Research & Subject Guides: Government Documents & Information: Statistics

Databases (Stony Brook only)

Historical Statistics of the United States
Fulltext. Statistical information on American history, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present.
more...less...
New topics include American Indians, slavery, poverty, non-profit organizations, race and ethnicity.

ICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research)
More than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

On first use, SBU users must create a MyData Account at the ICPSR site, accessible from the SBU Libraries list of databases. To create the account, click on any of the colored tabs/titles - e.g., “Membership in ICPSR” - and then click on "Create Account" on upper right corner and follow instructions. Contact LibraryERMS@stonybrook.edu if you encounter any problems.

Census Statistics

Census Bureau: Census of Population and Housing (1790-2010)
Census of Population and Housing data ranges from the 2000 census to the historical decennial census conducted throughout the decades. Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical census information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical census records become available.

Statistics Resources

The Bureau of Labor Statistics of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy.
ChildStats.gov
Features statistics on children and families in the United States.
more...less...
Includes family and social environment, economic circumstances, health care, physical environment and safety, behavior, education and health.
DATA.GOV
The purpose of Data.gov is to increase public access to high value, machine readable datasets generated by the Executive Branch of the Federal Government. Data.gov increases the ability of the public to easily find, download, and use datasets that are generated and held by the Federal Government.
more...less...
Thousands of raw and geospatial data, data tools, data mobile apps, agencies and subagencies. Topics covered include agriculture, business, education, energy, safety, the military and more.
Fedstats
Includes statistics from over 100 federal agencies. Features links to both statistics and agencies, searchable geographically, subject access, press releases, kid's page and data access tools.
Older Statistical Abstracts
Statistical Abstract data presented here ranges from the most recent edition to the historical abstracts compiled throughout the decades.
more...less...
Some of the data were scanned as an effort to make historical abstract information available to the public. The display of data will continue as historical records become available. For access to volumes not available through this project, please call your local Federal Depository Library.
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 200 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States. It has been compiled by the Utilization of Criminal Justice Statistics Project since 1973 and is funded by the U.S. Department of Justice, Bureau of Justice Statistics. The project is located at the University at Albany, School of Criminal Justice, Hindelang Criminal Justice Research Center in Albany, New York
STATS America
Created by Kelley School of Business at Indiana University. It compiles demographic information from government, educational and scientific institutions
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
Provides data on foreign nationals who, during a fiscal year, were granted lawful permanent residence, were admitted into the United States on a temporary basis applied for asylum or refugee status, or were naturalized.
more...less...
The Yearbook also presents data on immigration enforcement actions, including alien apprehensions, removals, and returns. The Yearbook tables are released as they become available. A final PDF is released in September of the following fiscal year.

Statistics in Print

Guide to U.S. Government Statistics by Andriot, John L.
Call Number: Government Documents Z7554 .U5 G8
1973,1986,1989-1998

Government Documents & Information: Statistics

Databases (Stony Brook only)

Census Statistics

Statistics Resources

Statistics in Print

Library

Resources

Follow Us