It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MFA in Creative Writing & Literature: Audio-Visual
Check out the YouTube Channel for Stony Brook Southampton's MFA Program in Writing & Literature.
Includes author interviews, readings and other events.
Bob's Writing Shack: Author Readings
Writers read from their latest work at the Southampton Summer Writers Conference, Stony Brook Manhattan and Southampton. See the full list of readings.
Bob's Writing Shack: Writer Interviews
Visit the Writer Interviews section of Bob's Writing Shack for video interviews of Billy Collins, Daniel Menaker, Roger Rosenblatt, Helen Simonson, Andrew Solomon, Elizabeth Strout, Meg Wolitzer and others.
Stony Brook Poetry Center Reading Series Archive
Archive of Stony Brook University Poetry Center readings and lectures from 1977 and 1978, produced by Louis Simpson. Poets include: Gwendolyn Brooks, Robert Duncan, Allen Ginsberg, David Ignatow, Erica Jong, Galway Kinnell, Denise Levertov, Robert Lowell, and Gerald Stern.
92Y Literary Readings (YouTube channel): Some of the great literary moments which the 92nd Street Y Poetry Center has presented
across the decades, featuring recordings by some of the best writers of our time. Recent readings include: Jonathan Franzen and Lorrie Moore, Paul Muldoon, Richard Wilbur with Roger Rosenblatt, Jorie Graham and Yusef Komunyakaa, David Grossman, Anne Carson, Joyce Carol Oates.
Archival recordings include Saul Bellow, Kurt Vonnegut, Margaret Atwood, W.H. Auden, Adrienne Rich, Truman Capote, John Dos Passos and William Carlos Williams.
Poetryvlog.com is an ongoing online video collection of original poetry read by the poet. The videos run for not more than about five minutes, many less. Each featured poet's video remains on the site in the archive section, to be viewed at will. Poets appearing on the site offer a variety of styles and subjects.
POETS ON SCREEN - Nearly 900 video clips of poets reading their own and other poets’ works.
POETRY ARCHIVE AUDIO - Over 920 recordings from Poetry Archive, with the works of contemporary poets such as Billy Collins, Carol Ann Duffy and Michael Longley, as well as historic recordings of Edmund Blunden, E.E. Cummings, Sylvia Plath and many more.
SHAKESPEARE AUDIO PLAYS - The complete Arkangel Shakespeare contains fully dramatised unabridged recordings of all of Shakespeare’s 38 plays. Each play is recorded by noted actors, many of whom were trained at the Royal Shakespeare Company, such as Simon Russell Beale, Joseph Fiennes, David Tennant, Niamh Cusack and Sir John Gielgud and includes sound effects and music to bring the plays further to life.
Poet Vision Webcasts (Library of Congress)
Poet Vision features great poets reading and talking intimately about
their work. Originally filmed and broadcast in Philadelphia from
1988-90, the 12 episodes capture for posterity insights from and about
Lucille Clifton, Rita Dove, Allen Ginsberg, Louise Glück, Sam Hamill,
Michael Harper, Stanley Kunitz, Denise Levertov, and Robert Penn Warren
Poet and the Poem Webcasts (Library of Congress)
The Poet and the Poem is an ongoing series of live poetry interviews at
the Library of Congress with distinguished artists. Webcasts are now
available of recent events, including the appearances of two U.S. Poets
Laureate and several Witter Bynner fellows.
Poets include: Billy Collins, Rita Dove, Cornelius Eady, Nick Flynn, Louise Glück, Donald Hall,Robert Hass, Stanley Kunitz, Naomi Shihab Nye, John Rybicki, Charles Simic, David Wagoner and many others.
The Connie Martinson Talks Books Collection consists of more than 2,500 television interviews with prominent authors of fiction and nonfiction taped over the last 30 years. Included in the collection are interviews with Maya Angelou, Ray Bradbury, Al Gore, Rosa Parks, Gore Vidal, Barack Obama, Studs Terkel and Joyce Carol Oates.