Translating the search to multiple databases:
It is recommended to search more than one database for a Scoping Review. Although there will be some overlap between databases that will require deduplication, searching multiple databases increases the comprehensiveness of the search. Once you've got a search strategy developed in the first database, you will need to translate it to other databases. Although you will search with the same key words in all databases, there are other parts of the search that will need to be customized for each database including the subject terms, field codes and syntax or punctuation. And keep in mind that you may find additional key words while translating the search to the other databases, which will require you to go back and edit your initial search. This is a highly iterative process.
These are some of the databases you can consider using, depending on your topic.
Database Translation Workshop from the University of Manitoba Libraries
In addition to database searching, Handsearching and Grey Literature searching are important to help increase the likelihood of identifying all relevant studies in a literature search.
Handsearching requires reviewers to browse a curated list of field-specific journals and conference proceedings to find articles relevant to the review topic.
Grey Literature is any literature that has not been published through traditional means. It is often excluded from large databases and other mainstream sources. Grey literature can also mean literature that is hard to find or has inconsistent or missing bibliographic information. Finding grey literature can be tricky. These resources will help.
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
Except where otherwise noted, this work by SBU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
