Search our collections for books. | HELP
To see only eBook results, please select Available online under Availability in the "Refine your results" options on the left of your results page.
The Encyclopedia of Social Work by 
The Anti-Racist Social Worker by
This is the story of an anti-racist campaign staged by social workers and allied health professionals which encourages readers to consider their own possibilities for anti-racist action. The murder of George Floyd in May 2020 and subsequent expression of anger, frustration and grief at the continued existence of racism led to more sophisticated and honest conversations about racism and its impact. Social work also started to recognise its own problem with racist systems and its failure as a profession that strives for social justice to have addressed this in any meaningful way. The Anti-Racist Social Worker describe a successful campaign of anti-racist direct action that was staged by a small group of social workers and occupational therapists. The opening chapter tells the story of the campaign from the coming together of the campaign group to the concluding day of action. Subsequent chapters are written by campaign members at different stages of their career, from student social worker to Chief Social Worker for England. Each describes journeys to and stories of anti-racist activism. These stories are about either the writers' experiences of racism and how this translated into action or their growing understanding of the impact of racism and subsequent decision to take personal action. Importantly, each chapter offers a personal case study and therefore a suggestion of individual anti-racist action that can be taken by social workers. The Anti-Racist Social Worker is a call for action told through individual stories. It shows how those in social care and allied health professions can contribute in a meaningful way to the creation of the change we need and encourages everyone to consider their own roles in dismantling racism.
Best Practices for Social Work with Refugees and Immigrants by
Social work practice with refugees and immigrants requires specialized knowledge of these populations and specialized adaptations and applications of mainstream services and interventions. Because they are often confronted with cultural, linguistic, political, and socioeconomic barriers, these groups are especially vulnerable to psychological problems such as anxiety, depression, alienation, grief, and post-traumatic stress disorder, as well as concerns arising from inadequate health care. Institutionalized discrimination and anti-immigrant policies and attitudes only exacerbate these challenges. The second edition of Best Practices for Social Work with Refugees and Immigrants offers an update to this comprehensive guide to social work with foreign-born clients and an evaluation of various helping strategies and their methodological strengths and weaknesses. Part 1 sets forth the context for evidence-based service approaches for such clients by describing the nature of these populations, relevant policies designed to assist them, service-delivery systems, and culturally competent practice. Part 2 addresses specific problem areas common to refugees and immigrants and evaluates a variety of assessment and intervention techniques in each area. Using a rigorous evidence-based and pancultural approach, Miriam Potocky and Mitra Naseh identify best practices at the macro, meso, and micro levels to meet the pressing needs of uprooted peoples. The new edition incorporates the latest research on contemporary social work practice with refugees and immigrants to provide a practical, up-to-date resource for the multitude of issues and interventions for these populations.
Research Methods for Social Workers
Research Methods for Social Workers introduces students to the basic concepts of research and its various components so that they can effectively apply them in a professional setting.From the basics of research to data analysis, Research Methods for Social Workers connects methods with practical applications in a way that emphasizes the value of research in becoming an effective social services practitioner. This text is designed to bring complex concepts down to a level thatcan be grasped by beginners, making it an invaluable resource for social work students and anyone who wishes to have a comprehensive introduction to research methods.
Archaeologies of Violence and Privilege
Violence is rampant in today's society. From state-sanctioned violence and the brutality of war and genocide to interpersonal fighting and the ways in which social lives are structured and symbolized by and through violence, people enact terrible things on other human beings almost every day. In Archaeologies of Violence and Privilege, archaeologists Christopher N. Matthews and Bradley D. Phillippi bring together a collection of authors who document the ways in which past social formations rested on violent acts and reproduced violent social and cultural structures. The contributors present a series of archaeological case studies that range from the mercury mines of colonial Huancavelica (AD 1564-1824) to the polluted waterways of Indianapolis, Indiana, at the turn of the twentieth century-a problem that disproportionally impacted African American neighborhoods. The individual chapters in this volume collectively argue that positions of power and privilege are fully dependent on forms of violence for their existence and sustenance.
Chain Analysis in Dialectical Behavior Therapy by
Filled with detailed clinical examples, this book expertly breaks down the process of behavioral chain analysis/m-/the critical foundation for assessment and problem solving in dialectical behavior therapy (DBT). Experienced DBT clinician and trainer Shireen L. Rizvi provides knowledge and skills for conducting chains effectively and overcoming obstacles. She presents guiding principles, questions to ask, strategies for engaging clients and addressing difficult-to-assess problems, and ways to avoid common mistakes. The book describes how to incorporate other essential DBT strategies (such as validation) into chain analysis, as well as how to conduct chains in the context of individual therapy, group skills training, phone coaching, and the consultation team.
