Skip to main content
Stony Brook University Stony Brook University Libraries

Human Resource Management: Home

This purpose of this guide is to assist HRM students in locating resources pertinent to the Human Resource Management field.

About this Guide

Welcome to the subject guide for Stony Brook University Human Resource Management! 

To navigate the guide, you should familiarize yourself with the tabbed information above:

  1. What's New in HRM/Newsfeeds: contains RSS feeds for current journals, magazines, and SHRM publications
  2. Find Articles: contains helpful links to databases for HRM
  3. Find eJournals: provides access and coverage information to SBU online journals pertaining to HRM
  4. Find Books: contains links to our STARS catalog to search for books and media in our library collection
  5. HRM Affiliations: quick links to professional and academics associations affiliated with HRM
  6. HRM Websites: links to HRM government and general interest websites

About the Libraries

Our collection includes over 2 million books, over 70,000 e-journals; nearly 400 databases, and another 2 million titles in microforms.

The Central Reading Room (Main Reference Desk), Science & Engineering Library (North Reading Room) and Music Library are on the on 1st floor of Melville Library. The entrance to the Main Stacks (Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences collections) is on the 3rd Floor. There are several Branch Libraries on campus as well.

The Health Sciences Library is separate library system located on the East Campus. You have access to their collection, both in print and online.

Circulation Policy:

For undergraduates:  50 books, one-month borrowing period.  Also, 3 DVDs, with a one-week borrowing period.

For graduate students: 100 books, lending period is extended to the end of the currently-enrolled semester.  3 DVDs, with a one-week borrowing period.  

Renewals: 3 times if no one is waiting for the material. Can be done online via STAR.

Fines: $0.25/day, $85/book – Card is blocked at $5.

Recalls/Holds can be done online via STARS.

Photocopies: $.10 a page. You can put money on your student ID for copy machines. Copy machines also accept change and bills. The Photocopy Center is on the 3rd Floor of Melville, near Circulation.

Librarian

Claudia McGivney
Contact:
Frank Melville Jr. Memorial Library
N-1003
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794-3300
631-632-1231