Research & Subject Guides: Dental Medicine: Mobile Apps

Featured New App!

Complete Anatomy
Complete Anatomy is a 3 dimensional anatomy platform with 12 layered systems and 1,500 clinical video animations. It has 17,000 interactive structures which include a dissectable human heart in 3D and interactive muscle motion. This database includes anatomical papers, classic textbooks, and scan data.

To get the app, click the 'try it for free' button and sign up with your Stony Brook email address. After the account is created, go to Settings, then My Account, and enter the redeem code 216368388398 (for students) or 451079121666 (for educators).

Clinical Decision Support

Access Medicine
Create a MyAccess username and password from on-campus and then download and log into the App. This App includes free access to Quick Medical Dx & Tx.
ACP Immunization Advisor
An app for applying the latest adult immunization recommendations in clinical practice.
AHRQ Electronic Preventive Services Selector
An application designed to help primary care clinicians identify clinical preventive services appropriate for their patients
AIDSinfo
Access federally approved HIV/AIDS treatment and research information.
Calculate by QxMD
Point-of-care tool with more than 150 unique calculators and decision support tools.
CDC Influenza
Find CDC’s latest recommendations and influenza activity updates.
ClinicalKey
Great for simple searches in textbooks. Create an account with your Stony Brook email on the web interface, then download the app and log in with your account.
Dynamed
Click on Mobile in the top left menu on the Dynamed website and type in your email address. Dynamed will send further instructions for setting up the mobile app.
National Comprehensive Cancer Network Guidelines
View the complete library of NCCN Guidelines for Treatment of Cancer by Site; Detection, Prevention, & Risk Reduction; Supportive Care; Age Related Recommendations; and International Adaptations and Translations.
Radiology 2.0 - One night in the ED
Series of cases that allow the user to simulate reading CT scans at a PACS workstation.
STD Treatment Guidelines from the CDC
An easy-to-use reference that helps health care providers identify and treat patients for STDs.
UpToDate Anywhere
Click on "Log in/Register" and complete the registration fields. You must register from within the Stony Brook network in order to gain access to the mobile app and accrue CME credits.
VisualDx
Click on "get mobile" friom the top right menu on the VisualDx website to sign up for the app.

Journals

BrowZine
Organizes articles found in Open Access and University Libraries subscriptions, uniting them into complete journals, then arranging these journals on a common virtual newsstand.
Nature Mobile
The nature.com reader apps have been designed to make reading scientific content on the iPhone, iPad or iPod touch easier. News, abstracts and open access content is always free to view, full text articles can be accessed through individual journal subscriptions.
New England Journal of Medicine
iPad or iPhone apps for the latest medical research findings, review articles, and editorial opinion on a wide variety of topics (some content requires individual subscription).
Read by QxMD
Access to full text PDFs from journal articles. After you download the app, you are asked to create an account by adding information about your profession, specialty, and institution. Choose SBU from the list to access full-text.
Science Mobile
Read current abstracts of Science magazine articles. Search job listings and news articles. Full-text not available through the application.

Drug and Chemical Information

DailyMed
Mobile optimized website for the official provider of FDA label information (package inserts) providing standard, comprehensive, up-to-date, look-up for medication content and labeling found in medication package inserts.
Epocrates
Mobile access to Epocrates drug database.
Lexicomp Mobile Access
Click on Mobile App Access on the right side of the screen, select your platform and instructions for downloading and installing the App will be provided.
Micromedex
Click on the Download Mobile Apps button on the lower right of the Micromedex website.
PDR.net
Provides mobile access to the Physicians Drug Reference. Requires creation of a free account.
WISER: Wireless Information System for Emergency Responders
Mobile app designed to assist emergency responders in hazardous material incidents.

Teaching and Learning

Note Taking

Evernote
Take notes on any computer or device and sync them across devices.
Good Reader
Read (or have the app read them to you!), mark up, and share pdfs. $4.99
iAnnotate
Read, mark up, and share pdfs. $9.99
Penultimate
Take handwritten notes in Penultimate, sync them and search them in Evernote.

Media Creation

Explain Everything
Draw and animate explanatory videos.
iMovie
Film and edit movies on your iPad or apple computer
Pure Flow
Create flowcharts quickly and easily

Quizzes and Flashcards

Anki
Flashcard software free as a website, with a paid app.
Quizlet
Find flashcards or make your own.

Collaboration

Zoom
Videoconferencing

For even more ideas, visit the iPadogogy Wheel or iMedicalApps.

Featured Apps

Dynamed
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
Micromedex
Drug and dosage information, toxicological substances, patient information databases, and other data to support clinical care decisions.

Mobile version available.

Getting the UpToDate App

Patient Education and Communication

Draw MD
Efficiently communicate and share information about conditions and procedures, sampler and 11 specialties available from iTunes.
Josie King Foundation - Patient Journal App
Patient and family app used to record and organize medical information, and share the notes and permanent medical record with care providers via email.
PTSD Coach
The PTSD Coach app can help you learn about and manage symptoms that often occur after trauma.
Virtual Heart
Multiple real-time views of the human heart. From Chicago's Museum of Science and Industry.

Dental Medicine

Research

Featured New App!

Clinical Decision Support

Journals

Drug and Chemical Information

Teaching and Learning

Featured Apps

Getting the UpToDate App

Patient Education and Communication

Library

Resources

Follow Us