world's published biological and biomedical research, including traditional, experimental and interdisciplinary areas of biology. More than 5,000 international sources.
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments
JoVE, the Journal of Visualized Experiments, is the world's first peer reviewed scientific video journal. Established in 2006, JoVE is devoted to publishing scientific research in a visual format to help researchers overcome two of the biggest challenges facing the scientific research community today; poor reproducibility and the time and labor intensive nature of learning new experimental techniques.
Access Note: SBU has access to the sections for Bioengineering, Biology, Immunology and Infection, Medicine, and Neuroscience
1900s-present. Citations & abstracts. Largest substance database with more than 26 million substances, including 12 million organic substances. World's most comprehensive database of chemical literature and patents. The link leads to instructions for accessing the database. Available only to Stony Brook faculty, students, and staff.
Chemical information database including content from the Crossfire databases, Beilstein and Gmelin. Search inorganic, organic or organometallic substances. Reaction, citation and experimental data are available in this database. Some patent information is also available.
ACM Digital Library
1960s-present for ACM titles, dates vary for others. Fulltext for all ACM publications, citations and abstracts for others. Articles, proceedings, books, theses, SIG newsletters.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
[IEEE Xplore] Fulltext from 1988-present, with some titles going as far back as 1913. Includes IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection of primary resources, including documents, videos, images, and testimonies that can be used to understand the causes and impacts of engineering failures. Important engineering cases including Apollo 13, Chernobyl, the Hyatt Regency walkway, space shuttle Challenger, the Tacoma Narrows bridge, the Titanic, and TWA flight 800.
1933-Present (Worldwide coverage); 1693-Present (North American coverage). Abstracts. Includes all areas of geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, and stratigraphy.
Nature Journal Archive
1869-Present. Fulltext and PDF since 1950; Archive in PDF. Covers all fields of science and technology. Most-cited weekly science journal. Features podcasts of a weekly science show, a news blog, and videos in which authors discuss their research.
Date coverage varies. Open access to over 1/2 million e-prints in Physics, Mathematics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Statistics, and Quantitative Finance.
1860s-present. Citations and abstracts. Reviews, abstracts and bibliographic information for much of the mathematical sciences literature, in the tradition of the paper Mathematical Reviews.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Subjects:Applied Mathematics & Statistics
, Citations & Plagiarism
, Civil Engineering
, Computer Science
, Electrical and Computer Engineering
, Materials Science and Chemical Engineering
, Mechanical Engineering
, Resources for Graduate Students
, Scholarly Communication
, STEM Reference
, Technology & Society