It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Paper Help
The videos and other resources on this guide are designed to help you learn more about the research process. Learn about how to refine your topic, structure an effective search, use a database record, search on the open web, cite your sources, and more.
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Many EBSCO databases are defined by a specific subject area, such as psychology, education, nursing, or environmental studies. If you'd like to find a subject-specific database that you can search in that works the same way as Academic Search Complete, this list will be very helpful. Once you're in an EBSCO database, you can click "Choose Databases" to search in multiple EBSCO databases at once.
Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
US Major Dailies provides access to the five most respected US national and regional newspapers, including The New York Times and Washington Post, co-exclusive access to The Wall Street Journal, and exclusive access to Los Angeles Times and Chicago Tribune. The titles offer researchers thorough and timely coverage of local, regional, and world events with journalistic balance and perspective. The content is available by 8am each day and provides archives stretching as far back as 1985. This database is available on the ProQuest platform.
If the item has a specific location and call number, then it is a physical book. If the item says "Available Online," and has a link out to a databases in the "View Online" section of the record, then it is an ebook. If you only want ebooks in your results list, you can check the "Available Online" filter to the left of your results list.
Recommended for exploring issues related to a broad topic
Use this databases to find general reference pages on broad and popular topics such as "Fast Fashion," "Vaccines," or "Technology and Society." Each topic page will provide a general reference article, and a random assortment of sources of different information types (opinion articles, scholarly articles, images, videos, news, etc). This database can be useful if you are trying to get a sense of all the different perspectives out there on a popular topic. It is less useful for searching for specific articles on a specific topic.