Skip to main content
Stony Brook University



Government Documents & Information: New York State Documents

Government Documents & Information serves the university community and the general public. It is a depository library for Federal, State & Local government information.

Digital Collections

 New York State Library's Digital Collection

This collection includes rare 18th and 19th century documents, Native American materials, New York State laws and natural history.  It include material reproduced from books, primary sources such as letters, diaries and rare manuscripts as well as historic photographs, illustrations, maps, broadsides, drawings and music scores.

NYS Government Websites

New York State Documents

The Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library is a New York State Documents Microfiche Depository Library (Research Level--program ceased in 1995.   Our collection includes Official Documents of New York State materials on microfilm from Sept. 1973-1983 (Microfilm A427) and on microfiche from 1980-1995 (Microfiche A627).  These materials have their own classification system called the New York State Documents Classification System (NYDOCS) call number order.  Each citation is assigned a sequestial number beginning with 1 in the first issue of each year. 

In 1995/1996, the microfiche collection ended because the New York State Library now scans all depository documents and puts them online.  All current New York State Documents that we own or have electronic access to are cataloged in STARS.  All the existing New York State documents may be searched using the New York State Library’s Catalog (Excelsior) and by searching NYSL Digital Collections directly. 

The State Library also publishes an index entitled Checklist of Official Publications of the State of New York, which lists depository and non-depository items. A print copy of the index is located in the Encyclopedias & Indexes Collection in the Central Reading Room- Z1223.5 .N57 N55 and is available online at http://www.nysl.nysed.gov/edocs/education/chcktext.htm 

A New York State Library Borrower's Card allows individuals to borrow books and other materials, as well as access online journals, online newspapers and other online resources 24/7 from work or home.  For further information on this card please check New York State Library Borrower's Card.