Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

EndNote: Online Search within EndNote

Instructions

Online Search provides the opportunity to search specific databases directly from within EndNote and add citations directly to the EndNote Library. There are four databases available to use under Online Search: 

  1. Library of Congress: the biggest library catalog in the world 
  2. LISTA (EBSCO): Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
  3. PubMed (NLM): the premier biomedical database from the National Library of Medicine
  4. Web of Science (TS): a citation database

You cannot add other SBU research databases to the Online Search list. Instead you can use either the exporting feature of the database or the importing feature of EndNote to add references to the EndNote Library. 

It's highly recommended to use Online Search only for known references. For example, when you know the author, the article, or PMID. It is not recommended to start your topic search using EndNote Online Search feature. 

To use:

1. Choose the Online Search icon undefinedor Tools, Online Search

2. Select one of the four databases and click "choose".

undefined

3. Conduct your search using the EndNote search interface.

undefined

 

Associate Librarian

Chris Kretz's picture
Chris Kretz
Contact:
Central Reading Room, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794
631.632.1231