Research & Subject Guides: Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide: Genealogy & Family

Genealogy Sources

FamilySearch
Search and explore over 2000 historical record collections, including US and state census records, created between 655 A.D. and today, gathered from around the world.
Access requires creating a free account.
Image source: 1865 New York State Census from FamilySearch.org.
Line 29: Walter Whitman, writer.
Find A Grave (link to Walt Whitman)
Search or browse cemeteries and grave records for people from around the world.

Additional Sources for Family Research

Molinoff, K. (1941). Monographs on unpublished Whitman material, no.1. Brooklyn: Printed by the Comet Press.
Includes "Some Notes on Whitman's Family."
Walter Whitman, Senior (father) (1789-1855)
Whitman, Walter, Sr. [1789–1855].
By John Rietz
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Louisa Van Velsor Whitman (mother) (1795–1873)
Whitman, Louisa Van Velsor (1795–1873)
By Sherry Ceniza
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Jesse Whitman (brother) (1818-1870)
Whitman, Jesse (brother) (1818-1870)
By John Rietz
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Hannah Louisa Whitman Heyde (sister) (1824-1908)
Whitman (Heyde), Hannah Louisa (d. 1908)
By Paula K. Garrett
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Mary Elizabeth Whitman (sister) (1821-1899)
Whitman (Van Nostrand), Mary Elizabeth (b. 1821)
By Paula K. Garrett
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
George Washington Whitman (brother) (1829-1901)
Whitman, George Washington
By Martin G. Murray
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Andrew Jackson Whitman (brother) (1827–1863)
Whitman, Andrew Jackson (1827–1863)
By Martin G. Murray
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Thomas Jefferson Whitman (brother) (1833–1890)
Whitman, Thomas Jefferson (1833–1890)
By Randall Waldron
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.
Edward Whitman (brother) (1835-1892)
Whitman, Edward (1835-1892)
By Randall Waldron
From The Walt Whitman Archive
Print source: J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.

Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide

Genealogy Sources

Additional Sources for Family Research

Library

Resources

Follow Us