Skip to main content


Stony Brook University

Endnote: Install

System Requirements & Download

Before you download and install EndNote, you should review the system requirements for your computer.

For Mac users, you must be using at least the Snow Leopard operating system (OS 10.6) and have an Intel processor.

For Windows users, review system requirements here. XP users must be on Service Pack 3.

DOWNLOAD

Stony Brook provides access to the full EndNote product for free. Download EndNote from SoftWeb to install it on your personal computer. You will need to enter your NetID and password.

Setting up Find Full Text EndNote preferences for SBU Libraries

EndNote X3-X7 offer the option to find full text usually in PDF format downloaded to your EndNote Library. Before doing this, it is highly recommended that you set Find Full Text Preferences in EndNote.  This way you will find more full text PDFs because you connect your EndNote Library with the library's resources. Follow the following to set the EndNote preferences:

  • Choose Find Full Text under EndNote Preferences (For PC users the EndNote Preferences is under Edit; For Mac users the EndNote Preferences is under EndNote tab)
  • Check all the four boxes if they are not already checked
  • Enter SBU Libraries OpenURL and Authenticate With URL:

OpenURL Path is: http://proxy.library.stonybrook.edu/login?url=http://linksource.ebsco.com/linking.aspx

Authenticate with:   http://proxy.library.stonybrook.edu/login?url=

Note that 1) the EndNote Find Full Text feature will not find everything for you. Some journals and database services (e.g., JSTOR) will not work with it. 2) If your computer is on campus, you do not need to enter Authenticate With URL

How do I avoid the product key during installation (Windows only)?

As SBU has a site license for EndNote, you should not be asked for the product key. To avoid this, you will need to do the following:

After downloading EndNote program, be sure to “Extract All” before installing.

Associate Librarian