Suicidology
Integrating research from multiple disciplines, this text provides a comprehensive perspective on suicide and examines what works in prevention and intervention. The author is a pioneering researcher and clinician who addresses the classification, prevalence, and assessment of suicide and self-destructive behaviors and explores risk factors at multiple levels, from demographic variables, personality traits, psychiatric diagnoses, and neurobiological factors to the social and cultural context. Student-friendly features include text boxes that dive deeply into specific issues, instructive figures and tables, thought-provoking clinical cases, and engaging examples from literature and popular culture. The text reviews medical and psychosocial treatment and prevention approaches, discusses ways to help those bereaved by suicide, and considers issues of professional liability.
A Practical Guide to the Evaluation of Child Physical Abuse and Neglect
The impact of child maltreatment on victims, families, and society—from immediate medical care and legal services to long-term mental health care and law enforcement—cannot be understated. And it remains a severe problem in spite of increasing public awareness and stricter laws. To keep up with growing body of professionals staying informed on this subject, the third edition of A Practical Guide to the Evaluation of Child Physical Abuse and Neglect assists the reader in recognizing abuse/neglect (exclusive of sexual abuse) in children and youth, and determining its extent. Illustrated with clinical photographs, the Guide details systematic evaluation procedures, explains the tasks of an evaluation team, and expands and updates the knowledge base in these and other major areas: Specific injuries, including burns, bruises, fractures, and head and abdominal injuries Malnourishment and other forms of neglect Medical child abuse (previously known as Munchausen Syndrome by Proxy) Maltreatment of children with special health care needs Domestic partner violence Prevention strategies, psychosocial assessment, collaborations with law enforcement and the courts, and more The new edition of A Practical Guide to the Evaluation of Child Physical Abuse and Neglect offers expert information useful to practitioners across professional domains: public health professionals in maternal and child health and school settings; physicians and nurses; clinical social workers, child psychologists, and school psychologists; and attorneys and law enforcement personnel.
Feminist Perspectives on Social Work Practice by
Feminist Perspectives on Social Work Practice is a contemporary look at the issues across a wide spectrum, beyond just equal pay for equal work and reproductive rights, with which women struggle on a daily basis. The Trump administration's call to roll back the progress that women have madeover the decades in terms of social welfare benefits, reproductive rights, and employment recognition, alongside the continuing victimization of women who have survived sexual violence, are just a few examples demonstrating why social workers and other human service professionals need to continue toadvocate and care for women in particular ways.This book aims to continue keeping the lives of women and the issues that affect and matter most to them at the forefront of the discussions about society and social services. The text will help readers to gain an understanding of populations of women that they might/will work with in the field ofhuman services. Using demographics, case studies, and best practice/evidence-based programs, the authors collectively provide students and practitioners with a comprehensive knowledge of women from a feminist perspective.
Environmental Justice As Social Work Practice by
Environmental Justice as Social Work Practice places the natural environment as central to practice. Utilizing the Phases of Practice and micro to macro levels of practice, the book integrates neatly into a college semester course. Chapters cover important components of social work such astheory, ethics, conceptual foundations as well as distinct chapters on micro, mezzo, and macro practice. Each chapter expands the discipline's commitment to and applied efforts in the environmental movement while recognizing the unique contributions social work has to offer to ameliorateenvironmental inequities. Chapters include real-world stories from environmental social work practitioners, case studies, and boxed sections highlighting organizations and people who bridge the human and natural justice divide. Each chapter concludes with learning activities and critical thinkingquestions providing learning activities that map easily to a course syllabus. A matrix identifying the placement of educational competencies from the Council on Social Work Education is included. The textbook provides a framework for social work educators to bravely and competently teachenvironmental social work as a stand-alone college course or to incorporate into a traditional practice course.
