Social Welfare

QuickFacts provides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 250,000 files of research in the social and behavioral sciences. It hosts 21 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

The Children's Bureau provides State and national data on:
* adoption and foster care
* child abuse and neglect
* child welfare

Sponsored by the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics, this group publishes an annual report, America's Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being.

A database of the U.S. government's open data. This includes data sets from local, state and federal government agencies in a number of different formats.

This report outlines the key findings of the 2019 Point-In-Time (PIT) count and Housing Inventory Count (HIC) conducted in January 2019. Specifically, this report provides 2019 national, state, and CoC-level PIT and HIC estimates of homelessness, as well as estimates of chronically homeless persons, homeless veterans, and homeless children and youth.

A project by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, Kids Count provides both national, state and some local data on child well-being.

The All of Us Research Hub stores health data from a diverse group of participants from across the United States to help improve our understanding of human health..

Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more.

SAMHSA's Center for Behavioral Health Statistics and Quality (CBHSQ) is the lead Federal government agency for behavioral health data and research. CBHSQ maintains several data collection systems and surveys on key topics in U.S. behavioral health, including:
The National Survey on Drug Use and Health, which measures behavioral health indicators across the United States; and
The Behavioral Health Services Information System, which collects information on the U.S. behavioral health treatment system

A Center for Disease Control and Prevention initiative which monitors health-risk behaviors in Middle and High School students. Behaviors include tobacco and drug use, physical activities, dietary behaviors, violence and incidents of asthma.

Facts & Figures publications present the most current trends in cancer occurrence and survival.

Find up-to-date statistics on heart disease, stroke, and other vascular diseases.

A sample of data from their annual survey of hospitals in the United States.

A valuable resource for statistics on stroke morbidity, mortality, and risks.

Collects data on medical students, residents, as well as institutional operations.

World Health Organization theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities.

Tribal epidemiology from UNM Health Sciences Library and Informatics Center

Essential health indicators to quantitatively characterize the health situation of 48 countries and territories in the Americas.

A project at the University of Pittsburgh to advance the availability and use of public health data for science and policy making.

Users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources of the United Nations system.

Provides comprehensive baseline information on the health of populations and on the outcomes associated with the investment in health systems.

Health disparities were examined for population characteristics that included race and ethnicity, sex, sexual orientation, age, disability, socioeconomic status, and geographic location.
The purpose is to raise awareness of differences among groups regarding selected health outcomes and health determinants and to prompt actions to reduce disparities.

Select from a wide range of data on health disparities, health workforce, demographics, and more.

Provides national data and statistics by disease or topic.

Supported by the National Institute on Aging, they survey a representative sample of more than 26,000 Americans over the age of 50 every two years.

An annual report on trends in health statistics from the National Center for Health Statistics.

Largest all-payer collection of hospital inpatient care statistical information in the United States.

Provides annual information on the rate and number of work related injuries, illnesses, and fatal injuries.

The most complete source of data on the cost and use of health care and health insurance coverage.

Locate the latest topical reports, interactive graphs, and statistics for many common cancer types.

Collects data from surveys and vital records, then publishes and provides access to this information.

The National Information Center on Health Services Research and Health Care Technology (NICHSR) is pleased to announce the release of a newly revised Health Statistics tutorial. Written by staff at AcademyHealth, this tutorial is aimed at students, librarians, and other professionals interested in an introduction to the principles behind health statistics. The new, interactive course is divided into four sections:
About Health Statistics
Common Terms
Health Data Sources
Finding Health Statistics
Each section contains a quiz to help you determine your understanding of the course. A certificate is available upon completion of the course.