Research & Subject Guides: Latin American History: Find Journals

Find Journals

Online Journals (Subscriptions)

Here is a selected list of subscription journals available. Many titles are available in multiple online databases; to see the full list, use SEARCH.

Additional years available in PRINT are indicated below the online versions, along with the call number. Current print issues are located in the Central Reading Room. Older issues are located in the Main Library Stacks, unless otherwise noted.

Journal of Latin American Studies
ONLINE: 1997 to present.
1969 to 2006 in JSTOR.

Journal of Latin American Studies presents recent research in the field of Latin American studies in economics, geography, politics, international relations, sociology, social anthropology, economic history and cultural history. Regular features include articles on contemporary themes, specially commissioned commentaries and an extensive section of book reviews.
Hispanic American Historical Review
ONLINE: 2000 to present.
1918 to 1999 in JSTOR.

Hispanic American Historical Review pioneered the study of Latin American history and culture in the United States and remains the most widely respected journal in the field. HAHR's comprehensive book review section provides commentary, ranging from brief notices to review essays, on every facet of scholarship on Latin American history and culture. Regular notices of the activities of the Conference on Latin American History appear in the journal. Published in cooperation with the Conference on Latin American History of the American Historical Association.
The Americas
ONLINE: 2000 to present.
1944 to 2008 in JSTOR.

Since its founding in 1944, The Americas (TAm) has been one of the principal English-language journals of Latin American history. It publishes articles on all chronological periods of Latin American, Spanish borderlands, and related Iberian scholarship. The journal includes an extensive book review section and a compilation of news and notes of general interest to Latin Americanists.
Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology
ONLINE: 2007 to present.

The Journal of Latin American and Caribbean Anthropology (JLACA) is a peer-reviewed journal of anthropological research on Latin America and the Caribbean, which is published in English, Spanish, and Portuguese. The journal maintains a broad definition of geographical remit and includes diasporic populations. This inclusion is aimed at allowing systematic, fertile, and intellectually stimulating comparisons, which have not been sufficiently explored in publications about the region.
Latin American Research Review
ONLINE: 2003 to present.
1965 to 2008 in JSTOR.

The Latin American Research Review is the premier interdisciplinary journal that publishes original research and surveys of current research on Latin America and the Caribbean. Interdisciplinary offerings reflect ahead-of-the-curve research, as well as new directions of knowledge creation in areas such as cultural studies, Latino issues and transnationalism, all of which increasingly intersect with Latin America in ways that are intellectually challenging and illuminating.
Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos
ONLINE: 1985 to present.

Multidisciplinary by design and international by nature, Mexican Studies/Estudios Mexicanos provides insightful articles in both English and Spanish examining the cultural, historical, political, social, economic, and scientific factors affecting Mexico’s development.
Historia mexicana
ONLINE: 1951 to 2010.
PRINT: CURRENT ISSUES IN CENTRAL READING ROOM.

Historia Mexicana is a quaterly journal of Mexican history founded in 1951 by Daniel Cosío Villegas. It belongs to El Colegio de México's Center of Historical Studies. It publishes exclusively original research materials on the history of Mexico and its relations with the rest of Latin America and the Hispanic world. Its issues provide an outlook of the evolution of historiography in Mexico. They also incorporate the most recent methodological advances on topics concerning society, economy and culture, as well as political institutions and ideas, education, science and religion.

Tracking Research

Use citation resources for tracking research through the literature

Cited Reference Searching can turn up all papers (and patents, theses, conference papers, etc.) that have been cited in the source article. Cited reference searching provides a different approach to finding relevant references by looking at the work to which an author refers.

Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.

Creating Alerts

Many databases allow you to create ALERTS that will notify you of new issues of a specific journal or of new articles on a topic of your interest.

Usually, you must register with the database publisher, but your account will work across all of their databases - in EBSCO, for example.

Latin American History

Find Journals

Online Journals (Subscriptions)

Tracking Research

Creating Alerts

Library

Resources

Follow Us