Research & Subject Guides: Women's, Gender, &amp; Sexuality Studies (WGSS): Databases

Library Databases

Here are some important databases and digital collections for Women's, Gender & Sexuality Studies.

Browse our full selection of databases by title or subject: Databases A-Z

Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Gale OneFile: Contemporary Women's Issues
1992-present. Fulltext. Books, articles, newsletters, and reports. 2000 sources from 250 organizations: mainstream periodicals, "gray" literature, and alternative presses from over 190 countries.
Dissertations & Theses Global
Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
Gale OneFile: Diversity Studies
This collection explores cultural differences, contributions and influences in our global community. This set includes 150 full-text journals. Coverage begins in 1980.
Gender Studies Database
1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
GenderWatch
This is a database of unique and diverse publications that focus on how gender impacts a broad spectrum of subject areas. With its archival material, dating back to 1970 in some cases, GenderWatch is a repository of important historical perspectives on the evolution of the women's movement, men's studies, the transgender community and the changes in gender roles over the years. Publications include scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, regional publications, books and NGO, government and special reports.
JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

Getting started

If you need:	Try using:
Somewhere to start your research	Academic Search Complete
Background information	Books, encyclopedias (Britannica Online), dictionaries (Oxford English Dictionary), or other reference material. Choose “Reference" from the database subject list.
Current research on a subject	Peer-reviewed journals, print or electronic from databases. Search the library's discovery system. *JSTOR is a back issues database and won’t have the most current research.
Academic or scholarly articles	Peer-reviewed or refereed journals, print or electronic from databases. Search the Databases list tab for a list of databases or view Research Tutorials tab for information on scholarly articles.
Info on both sides of “hot topic” issues like abortion or gun control	Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Up-to-the-minute information like stock prices, news, sports scores	Newspapers, the Internet or theses databases: Nexis Uni, US Major Dailies
Statistics	Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center or government websites
Popular articles	Magazines or Academic Search Complete
Contemporary accounts of historical events	New York Times Archive or other newspapers on microfilm. Search the library catalog to find other historical newspapers.
Primary Sources (letters, diaries, government reports, photographs, maps, manuscripts, etc.)	These specific databases: American Memory, Empire Online, North American Women's Letters and Diaries, Colonial to 1950, Women and Social Movements in the United States These types of books: autobiographies, memoirs, correspondence, or letters. Primary Sources Visit the Special Collections department of the library (by appointment only).

Women's, Gender, & Sexuality Studies (WGSS)

Subject Guide

Library Databases

Getting started

Library

Resources

Follow Us