Focus Groups for the Social Science Researcher
What is a focus group? Why do we use them? When should we use them? When should we not? Focus Groups for the Social Science Researcher provides a step-by-step guide to undertaking focus groups, whether as a stand-alone method or alongside other qualitative or quantitative methods. It recognizes the challenges that focus groups encounter and provides tips to address them. The book highlights three unique, inter-related characteristics of focus groups. First, they are inherently social in form. Second, the data emerge organically through conversation; they are emic in nature. Finally, focus groups generate data at three levels of analysis: the individual, group, and interactive level. The book builds from these three characteristics to explain when focus groups can usefully be employed in different research designs. This is an essential text for students and researchers looking for a concise and accessible introduction to this important approach to data collection.
Grand Challenges for Society: evidence-based social work practice
"Social workers face complex societal issues that often seem insurmountable. Pulled in many directions, sustainable progress can seem impossible. To help focus on what matters most, the American Academy for Social Work and Social Welfare has recently set out 12 grand challenges for social work and society, in three broad categories of individual and family well-being, social fabric, and social justice. Social workers must strive toward social progress in these categories by relying on evidence-based methods, and the compendium of articles presented in this book highlights scholarship that provides a research base to address health disparities, social isolation, and financial capability, among others. Edited by the recent editors in chief of four NASW Press journals, Social Work, Health & Social Work, Children & Schools, and Social Work Research, this book is intended to be a primary resource for social work researchers, practitioners, policymakers, faculty, and students. Grand Challenges for Society not only provides the most up-to-date research, but also alerts the field to gaps in the literature that still need to be explored to achieve the aims of the Grand Challenges for Social Work"--Publisher's website.
The Science of Addiction by
Over the past 10 years, neurobiologic and genetic research has provided an increased understanding of what causes drug addiction in the brain's reward pathway. Knowing this leads to a better understanding of how it may be treated and even reversed in those who successfully overcome the disease. This is especially true with addiction's possible precursors of mild to moderate substance use disorders. These latter disorders can usually be treated more easily by less intensive models of "treatment" that do not require actual brain chemistry re-regulation over time.In this new edition, there are updated scientific references to support addiction as a medical brain disease, using the prevailing neurobiology, genetics and psychological scientific literature. We now have more psychosocial and medicinal methods for reversing abnormal brain chemistry during drug addiction. There are also more effective intervention, counselling and motivating methods (SBIRT, motivational interviewing) for overcoming resistance to treatment and resistance to change than were able to be discussed when the first edition was published over a decade ago. Here, readers will find a fully-updated glossary of terms, additional abbreviations and updated appendices. These will aid in clarifying the somewhat lengthy and science-based upgrades in our knowledge of neuroscience and genetics research that are so critical in understanding why addiction is such a serious and tough-to-treat disease. Utilising the same easy-to-read language that was a hallmark of the earlier edition, Erickson keeps the science understandable yet comprehensive--appropriate for health professionals as well as lay readers who need and want this critical information.
Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform by
In Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform, Dr. Richard (Buz) Cooper argues that US poverty and high health care spending are inextricably entwined. Our nation's health care system bears a financial burden that is greater than in any other developed country in large part because impoverished patients use more health care, driving up costs across the board. Drawing on decades of research, Dr. Cooper illuminates the geographic patterns of poverty, wealth, and health care utilization that exist across neighborhoods, regions, and states--and between countries. He chronicles the historical threads that have led to such differences, examines the approaches that have been taken to combat poverty throughout US history, and analyzes the impact that structural changes now envisioned for clinical practice are likely to have. His research reveals that ignoring the impact of low income on health care utilization while blaming rising costs on waste, inefficiency, and unnecessary care has led policy makers to reshape clinical practice in ways that impede providers who care for the poor. The first book to address the fundamental nexus that binds poverty and income inequality to soaring health care utilization and spending, Poverty and the Myths of Health Care Reform is a must-read for medical professionals, public health scholars, politicians, and anyone concerned with the heavy burden of inequality on the health of Americans.
