Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Public Library of Law
Large online database of free law. Covers continuously updated Federal and State laws. Also includes case law, constitutions, court rules, statutes, and regulations.
Public and Private Laws (slip laws)
104th Congress (1995-1996) to present Congress. Official government site for slip laws. After the President signs a bill into law, it is delivered to the Office of the Federal Register (OFR), National Archives and Records Administration (NARA) where it is assigned a law number, legal statutory citation (public laws only), and prepared for publication as a slip law. Private laws receive their legal statutory citations when they are published in the United States Statutes at Large.
Supreme Court of the U.S. (a federal court)
FLITE (Federal Legal Information Through Electronics)
Supreme Court Decisions 1937-1975. This system, on GPO's Fdsys website, contains the full text of U.S. Supreme Court Decisions (U.S. Reports, Volumes 300-422). Cases are searchable by case name and full text.
LII Supreme Court Collection
Founded in 1992 by a small research, engineering and editorial group housed at the Cornell Law School in Ithaca, NY. LII was founded to ensure that the law remains free and open to everyone.
Supreme Court -
The Supreme Court's official website. Opinions from October 2001 to present. Includes information about the court, biographies of the current justices, the status of cases (docket), the court's calendar, where to find briefs, court rules, case handling guides, slip and regular opinions and more.
Supreme Court Database
1953-2008. The Database contains over two hundred pieces of information about each case decided by the Court between the 1946 and 2011 terms.
Oyez Project, U.S. Supreme Court Media
Covers Supreme Court Audio arguments (unabridged) from 1968-present. Some pre-1968 recordings available as well. Text, images and video also available. Apps and a custom player as well.
U.S. District Courts (Federal)
The United States district courts are the trial courts of the federal court system. They may hear almost all federal cases, including civil and criminal. If you are selected for jury duty you may sit on the jury of one of these trials.
Courts may be located by clicking on map or using advanced search form.
U.S. Courts of Appeals (federal courts)
The 94 U.S. judicial districts are organized into 12 regional circuits, each of which has a United States court of appeals. A court of appeals hears appeals from the district courts located within its circuit, as well as appeals from decisions of federal administrative agencies.
In addition, the Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit has nationwide jurisdiction to hear appeals in specialized cases, such as those involving patent laws and cases decided by the Court of International Trade and the Court of Federal Claims.
Bankruptcy Appellate Panels
Bankruptcy Appellate Panels are 3-judge panels authorized to hear appeals of bankruptcy court decisions. The following circuits have established BAPs:
1st, 6th, 8th, 9th, and 10th Circuits.
U.S. Bankruptcy Courts
Bankruptcy Courts (Federal)
This site includes explanations of what bankrupcy is, bankruptcy forms, rules, administrators and links to other resources.
U.S. Courts of Special Jurisdiction
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces
The United States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces exercises worldwide appellate jurisdiction over members of the armed forces on active duty and other persons subject to the Uniform Code of Military Justice. The Court is composed of five civilian judges appointed for 15-year terms by the President with the advice and consent of the Senate.
U.S. Court of Federal Claims
Established in 1855. Online website includes cases from 2008 to present (not inclusive). Suits brought to this court may include: private citizens seeking monetary redress, Indian tribes and cases transferred from the Indian Claims Commission, patent and copyright infringement.
U.S. Court of International Trade
With 9 judges, appointed by the President, the United States Court of International Trade, established under Article III of the Constitution, has nationwide jurisdiction over civil actions arising out of the customs and international trade laws of the United States.
U.S. Tax Court
tC and Memorandum Opinions starting 09/27/95. Summary opinions starting 01/01/01. When the Commissioner of Internal Revenue has determined a tax deficiency, the taxpayer may dispute the deficiency in the Tax Court before paying any disputed amount.
U.S. Court of Appeals for Veterans Claims
The Court has exclusive jurisdiction over decisions of the Board of Veterans' Appeals (Board or BVA). It is part of the United States judiciary and not part of the Department of Veteran's Affairs.
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) is an electronic public access service that allows users to obtain case and docket information online from federal appellate, district, and bankruptcy courts, and the PACER Case Locator. PACER is provided by the Federal Judiciary in keeping with its commitment to providing public access to court information via a centralized service.
Online Federal Court Opinions Information System. CourtWEB provides information on selected opinions of those judges of the Federal Courts who elect to make information available on this site
RECAP is a free extension for Firefox and Chrome that improves the experience of using PACER, the electronic public access system for the U.S. Federal District and Bankruptcy Courts. It shows you when free documents are available
Free Law Websites
Center for Legislative Archives
The Center for Legislative Archives, a part of the National Archives and Records Administration, preserves and makes available to researchers the historical records of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate.
Arranges indexes of law and government into a uniform, universal and unique metaindex. Searches are available by legal topics, regional law and "extra info" pages.
The Law Dictionary
The Law Dictionary features Black's Law Dictionary, the trusted legal dictionary of law definitions and terms for over 100 years. The 2nd edition has over 15K legal terms for your business and research use.
Free Law Project
Sponsored by the UC Berkeley School of Information this website is non profit and provides "open access" and brings legal materials and research to the public for free.
Rules and Regulations
2000-present. The official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
Federal Rules of Practice & Procedure
The Federal Rules of Practice and Procedure govern litigation in the federal courts. This site provides access to the federal rules and forms in effect, information on the rulemaking process (including proposed and pending rules amendments), and historical and archival records.
Citations & Style
Introduction to Basic Legal Citation
Written by Peter W. Martin. Latest update is 2013. Gives examples on how to cite judicial opinoins, constitutional statutes, electronic resources, agency and executive materials, attorney general and arbitration decisions, books, articles, and regulations
Legal Services Corporation
The website provides help for low-income families with legal problems such as housing and foreclosure cases, family law, and consumer issues. Assistance is free if your income and assets are not over a certain level.
The consumer version of the FindLaw commercial website. Includes sections to learn about the law, find a lawyer, FindLaw answers, legal forms news and a blog.
iCivics has free and innovative educational materials. It was founded by Justice Sandra Day O'Connor to reverse Americans' declining civic knowledge and participation. The games are aligned with civics curricula.