Psychological Tests & Instruments

Awarded Second Place in the 2018 AJN Book of the Year Awards in Gerontologic Nursing!Handbook of Geriatric Assessment, Fifth Edition is a multidisciplinary text that takes a contemporary approach in line with patient and family centered care. With contributions from the foremost experts in the field, it contains the latest information on geriatric assessments for older adults.Completely updated and revised, the Fifth Edition includes several new chapters, including demographic trends, age friendly health systems, payment reform and impact, the VA health system, self-care and management, impact on familial relations, vulnerable populations, building geriatric interdisciplinary teams, advance care planning, caregiver information, spiritual assessment, senior hunger, and transitions of care.

One of the key challenges of all types of practice and research is finding a way to measure a given problem. The seminal Measures for Clinical Practice and Research two-volume set contains hundreds of the most useful measurement tools--alongside the authors' guidance on how to select and score them--for use in clinical practice and in research.

Tests in Print VI contains information on over four thousand testing instruments. Informative descriptions of each test include specific data on their purpose, population, scoring, and pricing. Indexes of test titles, publishers, acronyms, and subject classifications are provided, as well as notations on out-of-print tests.

Test critiques brings together critical reviews of hundreds of assessment instruments that are available on the market today. Each review follows a standard format that includes introductory com- ments about the specific instrument, practical application and uses, technical aspects, and an overall critique.

Measuring Health provides in-depth reviews of over 100 of the leading health measurement tools and serves as a guide for choosing among them. Now in its third edition, this book provides a critical overview of the field of health measurement, with a technical introduction and discussion of the history and future directions for the field.

This fourth edition of Health Measurement Scales enables researchers to both develop scales to measure non-tangible health outcomes, and better evaluate and differentiate between existing tools. It synthesizes the theory of scale construction with practical advice, making it the ultimate guide to how to develop and validate measurement scales that are to be used in the health sciences.

This book describes the multidimensional assessment of older persons. It combines comprehensive reviews of the most widely used instruments for measuring a variety of domains (such as physiological status, cognition, affect, social function, quality of life, physical environment, and caregiver burden) with an exploration of the variety of uses to which these assessments have been put. It shows how assessment is used in various aspects of practice, including comprehensive geriatric assessment, care planning, case management, and mandated assessments.

Instructs clinicians on the evaluation of the older person, covering assessment of mental status, function, social situation, physical examination, and health promotion and disease prevention.

In this ground-breaking text, leading researchers provide reviews of the most commonly used outcome and screening measures for the major psychiatric diagnoses and treatment scenarios. The Handbook also includes ready-to-photocopy versions of the most popular, valid, and reliable scales and checklists, along with scoring keys and links to websites containing on-line versions.

In this third edition of the Handbook, 218 scales, complete with full descriptions and psychometric data, are made available, with additional information provided at the companion website for this volume.

This is the most comprehensive and state-of-the-art work on the measurement of love with 26 popularly used scales, and illustrations of three empirical research programs in measuring love and intimate relations. The compilation of scales provides information on purpose, function, constructs, psychometric properties, subject response formats, and actual measurement items.

The CPI and MMPI measures will frequently be instruments of choice in research on personality and psychodynamics of offenders. A standard order of scale presentation is followed. First the attitudes scales are presented, followed by the behavior ratings, per­sonality measures, milieu ratings, prediction measures and finally the very broad category of description. After the reviews are completed within each subcategory, other scales in that category are listed. Listed scales are presented by title and bibliographic reference, followed by a very brief description.

This volume includes information on 211 tests and measures pertaining to gender roles and attitudes towards gender. Gender roles are broadly defined to include adults' and children's gender roles, gender stereotypes, marital roles, parental roles, employee roles, and multiple roles. In addition to 67 scales still in use that were described in her earlier book, Beere includes scales that are relevant, have evidence of their reliability and/or validity, and are used in more than one published article or ERIC document.