Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Guide to Congressional Research and Documents
For more in depth information on Congressional Research and Documents.
1947-2008. This public resource provides information about more than 400,000 bills introduced in the U.S. Congress during the years above. Also includes extensive information about each bill's progress and sponsor. This data may be merged with ICPSR data.
Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-present
The 2005 publication of the Biographical Directory of the United States Congress, 1774-2005 provides biographical, archival, and bibliographical information for all senators, representatives, vice presidents, and members of the Continental Congress who served between 1774-2005.
Clerks of the U.S. House of Representatives (1789-present)
Features at this website include information about elections, committees, leadership, legislative activities, lobbying, members, public disclosures, biographies of members of Congress, and House Floor Proceedings.
Congress.gov is the official source for federal legislative information. It replaces the nearly 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site. The site includes materials on current and past legislation, the Daily Digest version of the Congressional Record, links to Congessional committees, their hearings and reports (1995-present) and an explanation of the Legislative Process.
A predecessor of The Congresional Record, it contains the congressional debates of the 23rd through 42nd Congresses (1833-73). It is the third of the four series of publications containing the debates of Congress
The Congressional Timeline, developed and maintained by The Dirksen Congressional Center, arrays more than 900 of the nation's laws on a timeline beginning with the first Congress in 1789 and continuing to the present. A second timeline "band" depicts major political events as context for Congress's law-making.
U.S. Government Documents
Dates vary from early and mid 1990's. Full text. The primary source for free, online, published, official and authenticated government information. Includes Congressional bills, budget, documents, prints, and reports, hearings, the Congressional Record, the Constitution, the Federal Register, the United States Code, Presidential Documents, Public and Private Laws, United States Code and Statutes at Large. Links to the CGP (Catalog of Government Publications), news, offices of the Inspector General, Congressional Relations, and more.
Congressional Research Service Reports
These documents were prepared by the Congressional Research Service (CRS). CRS serves as nonpartisan shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. It operates solely at the behest of and under the direction of Congress. Information in a CRS Report should not be relied upon for purposes other than public understanding of information that has been provided by CRS to Members of Congress in connection with CRS’s institutional role. CRS Reports, as a work of the United States Government, are not subject to copyright protection in the United States. Any CRS Report may be reproduced and distributed in its entirety without permission from CRS. However, as a CRS Report may include copyrighted images or material from a third party, you may need to obtain the permission of the copyright holder if you wish to copy or otherwise use copyrighted material.
Vital Statistics on Congress
Data on the U.S. Congress--A Joint Effort from Brookings and the American Enterprise Institute. Includes data on demographics of congressional members, elections, campaign finance, committees, staff and operating expenses, legislative productivity, federal budget action, political polarization and changing voting alignments