Research & Subject Guides: MFA in Creative Writing & Literature: Home

How To Use This Guide

Hello! This guide is designed to give you easier access to the extensive resources and services available to you through Stony Brook University Libraries and across the internet. It highlights items in the library collection and brings together web sites on various topics. If you have suggestions for other resources and services, please let me know. Use the tab menu at the top of the page to access:

books & e-books
databases
reference shelf
online journals (subscription and free)
web resources
audio-visual
resources for getting published
and more.

If you need help or have a comment you can contact me -- my information is on the right sidebar.

Library Delivery to Southampton & Manhattan

So, you want Roberto Bolaño's book, The Romantic Dogs: 1980-1998, or the Criterion Collection 2-DVD edition of Jean-Luc Godard's À bout de souffle - how do you get it from the Main Library? Follow the easy instructions at our Inter-Campus Delivery page.

And remember, if the Library doesn't have the book, article, video or other item you're looking for, we can get it for you from another libray for free. Just register for an InterLibrary Loan account today.

Fiction Daily

Team

Contact a Team Librarian

Spotlight Resource

LITERATURE ONLINE (LION) is a virtual library containing over 350,000 literary texts, together with full-text journals, author biographies and other critical and reference resources. Contents include:

More than 343,000 works of English, American, African American and Canadian poetry from the eighth century to the present day
More than 5,000 works of English and American drama from 1280 to 1915
More than 2,000 works of English and American prose from 1500 to 1914
The full text of over 335 literature journals
Literary reference works
Links to over 5,100 Web sites
Literature Online biographies for 4,100 of the most widely studied authors.

LION also offers numerous multimedia resources, including:

Poets On Screen - Nearly 900 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets’ works.
Poetry Archive Audio - Over 900 links to poetry readings at The Poetry Archive
Shakespeare Audio Plays - Fully dramatised, unabridged audio recordings of each of Shakespeare’s 38 plays.

Top Databases

JSTOR
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Project MUSE
Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics.

Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection
Literature Online (LION)
1280-present. Fulltext. Fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, from 1280 to the present day. Also contains 333 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources. With all 38 of Shakespeare's plays in dramatised audio recordings and nearly 900 Poets on Screen filmed readings.
Gale Literature Resource Center
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Collection of critical essays, biographies, timelines and other resources. Includes Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, and The Dictionary of Literary Biography. Selected material from Literature Criticism and For Students Series.
Oxford English Dictionary
Current. A historical dictionary. The accepted authority on the evolution of the English language over the last millennium. It is a guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of over half a million words, both present and past. Traces the usage of words.
MLA International Bibliography
1920s-present. Citations and selected fulltext from over 4,400 journals and 1,000 book publishers. Covers literature, linguistics, folklore, cultural studies, literary theory, film, rhetoric and composition. The definitive resource for modern, peer-reviewed literary criticism.

Local Resources

Long Island Poetry Collective
Promotes and supports poetry throughout the region. Publishes annual editions of the literary journal Xanadu and bi-monthly editions of Poet Times, its newsletter chock-full of poetry and other literary opportunities for poets. LIPC also hosts an on-air poetry program out of Stony Brook University's radio station, and it offers weekly Peer Workshops on Thursdays evenings at 7:30 p.m. at Huntington Public Library.
Long Island Writers' Guild
Writing workshops, Calendar of Events, and member news.
Performance Poets Association
Non-profit organization that provides a forum for local Long Island artists and brings original poetry and related arts to the public. Events include featured and open readings, recitals, discussions, annual poetry contests, workshops and publishing of the annual PPA Literary Review.
New York State Literary Tree
New York State Council on the Arts resource featuring Literary Map of Suffolk County and the rest of the state, including Authors, Literary Organizations, Libraries, Bookstores, Literary Sites, Small Presses, Magazines and Websites. Also calendars of NY Literary Events and Special Events.

Librarian

Chris Kretz

he/him/his

Email Me

Contact:

Central Reading Room, Melville Library
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY 11794

631.632.1231

Subjects: Africana Studies, Digital Humanities, Education, Journalism, News, Psychology, Resources for Faculty, Resources for Graduate Students, School of Professional Development, Southampton Arts, Theatre Arts

Related Resources and Subject Guides

Stony Brook MFA in Writing & Literature Program web site: Information on programs, courses, faculty, research, etc.

Theatre Arts
by Abigail Streeter Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 22 views this year
Communication & Journalism
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Feb 14, 2025 148 views this year
Dance
by Reference Librarian Last Updated Aug 19, 2024 44 views this year

Arts & Letters Daily

Chronicle of Higher Education's comprehensive daily guide to literary and aesthetic current events.

MFA in Creative Writing & Literature: Home