Social Worker as Researcher by
Provides a unique human rights and social justice framework to social work research. This book is part of the Connecting Core Competencies Series. This series helps students understand and master CSWE's core competencies with a variety of pedagogy highlighted competency content and critical thinking questions for the competencies throughout. Using an innovative approach, Social Worker as Researcher: Integrating Research with Advocacy, applies a human rights and social justice framework to social work research and evaluation as an essential tool for social work advocacy. It provides detailed coverage of the research and evaluation process from framing the problem, designing and implementing the study, and taking action with the results. It documents the history and contemporary methods of 'who, what, where, and why we do' as a means to understanding and eradicating individual and social problems and evaluating solutions. The text is filled with material on critical thinking and evidence-based practice decision-making skills, vivid case examples, and experiential exercises to capture the thinking, feeling, and doing of research. It makes linkages to social work research and evaluation as a problem solving process and carefully documents the systematic step-by-step process of designing and implementing research for action. Teaching & Learning Experience Improve Critical Thinking - The text encourages readers to take a reflective action-oriented approach to understanding problems and using research and evaluation. Engage Students - Real world social work research and evaluation examples, vivid case examples and experiental exercises help students relate theory to practice. Explore Current Issues - Up-to-date information on human rights and social justice issues is included. Apply CSWE Core Competencies - Integrates the 2008 CSWE EPAS throughout - highlights competencies and practice behaviors and includes expensive pedagogy. MySocialWorkLab adds value with core competency videos and hundreds of competency-based questions. Support Instructors - An Instructor's Manual and Test Bank, Computerized Test Bank (MyTest), BlackBoard Test Item File.
The Immigrant Other by
The immigrants profiled in The Immigrant Other shed light on a system designed to dehumanize and disenfranchise them, and they describe the difficulty of finding shelter in an increasingly globalized and unsympathetic world. They include Muslims facing discrimination from both the "War on Terror" and the "War on Immigration," Latino day laborers, Filipino immigrants supporting themselves and their families back home, and Brazilian parents terrified of being separated from their naturalized children. Immigrants living in Spain, Australia, Greece, and Qatar are also represented, showcasing the similarities and differences in the treatment of immigrants worldwide. Each chapter in this anthology pairs a description of specific state, national, and transnational immigration laws and regulations with the testimony of individuals struggling to find legitimacy and sanctuary among them.
The Rise of the Military Welfare State by
Since the end of the draft, the U.S. Army has prided itself on its patriotic volunteers who heed the call to "Be All That You Can Be." But beneath the recruitment slogans, the army promised volunteers something more tangible: a social safety net including medical and dental care, education, child care, financial counseling, housing assistance, legal services, and other privileges that had long been reserved for career soldiers. The Rise of the Military Welfare State examines how the U.S. Army's extension of benefits to enlisted men and women created a military welfare system of unprecedented size and scope. America's all-volunteer army took shape in the 1970s, in the wake of widespread opposition to the draft. Abandoning compulsory conscription, it wrestled with how to attract and retain soldiers--a task made more difficult by the military's plummeting prestige after Vietnam. The army solved the problem, Jennifer Mittelstadt shows, by promising to take care of its own--the more than ten million Americans who volunteered for active duty after 1973 and their families. While the United States dismantled its civilian welfare system in the 1980s and 1990s, army benefits continued to expand. Yet not everyone was pleased by programs that, in their view, encouraged dependency, infantilized soldiers, and feminized the institution. Fighting to outsource and privatize the army's "socialist" system and to reinforce "self-reliance" among American soldiers, opponents rolled back some of the military welfare state's signature achievements, even as a new era of war began.
Women and Justice for the Poor by
This book re-examines fundamental assumptions about the American legal profession and the boundaries between 'professional' lawyers, 'lay' lawyers, and social workers. Putting legal history and women's history in dialogue, it demonstrates that nineteenth-century women's organizations first offered legal aid to the poor and that middle-class women functioning as lay lawyers, provided such assistance. Felice Batlan illustrates that by the early twentieth century, male lawyers founded their own legal aid societies. These new legal aid lawyers created an imagined history of legal aid and a blueprint for its future in which women played no role and their accomplishments were intentionally omitted. In response, women social workers offered harsh criticisms of legal aid leaders and developed a more robust social work model of legal aid. These different models produced conflicting understandings of expertise, professionalism, the rule of law, and ultimately, the meaning of justice for the poor.
Intercountry Adoption by
Intercountry adoption represents a significant component of international migration; in recent years, up to 45,000 children have crossed borders annually as part of the intercountry adoption boom. Proponents have touted intercountry adoption as a natural intervention for promoting child welfare. However, in cases of fraud and economic incentives, intercountry adoption has been denounced as child trafficking. The debate on intercountry adoption has been framed in terms of three perspectives: proponents who advocate intercountry adoption, abolitionists who argue for its elimination, and pragmatists who look for ways to improve both the conditions in sending countries and the procedures for intercountry transfer of children. Social workers play critical roles in intercountry adoption; they are often involved in family support services or child relinquishment in sending countries, and in evaluating potential adoptive homes, processing applications, and providing support for adoptive families in receiving countries; social workers are involved as brokers and policy makers with regard to the processes, procedures, and regulations that govern intercountry adoption. Their voice is essential in shaping practical and ethical policies of the future. Containing 25 chapters covering the following five areas: policy and regulations; sending country perspectives; outcomes for intercountry adoptees; debate between a proponent and an abolitionist; and pragmatists' guides for improving intercountry adoption practices, this book will be essential reading for social work practitioners and academics involved with intercountry adoption.
