MFA in Creative Writing & Literature: Web Resources

Includes Writing Tools (ask the expert, the craft, the hotlist, member sites, showrunner training, technically speaking, writers workbench, and written by) and Writer's Resources (Agency List, Contracts & Compensation, Credits, Getting Paid, Indie Film, New Media, Working Rules). Good selection of Screenwriting Links.

"Fictionaut brings the social web to literary fiction, connecting readers and writers through a community network that doubles as self­selecting magazine highlighting the most exciting short stories, poetry, flash fiction, and novel excerpts."

Devoted to reading and writing short stories, with information on events, competitions, workshops and projects. Search for short story collections currently published in the UK and read tips and articles from writers, agents and publishers on what makes a great short story and the great classic and contemporary stories they love.

Essays on the literary life, practical guidance for getting published and pursuing writing careers, and in-depth profiles of poets, fiction writers, and writers of creative nonfiction. Also provides a comprehensive listing of literary grants and awards, deadlines, and prizewinners available in print.

News, information and guides to literary magazines, independent publishers, creative writing programs, independent bookstores, alternative periodicals, independent record labels, alternative newsweeklies and more.

Online resource for writers, featuring contemporary literature and poetry. Contains poetry, film news, prose poems, fiction, creative non-fiction, chapbooks, small presses, photography, art, online journal publications and much more.

Reviews of literary fiction, poetry, and nonfiction, with an emphasis on small and independent presses.

The Connie Martinson Talks Books Collection consists of more than 2,500 television interviews with prominent authors of fiction and nonfiction taped over the last 30 years. Included in the collection are interviews with Maya Angelou, Ray Bradbury, Al Gore, Rosa Parks, Gore Vidal, Barack Obama, Studs Terkel and Joyce Carol Oates.

Details about writing conferences, writers residencies, and literary festivals published in Poets & Writers Magazine during the past year.

Free, Online Directory from ShawGuides with Descriptions of 1040 Programs Worldwide.

Residencies for professional creative artists from all nations and backgrounds working in one or more of the following media: literature, film, musical composition, choreography, painting, performance art, photography, sculpture, and video. Artists may apply individually or as members of collaborative teams of 2 or 3 persons. They are selected by panels of other professional artists without regard to financial means. Residencies last from 2 weeks to 2 months and include room, board, and studio.

Jack Kerouac School of Disembodied Poetics. From Naropa.

Resource from the Academy of American Poets, with thousands of poems, essays, biographies, weekly features, and poems for love and every occasion.

Library of Congress poetry resources, including poems, poetry readings, poetry webcasts, prizes & fellowships, poetry news and events, and information about U.S. poet laureates.

Articles, News, Audio & Podcasts, Video, Weblinks and a Blog. Also includes the Poetry Tool, which allows users to find poems by Poet, Title, First Line, Category, Occasion and Glossary Term.

Founded in 1985 by poet Stanley Kunitz and arts administrator Elizabeth Kray, Poets House has created a home for all who read and write poetry. With over 50,000 volumes of poetry—including books, journals, chapbooks, audio and video tapes, and digital media—the collection is among the most comprehensive, open-access collections of poetry in the United States and is the foundation for all programs and services.

A weblog focused on contemporary poetry and poetics.

A quality web anthology of poetry. A poem a day, along with complete archives, and poem selections from the web.