It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
COLLECTIONS: Pollock-Krasner Study Center
Learn about the collections at the Pollock Krasner Study Center at the Stony Brook Southampton Library.
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Large public database of digitized archives of painting and sculpture. Indexes over 2,300 art websites. High-definition images can be viewed online or legally purchased and downloaded. 180,000 works by 8,600 renowned and lesser-known artists.
Art Abstracts is an art research database providing high-quality indexing and abstracts for hundreds of national and international art journals, plus thousands of art dissertations. The resource covers fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, film and architecture. It includes indexing and abstracts for nearly 700 periodicals (including more than 370 peer-reviewed journals), more than 14,000 art dissertations, and indexing for more than 220,000 indexed art reproductions.
NOTE: This resource is an upgrade to and replaces Art Index.
Archive of 550,000 high-quality, digitized images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences. Images may be downloaded and manipulated in customized mini-collections. Also searches for images in JSTOR's collection of scholarly articles.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Journals in the Study Center Collection
Early editions of many art journals and periodicals do not appear in Library databases. The Study Center maintains a small print collection of these materials. (Not all runs of each title are complete. Call for an appointment.) Titles Include:
Art Digest 1949 - 1955 (Becomes Arts in October 1955.)