Resources for the study of Chinese culinary history, featuring the Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, a special collection at Stony Brook University.
1964-present. Citations and abstracts. History and culture of the U.S. & Canada, from prehistory to the present. 1,700 academic journals in more than 40 languages, as well as books and dissertations.
Coverage varies. Free and open access to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. A digital record of American history and creativity. From the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions.
1966-present. Abstracts to journal articles and over 300,000 full text Education Documents (EDs). Additional EDs are available on microfiche. Includes visual searching feature.
1955-present. Citations and abstracts. History of the world (excluding the U.S. & Canada) from 1450 to the present. Military history, women's history, and history of education. 1,700 academic journals in over 40 languages.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Fulltext and citations. Indexes more than 2,700 collections of Oral History in English from around the world. Contains almost 281,000 pages of full-text by close to 10,000 individuals from all walks of life. Also has pointers to 4,100 audio and video files.
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.
Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
1956-present. Part of the Web of Science. Cited reference searching finds articles that have cited a previously published work, making it possible to see the impact of that work and its author on subsequent research.
1895-present. Sociology research encompassing all sub-disciplines and closely related areas of study. Contains fulltext for 428 "core" journals from 1908-present, and 163 "priority" journals. Abstracts for more than 845 "core" journals as far back as 1895. Also includes fulltext for more than 735 books and monographs, and fulltext for 6,785 conference papers.
