Research & Subject Guides: Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide: Whitman and Long Island: Sources

SEARCH STRATEGIES

When searching for sources, place "quotes" around search words to narrow your results.
Try searching words in quotes and the word "Whitman" to further narrow your results, for example: Whitman and "Long Island."
Try sorting results by date or relevance, if those options are possible.
Keywords to search: art; Brooklyn; boating; childhood; Civil War; coastlines; fishing; flora; Greenport; Huntington; literature; Long Island; music; nature; New York; Orient; poetry; race; sailing; Shelter Island; teaching; trauma; visual arts; Walt Whitman; Whitman; West Hills.

Whitman & Long Island: Books

Dyson, V. (1960). Whitmanland: West Hills memories of the poet & his ancestors. Brentwood, N.Y.: V. Dyson.
Berbrich, J. D. (1969). Three voices from Paumanok: the influence of Long Island on James Fenimore Cooper, William Cullen Bryant [and] Walt Whitman. Port Washington, N.Y. : I. J. Friedman.
Tour of “Whitmanland” in historic West Hills, Huntington, Long Island, New York. (1982). Huntington, N.Y: Walt Whitman Birthplace Association.
Molinoff, K. (1941). Monographs on unpublished Whitman material, no.1. Brooklyn: Printed by the Comet Press.
Whitman, W., & Christman, H. M. (1989). Walt Whitman's New York: From Manhattan to Montauk. New York: New Amsterdam.
Molinoff, K. (1966). Walt Whitman at Southold. Brookville, N.Y: C.W. Post College of Long Island University.
Christman, H. M. (1972, c1963). Walt Whitman's New York: from Manhattan to Montauk. Freeport, N.Y.: Books for Libraries Press.
Clemente, V., & Everett, G. (1981). Paumanok rising: an anthology of eastern Long Island aesthetics (1st ed.). Port Jefferson, N.Y: Street Press.
Funnell, B. (1971). Walt Whitman on Long Island. Port Washington, N.Y: Ira J. Friedman Division, Kennikat Press.

Long Island Natural Environment

Greller, A., & Clemants, S. (2001). Flora of West Hills Park, Suffolk County, New York, with Considerations of Provenance of Some Long-Distance Disjuncts.
The Journal of the Torrey Botanical Society, 128(1), 76-89. Access with Net ID.
Thompson, B. F. (Benjamin Franklin). (1839). History of Long Island: containing an account of the discovery and settlement; with other important and interesting matters to the present time. New-York: E. French.
Link to Whitman's copy of this book: https://whitmanarchive.org/manuscripts/marginalia/transcriptions/loc.03456.html
Gabriel, R. H. (1921). The evolution of Long Island: A story of land and sea. New Haven: Yale Univ. Press.
Bailey, P. (1949). Long Island; a history of two great counties, Nassau and Suffolk. New York: Lewis Historical Pub. Co.
Fuller, Myron. (1914). The Geology of Long Island, New York. Washington: Government Printing Office, 1914.
Weigold, M. E. (2015). Peconic Bay: Four Centuries of History on Long Island’s North and South Forks: Vol. First edition. Syracuse University Press.
Access with Net ID.
Braislin, W. C. (William Coughlin). (1907). A list of the birds of Long Island, New York. Cambridge, Mass.: E.W. Wheeler.
Dutcher, W. (1888). Bird notes from Long Island, N.Y.
Merrill, F. J. H. (Frederick James Hamilton). (1886). On the geology of Long Island.
Laffan, W. M. (1880). The New Long Island: a hand book of summer travel : designed for the use and information of visitors to Long Island and its watering places. New York: Rogers & Sherwood.
Ralph, J., Durst, S. B., American Bank Note Company. (1884). Long Island of to-day.: Illustrated. New York, N.Y.: American Bank Note Co.
Greller, A. (1977). A Classification of Mature Forests on Long Island, New York.
Bulletin of the Torrey Botanical Club, 104(4), 376-382. doi:10.2307/2484783
Access with Net ID.
Tredwell, D. M. (1912). Personal reminiscences of men and things on Long Island. Brooklyn: C.A. Ditmas.
Tooker, W. Wallace. (1901). Some Indian fishing stations upon Long Island with historical and ethnological notes. New York: Francis P. Harper.

Whitman: Education & Teaching

Naylor, N. (2005). Walter Whitman at School: Education and Teaching in the Nineteenth Century.
New York History, 86(1), 6-27.
Views on Education
Whitman's views on education. From The Walt Whitman Archive.
Author: Hirschhorn, Bernard
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Self-Education and First Career; Teaching Years
From "Walt Whitman" by Ed Folsom and Kenneth M. Price.
The Walt Whitman Archive.
Snyder, T. D., & National Center for Education Statistics. (1993). 120 years of American education: A statistical portrait. Washington, D.C: U.S. Dept. of Education, Office of Educational Research and Improvement, National Center for Education Statistics.
Bicentennial Edition: Historical Statistics of the United States, Colonial Times to 1970.
See Part 1, Chapter H: Social Statistics
Historical Statistics of the United States, 1789 - 1957
Historical Statistics of the United States
Full-text. Access with Net ID
See Section B: Work and Welfare.
Statistical information on American history, covering population, work and welfare, economic structure and performance, governance, and international relations, all from the earliest times to the present. New topics include American Indians, slavery, poverty, non-profit organizations, race and ethnicity.

New York Heritage Digital Collections

Access this Collection
New York Heritage is a portal for learning more about the people, places and events that contributed to the making of New York State. Includes books, pamphlets, photographs, maps, and more.
Enter "Walt Whitman" and other search words in quotes to narrow results.

Long Island Map Collections

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection (link to "Long Island")
A searchable collection of more than 50,000 maps and atlases.
New York Public Library Digital Collections (link to "Long Island")
Explore nearly 1 million digitized items from The New York Public Library's collections. This site is a living database with new materials added every day, featuring prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
Enter "Long Island" and "New York" and other search words in quotes to narrow results.
New York Public Library: Links to New York Maps and Atlases
An archived webpage that includes links to digitized New York state, county and city atlases.
Norman B. Leventhal Map & Education Center at Boston Public Library
Search and browse the digital collections of the Leventhal Map & Education Center and partners, which span the globe and range from 1482 to the present.
Enter "Long Island" and "New York" in quotes to narrow results.
Old Maps Online
A gateway to historical maps from all over the world.

Long Island Book Collections

Internet Archive Open Library: Walt Whitman
A collection of full-text digitized books.
Internet Archive Open Library: Long Island
A collection of full-text digitized books.
HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of academic and research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world.
Enter "Walt Whitman," "Long Island," and other search words in quotes to narrow results.
Google Books
Enter "Walt Whitman," "Long Island," and other search words in quotes to narrow results.
New York Heritage Digital Collections
New York Heritage is a portal for learning more about the people, places and events that contributed to the making of New York State. Includes books, pamphlets, photographs, maps, and more.
Enter "Walt Whitman" and other search words in quotes to narrow results.

Long Island Historical Journal

The Long Island Historical Journal (LIHJ), now titled the Long Island History Journal, is a peer-reviewed, scholarly journal founded by Roger Wunderlich at Stony Brook University (SBU). Thirty-two issues were published in print format between 1988 and 2008 by the Department of History and the Center for Regional Policy Studies at SBU. In 2009, the LIHJ was renamed the Long Island History Journal and moved to an online-only format.

The journal contains substantive, original scholarship about the history of Long Island - Brooklyn, Queens, Nassau and Suffolk counties – set in a regional, national and global context. The LIHJ also features reviews of books and exhibitions.

Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide