Walt Whitman's Long Island: A Research Guide

Whitman was the editor from 1846-1848.
Online access made possible through a partnership between Brooklyn Public Library and Newspapers.com.

The Long-Islander was founded by Whitman in 1838, but no issues survive that he edited.

Karbiener, Karen, "Long Islander." In J.R. LeMaster and Donald D. Kummings, eds., Walt Whitman: An Encyclopedia (New York: Garland Publishing, 1998), reproduced by permission.

"The New York Aurora" by Jason Stacy.
Available through The Walt Whitman Archive. Includes commentary and links to Whitman's editorials and full page images of the Aurora.

Whitman worked for the paper from February 25, 1848 to May 25, 1848.
Part of Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers.

The New York Historic Newspapers project exists to digitize and make freely available for research significant runs of historic newspapers for every county in the state. It provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. To search the entire collection, use the Search Tab. Or, click on a county to search or browse geographically.

Search America's historic newspaper pages from 1789-1963 or use the U.S. Newspaper Directory to find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress

Includes several hundred thousand fully searchable issues from more than 140 significant 18th-, 19th- and 20th-century newspapers from all 50 present states.

Coverage: 1755-1922. Full-text. More than 135 historic newspapers from all 50 states. Titles include The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's anti-slavery newspaper; New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America; Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper printed wholly in a Native American language; and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Regional newspapers include The New York Herald, Irish World, and Jewish Daily News.

Coverage:1851-3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.