Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.


Stony Brook University

Impact Factors, Cited References, H-Index and Journal Abbreviations

Find all of the articles citing a specific paper/article.

Database Directions for Cited Reference Searching

Cited Reference Searching- database specific instructions

Ebsco Host Databases

1.            Look for the cited references tab at the top of the search screen. 

2.            Search by author or title of work.  This is a list of  works by the author.

3.            Click on Find Citing Articles.

4.            The following databases can be searched for cited  references.

             Academic Search Complete

             America: History & Life

             Business Source Complete

             CINAHL Plus with Full Text

             Education Research Complete

             Environment Complete

             GreenFILE

             Historical Abstracts

             Humanities International Complete

             Library, Information Science & Technology  Abstracts

             PsycARTICLES

             PsycINFO

             SocINDEX with Full Text

 Annual Reviews

1.            Click on advanced search under the main search box.

2.            In the advanced search box, type last name, first initial and select “cited author” in the search box.

3.            Click Search.

 

BioMedCentral

1.            Click on Advanced Search in the top menu bar.

2.            Select text: references from the drop down menu next to the first search box.

3.            Enter last name, first initial. 

 

SciFinder

1.            Search for a specific article

2.            Click on the “Get Cited” icon.

 

Google Scholar

1.            Search by author’s name.

2.            Click on the “Cited by #” for each article.

 

Google Scholar My Citations

1.  Track citations using the My Citations link at the top of the page on Google Scholar.

2.  You do need to sign in/register for a Google account to use this feature.

 

Oxford Music Online

1.            Click on the Advanced Search option located under the search box.

2.            Click on the Bibliography Search tab.

3.            Type in author’s name as either initial. Last name or last name, first initial.

4.            The following databases can be searched for cited references.

             Oxford Dictionary of Music

             Grove Music Online

             Oxford Companion to Music

 

EDP Sciences

1.            Click on Search on the side menu bar.

2.            Next to the first search box, click on the down area in the menu box and select References.

3.            Type first initial.last name or last name, first initial.

 

Electrochemical Society

1.            Click on Publications.

2.            Select the Advanced Search option.

3.            Check the box next to All ECS publications.

4.            Enter the name in quotes as “Last name, First initial” or “First initial Last name”; it is recommended to combine the two searches using the term or.

 

JSTOR

                JSTOR uses Google Scholar to search for citing items.

1.            Search for article title.

2.            Click on record.

3.            On right hand menu bar, click on “Items Citing this Item” in the Google Scholar box.

4.            A link for the # of items citing this item in JSTOR is also available.

 

MathSciNet

1.            Select References in the drop down menu in the search terms box.

2.            Enter the name of the author or the work you are searching for.

 

NUMDAM-  Mathematical journals archive

1.            Enter search terms for cited author or article title in the “Search by Using Bibliographies” search box.

2.            Click on Start Search.

 

Ovid SP platform databases

1.            Journal article citation data is available.  Cited author searching is not available. 

2.            Search for the cited journal article.

3.            Click on “Find Citing Articles” under the article record.

4.            The following databases can be searched for cited references.

             Biological Abstracts

             Health and Psychosocial Instruments

             Journals@Ovid

             Medline via Ovid

             Social Work Abstracts

             Zoological Record

 

PubMed Central

1.            Click on the Advanced Search option.

2.            You can search the full reference or just the reference author.

a.            Full reference search:  search term[Reference]

b.            Reference author search:  last name first initial [Reference Author]

 

Science Direct

1.            Click on Search on the top menu bar.

2.            Enter the author or article title in the box and select Within:  References from the drop down menu.

 

Wiley Interscience

1.            In the Advanced Search box, select references from the drop down menu box.

2.            Type in author or article title information.