George Washington and the Culper Spy Ring

Suffolk County Historic Newspapers

The Port Jefferson Echo 1892-1906

South Side Signal 1869-1879

The Corrector 1858-1871

The Long Island Traveler 1880-1892

The Long Islander 1839-1863

http://shn.suffolk.lib.ny.us/

Search strategies: Culper, Robert Townsend, Caleb Brewster

Major Historical Sets

• Early American Newspapers – Microfilm A565
• Early American Newspapers, 1704-1820 – Microprint 4
• Underground Newspaper Collection* – Microfilm A178 [1963-1985]
  • Index to Underground Newspaper Collection: Microforms Library Z6944.U5 B4 [1963-1985]
• Alternative Press Collection* – Microfilm A178 [1986 – present]
  • Alternative press. A guide to the microform collection Z6944.U5 B4 [1986-present]

Other Major Papers

• New York Herald [1840-1919] – Microfilm A1
• New York Tribune / Daily Tribune / Herald Tribune [1841-1966] Microfilm 123
• Christian Science Monitor [1908-1925, 1960-present] Microfilm A26

​Major Foreign Newspapers

• The Times (London, England) [1788-present] – Microfilm A6
• Le Monde (Paris, France) [1944-present] – Microfilm A4
• Le Temps (Paris, France : 1861) [1861-1942] – Microfilm A3
• Pravda (Moscow, Russia) [1917,1921-1975] – Microfilm A161

​African American Newspapers

• New York Amsterdam News (1919-present) – Microfilm A128
• Chicago Defender (1905-1966) – Microfilm A395
• Pittsburgh Courier [weekly] (1923-1947) – Microfilm A238​

ONLINE

• New York Times Historical Archive [1851 to 3 years ago]
• National Newspaper Index: A few major papers.  Mostly from 1980 forward.
• New York Tribune Index (Library of Congress) - 1875-1884, 1895. 
• Nineteenth Century Masterfile: A few newspapers from 19^th century.  Includes: New York Daily Tribune [1875-1906 - Also on Microfilm A445]

PRINT

• New York Times: Newspaper Indexes AI21 .N44 [1851- present]
• The Times (London, England) Newspaper Indexes AI21.T5 [1790-present]
• Christian Science Monitor: Newspaper Indexes AI21.c3 [1946-1994]
• Le Monde: Newspaper Indexes AI21.m6 [1944-1968]
• Wall Street Journal: Newspaper Indexes HG1.W26 [1955-present]
• Washington Post: Newspaper Indexes AI21.W33 W36 [1971-1995]
• Newsday: Newspaper Indexes AI21.N5 [1977-1985]

LIBRARY DATABASES

New York Times  - 1851 to 3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.

For newspaper articles after approx. 1980, you can search the following databases:

LexisNexis Academic - Thousands of newspapers, from major ones to more regional titles. Washington Post goes back to about 1975. Most papers go back to the mid 1980s or 1990.

Ethnic NewsWatch - Newspapers from minority and ethnic presses that often don't get covered in LexisNexis or Factiva. Most go back to early 1990s.

Newsday - 1985-present.

ON THE INTERNET

Chronicling America: The Library of Congress - Newspapers from some states from 1860-1922. 

ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers - Best single guide to online newspapers.  Lists digitization projects in the U.S. and around the world.  Shows which are freely accessible and which cost money. 

Google News Archive - Contains a mix of free and pay online newspapers, mostly from the 20th century.

Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature

To find magazine and journal articles between 1880 and 1980.  Readers' Guide is located in the Central Reading Room (CRR).  When you enter the CRR, it will be on the wall to your immediate left, at call number AI3 .R483.

Each volume of Readers' Guide is indexed by Subject.  Under each subject, there will be a list of article titles, with abbreviations for the magazine or journal in which the article is located, the date of the issue, and the volume and page number(s).

When you find an article, you need to then check in STARS to see if the library has the magazine/journal for the date of the article. (I receommend using the JOURNAL CATALOG part of STARS.  Once you find the magazine, check the "Summary Holdings" to see if we have the date you need.

For example, if you find an article from Time magazine from April 1957, search the JOURNAL CATALOG for Time.  When you click on the link for Time, you will various Summary Holdings for Microfiche (1965-1974,1982-); Microfilm (1923-1956,1960-1964,1975-1981) and Print (1957-March 1975,Oct. 1975-1980,1982-).  April 1957 would be available, then, in the Print version, which is located in the Main Stacks at call number AP2 .T37 OVERSIZE x.

You will also see a link for online versions.  You can check this to see if the magazine/journal is available for your date.  Please keep in mind, however, that most magazines and journals online will only go back to about 1980.

JSTOR

While JSTOR is often used for secondary sources, keep in mind that each journal in JSTOR goes back to its first issue.  Many journals go back into the 19th century, and a few go back as far as the 17th and 18th centuries.  So, it can also be used as a primary source.

Microform Collections

Some of the major microforms that include historic magazines and journals are:

• Early American Imprints (1639-1800)
• American Culture Series
• American Periodical Series

For more information on these collections, see the "Microforms" tab (above).