Latin American History

LANIC's editorially reviewed directories contain over 12,000 unique URLs, one of the largest guides for Latin American content on the Internet. Information can be found in English, Spanish and Portuguese and can be browsed by subject (history, education, science, etc.) or by country. The site hosts digital content on Latin America through its Etext Collection, including thousands of full text books, journals, speeches, and research papers. Included are the full text of over 2,000 speeches by Fidel Castro; over 75,000 pages of Presidential Messages from Argentina and Mexico; and hundreds of papers on Latin American topics presented at conferences around the world.

The Archive contains copies of the Web sites of approximately 300 government ministries and presidencies. Content in the Archive includes not only the full-text versions of official documents, but also original video and audio recordings of key regional leaders. Archive contents include thousands of annual and "state of the nation" reports; plans and programs; and speeches by presidents and government ministers.

Bexar Archives is "one of the great historical treasures of the American continent," according to Historian Lester Gladstone Bugbee. The Bexar Archives preserve the military, civil, and political life of the Spanish province of Texas and the Mexican state of Coahuila y Texas, and constitute the principle resource for the Spanish and Mexican history of Texas from 1717–1836.

Bexar Archives Online features over 5,000 original documents (23,000 pages) that have been digitized from microfilm. Researchers may browse, by year, the originals and translations, or compare an original and its translation side-by-side. Full-text searching of the translations is also supported.