Health Disparities in the United States by
Outstanding Academic Title, Choice magazine The health care system in the United States has been called the best in the world. Yet wide health disparities persist between different social groups, and many Americans suffer from poorer health than people in other developed countries. Donald A. Barr's Health Disparities in the United States explores how socioeconomic status, race, and ethnicity interact with socioeconomic inequality to create and perpetuate these health disparities. Examining the significance of this gulf for the medical community, cultural subsets, and society at large, Barr offers potential policy- and physician-based solutions for reducing health inequity in the long term. This popular course book, which has been fully updated, now incorporates significant new material, including a chapter on the profound effects of inequality on child development, behavioral choices, and adult health status. An essential text for courses in public health, health policy, and sociology, the second edition analyzes the complex web of social forces that influence health outcomes in the United States. This book is a vital teaching tool and a comprehensive reference for social science and medical professionals.
Social Work Macro Practice by
Explores working with organizations and communities with a unique macro practice model focusing on making changes within diverse communities and organizations. This book is part of the Connecting Core Competencies Series. This series helps students understand and master CSWE's core competencies with a variety of pedagogy highlighted competency content and critical thinking questions for the competencies throughout. The book focuses on work with organizations and communities, including planned change approaches and implementation. Teaching & Learning Experience Improve Critical Thinking - The entire text takes students from conceptual understanding to practicalities of implementation. Engage Students - A blend of historical ideologies with contemporary trends allows students to explore the development of social work practices. Explore Current Issues - The new edition includes up-to-date information on values and ethical dilemmas and community and organization analysis. Apply CSWE Core Competencies - Integrates the 2008 CSWE EPAS throughout - highlights competencies and practice behaviors and includes expensive pedagogy. Support Instructors - Instructor's Manual and Test Bank, Computerized Test Bank (MyTest), Blackboard Test Item File, and PowerPoint presentations are included in the outstanding supplements package.
The Strengths Model by
Presenting a compelling alternative to the traditional medical approach, The Strengths Model demonstrates an evidence-based approach to helping people with a psychiatric disability identify and achieve meaningful and important life goals. Since the first edition of this classic textbookappeared, the strengths model has matured into a robust vision of mental health services. Both a philosophy of practice and a specific set of tools and methods, the strengths model is designed to facilitate a recovery-oriented partnership between client and practitioner. This completely revisededition charts the evolution of the strengths model, reviews the empirical support behind it, and illustrates the techniques and values that guide its application.Features new to this edition:* An extensive update of the strengths literature, focusing on recovery as the dominant paradigm in mental health services* Richly drawn case vignettes demonstrating the application of methods* Integration of empirical research and consumers' own experiences* Completely updated strengths assessment and fidelity scales* In-depth discussions and examples guide practitioners from theory to applied practice* Descriptions of how to teach and successfully supervise large-scale implementations of strengths model workFor social workers and other mental health specialists working with clients to move beyond the disabling effects of mental illness to a life filled with meaning, purpose, and identity, this remains the crucial text.
Techniques and Guidelines for Social Work Practice by
This unique text emphasizes the many different techniques needed for successful social work practice. Parts I and II provide knowlege, values, and competencies for effective social work practice, while Parts III through V contain 144 clear and readable descriptions of practice techniques, presented in a handbook format for convenient accessibility of information. .
Working with People by
Introduces basic components of working with people--observation, assessment, communication, and intervention--Working with People presents an engaging discussion of the theoretical foundation of human service practice, promotes the development of practice skills, integrates the topics of advocacy throughout, and encourages social work students to be more reflective in their work. KEY TOPICS: Engage Students - Provides case examples emphasizing diversity throughout, providing students with an opportunity to put theory into practice. Explore Current Issues - The text incorporates important topics including advocacy, feminist psychology, the Internet and technology, and much more. MARKET: For those interested in learning the basic components of working with people.
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
