Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide

Drawing on the resources of libraries and collections from around the world, the Whitman Archive is the most comprehensive record of works by and about Whitman.

A comprehensive digital collection of original Whitman documents organized, compiled, and transcribed by The Walt Whitman Archive.

A collection covering the years 1854 to 1892 with some material still undated. Strengths of the collection include nearly 30 poems or poem fragments and Whitman's autograph revision of the "Analysis of Poems" by Dr. R. Bucke.

The papers of poet Walt Whitman (1819-1892) in the Charles E. Feinberg Collection consist of approximately 28,000 items spanning from 1763 to 1985. The bulk of the items date from the 1840s through Whitman's death in 1892, and into the twentieth century.

This small collection of papers (about 150 items; 1,200 images) of poet Walt Whitman (1819-1892) spans the years 1837-1957 with the bulk concentrated in the period 1840-1891.

The online Walt Whitman Collection was made to commemorate Whitman's bicentennial on May 31, 2019. The collection features ten of Whitman's bound volumes from the Harry Ransom Center's collections, including original manuscripts and proofs of Whitman's later works, including the poem "After All, Not to Create Only," which would later be titled "Song of the Exposition;" drafts of Whitman's poetry and prose to have been brought out in England; and Whitman's notes on his famous 'Lincoln Lecture' that Whitman had bound for Bram Stoker.

A collection of manuscripts, correspondence, and portraits.

The Beinecke Library’s Walt Whitman Collection contains letters, manuscripts, photographs, art, and other material dating from 1842-1949.