Skip to Main Content
Stony Brook University Libraries
Research & Subject Guides
Chinese Culinary History
E-Books (Full-text, Open Access)
Search this Guide
Search
Chinese Culinary History
Resources for the study of Chinese culinary history, featuring the Dr. Jacqueline M. Newman Chinese Cookbook Collection, a special collection at Stony Brook University.
HOME
Books at SBU
This link opens in a new window
E-Books (Full-text, Open Access)
Websites
More Books
Library E-Resources
Multimedia
Primary Sources
Articles
Event Archive
Contact
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1900s-1910s
Parloa, Maria, 1843-1909. The Oriental Cook Book: a Guide to Marketing And Cooking, In English And Chinese. 3rd ed. Shanghai: Kelly & Walsh, 1905.
Nolton, Jessie Louise, ed., Chinese Cookery in the Home Kitchen; Being Recipes for the Preparation of the Most Popular Chinese Dishes at Home. Detroit: Chino-American Publishing Co., 1911.
Keoleian, Ardashes Hagop, 1875-. The Oriental Cook Book: Wholesome, Dainty And Economical Dishes of the Orient, Especially Adapted to American Tastes And Methods of Preparation. New York: Sully & Kleinteich, 1913.
Preston, W. Preston's Complete English And Chinese Cook Book: a Simple Method of Bettering Kitchen Conditions. Shanghai, China: China Print. Co., Ltd., 1911.
Bosse, Sara, and Onoto Watanna. Chinese-Japanese Cook Book. Chicago: Rand McNally, 1914.
Chong Jan & Co. (San Francisco, Calif.). Chinese And English Cook Book =: [Hua Ying Zi Chu Shu]. San Francisco, Calif., U.S.A.: Chong Jan & Co., 1913.
Calder-Marshall, R. The Anglo-Chinese Cook Book. Shanghai: The Commercial Press, Ltd., 1916.
Chan, Shiu Wong, 1893-, and James B. Herndon. The Chinese Cook Book: Containing More Than One Hundred Recipes for Everyday Food Prepared In the Wholesome Chinese Way...New York: Frederick A. Stokes, 1917.
Galster, Vernon. Chinese Cook Book. [Morris, Ill.: V. Galster], 1917.
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1920s-1930s
How Long & Co. How Long Chinese Chop Suey Cook Book. New York: How Long & Co., 1924.
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1930s-1940s
La Choy Food Products. The Art And Secrets of Chinese Cookery. Detroit, Mich.: La Choy Food Products, 1931.
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1940s-1950s
La Choy Food Products. The Art And Secrets of Chinese Cookery. [Archbold, Ohio: La Choy Food Products, Division of Beatrice Foods, 1949.
Wing, Fred, and Mabel Stegner. New Chinese Recipes: Using Only Ingredients Easily Obtainable In Neighborhood Stores. Rev. and enl. ed New York: Edelmuth Co., 1948.
Inn, Henry. Chinese Committee International Institute of the Young Women's Christian Association (Honolulu. Chinese Home Cooking: Recipes of Cantonese Dishes. 3rd ed Honolulu, Hawaii: The Committee, 1948.
Bazore, Katherine, 1895-. Hawaiian And Pacific Foods: a Cook Book of Culinary Customs And Recipes Adapted for the American Hostess. New York: M. Barrows and company, incorporated, 1945.
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1950s-1960s
Sia, Mary Li. Mary Sia's Chinese Cookbook. 2nd ed Honolulu: University of Hawaii Press, 1957.
M. Francetta, Sister, O.S.B. The Art of Chinese Cooking. Rutland, Vt.: Charles E. Tuttle Co., 1956.
La Choy Food Products. The Art And Secrets of Chinese Cookery. [Archbold, Ohio: La Choy Food Products, Div. Beatrice Foods, 1957.
Liang, Marco. Romance of Chinese Cooking. [Denver, Colo.: M. Liang], 1953.
Mitchell, Alice Miller. Oriental Cookbook. Chicago: Rand McNally & Company, 1954.
Lon, Shen Mei, and Ruth Chier Rosen. The Ancestral Recipes of Shen Mei Lon. New York: Richards Rosen Associates, 1954.
Online, Full-Text Cookbooks: 1960s-1970s
Kan, Johnny, and Charles L. Leong. Eight Immortal Flavors. Berkeley, Calif.: Howell-North Books, 1963.
Chop Suey, a La Carte: Selected 62 Recipes. San Francisco: Japan Publications Trading Co., 1963.
Trader Vic. Trader Vic's Pacific Island Cookbook: With Side Trips to Hong Kong, Southeast Asia, Mexico And Texas : 300 Food And Drink Recipes From 18 Different Places. Garden City, N.Y.: Doubleday, 1968.
<<
Previous:
Books at SBU
Next:
Websites >>
