Research & Subject Guides: Latin American History: Find Articles & Databases

Databases & Digital Collections

Here are some important databases and digital collections for Latin American History & Culture.

Browse our full selection of nearly 400 databases by title or subject: ALL DATABASES

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
America: History & Life (EBSCO)
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Digital National Security Archive
1942-present. Fulltext. Over 63,000 of the most important declassified documents central to U.S. foreign and military policy since 1945. Includes presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, confidential letters and other secret material.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
Gale Primary Sources: Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Empire Online
Fulltext. Primary source material linked to essays by leading scholars in the field of Empire Studies. Includes exploration journals & logs, letters, diaries, government papers, missionary papers, slave papers, travel writing, memoirs, maps, etc.
Environment Complete
Date coverage varies back to the 1940s. Some full-text. Deep coverage in areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Gale eBooks
Collection of online encyclopedias and specialized reference sources covering a wide variety of topics and subjects, including current events, Arts & Humanities, Business, Education, Science, Social Sciences, and Religion.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GenderWatch
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
GeoRef
1933-Present (Worldwide coverage); 1693-Present (North American coverage). Abstracts. Includes all areas of geology, geochemistry, geochronology, geophysics, hydrogeology and hydrology, marine geology and oceanography, mineralogy and crystallography, paleontology, petrology, seismology, and stratigraphy.
Gutenberg-e
Fulltext. E-books on historical studies published by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Each e-book offers extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
1936-present. Citations only. Annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America. Works reviewed include books, journal articles, book chapters, and conference papers in the humanities and social sciences. Updated annually.
Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Nexis Uni
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Military & Government Collection
Date coverage varies. Fulltext, citations & abstracts. Current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Includes periodicals, academic journals, and other sources, such as Economist Intelligence Unit, CountryWatch, and U.S. Government publications.
New York Times (Historical)
Coverage: 1851-3 years ago.

Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Oral History Online
Fulltext and citations. Indexes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Contains almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. Also has pointers to 4,100 audio and video files.
Oxford English Dictionary
Current. A historical dictionary. The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words.
Oxford Reference
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.

NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.
PAIS Index
1915-present. Citations to articles, books, conference proceedings, government documents and other material in the area of public affairs. Subjects include business, government, international relations, environment, health, social sciences, law, political science, education, and statistics.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Social Sciences Citation Index
1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.
SocINDEX with Full Text
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
Washington Post (Historical)
1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
1600-2000. Fulltext primary sources. Women's reform activities in the U.S. from colonial times to the present. Includes books, pamphlets, images, documents, scholarly essays, commentaries, and bibliographies.