Research & Subject Guides: School of Professional Development: Find Articles and Databases

Scholarly Material

This is a select list of databases that provide scholarly or peer-reviewed articles. If you need help, contact our librarians via chat, email, phone, or in-person. They can walk you through finding an article.

If you are currently off campus, clicking on these links will prompt you to enter your SBU NetID and password for access.

Academic Search Complete Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Education Source Full text & Abstracts. 1929-present. The database is a compilation of previous education databases, specifically Education Index Retrospective (1929-1983), Education Abstracts, Full Text, and Research Complete. Full text supplied for more than 1700 journals, 200 extra full-text journals and 550+ books. Also included are conference papers, article citations, and links to some ERIC documents. Subjects covered include adult and continuing education, distance learning, government funding, multicultural/ethnic education, social issues, student counseling, vocational education and more. Levels covered range from early childhood to higher education.
ERIC (Education Resources Information Center) 1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
JSTOR Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics. Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
SAGE Journals Academic, scholarly and research articles on subjects in humanities, medicine, sciences and social sciences. Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Teacher Reference Center 1984-present. Citations and abstracts for more than 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.

News Articles

Nexis Uni Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
U.S. Major Dailies US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.
Ethnic NewsWatch 1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.

Find Journals in Databases

Journals Search Home | HELP

School of Professional Development

Scholarly Material

News Articles

Find Journals in Databases

Library

Resources

Follow Us