Research & Subject Guides: Physician Assistant: Databases

Databases for Physician Assistants

AccessMedicine
Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.
Alt HealthWatch
1990-present. Focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic, and integrated approaches to health care and wellness, this resource covers over 160 international, peer-reviewed, and professional journals.
BioMedCentral
1999-present. Publisher of 276 peer-reviewed open access journals containing all original research articles that are made freely and permanently accessible online immediately upon publication.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text
1982-present. A comprehensive source for nursing & allied health journals, providing full text for more than 760 indexed journals. This is a definitive research tool for all areas of nursing and allied health literature.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey delivers all of Elsevier’s medical and surgical content in one dynamic resource, delivering access to over 900 books, over 500 journals, thousands of videos, and millions of images. This is an enhanced version of MD Consult with a proprietary medical taxonomy that delivers answers that relate directly to what you’re searching, and suggests other content and concepts you may have otherwise missed.
Cochrane Library
1999-present. This collection of databases contains high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making. Cochrane reviews represent the highest level of evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.

Dynamed
DynaMed® is a premiere clinical information resource used by physicians to answer clinical questions quickly and easily at the point of care. It includes thousands of topics that provide clinicians and educators with the evidence-based information they need to make informed decisions. Topics are updated daily as new evidence becomes available.
Faculty Opinions
Citations and comments with links to complete articles. Covers all areas of the biological and medical sciences. Comprised of highlights and reviews of the most interesting papers written in the biological and medical sciences as selected by leading researchers in the fields.

Health & Psychosocial Instruments (HaPI)
1985-present. Citations and abstracts to measurement instruments such as tests, questionnaires, interview schedules, etc. in the health fields, psychosocial sciences, and organizational behavior.
LexiComp Online
1978-present. Text-based monographs encompass more than 50 fields of clinically-significant pharmacology detail, applicable to many areas of specialization.
MEDLINE with Full Text
Date coverage varies. Medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, pre-clinical sciences, etc. Created by the National Library of Medicine.
Natural Medicines (formerly Natural Standard)
2000-present. An international research collaboration that aggregates and synthesizes data on complementary and alternative therapies. Using a comprehensive methodology and reproducible grading scales, information is created that is evidence-based, consensus-based, and peer-reviewed.
PsycARTICLES
Date coverage varies, mostly 1985-present. Full text, citations and abstracts. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
PsychiatryOnline
2000-present. Features DSM-5, the most widely used psychiatric reference in the world, and The American Journal of Psychiatry.

PubMed
This link to PubMed provides full-text linkouts from within PubMed for articles of all journals available through the Health Sciences Library.

PubMed Mobile
This link to PubMed is designed for handheld and smartphone users with links to search tools and full-text articles available from the Health Sciences Library.
PubMed Health
Provides information for consumers and clinicians on prevention and treatment of diseases and conditions by specializing in reviews of clinical effectiveness research.
TRIP Database
1997-present. A clinical search engine designed to allow clinicians to quickly find answers to their clinical questions using the best available evidence by simultaneously searching multiple sites.
UpToDate
1992-present. A full-text clinical resource that provides instantaneous, evidence-based answers to the most commonly asked questions in clinical practice. Specialities covered include adult primary care, cardiology, family practice, gynecology, infectious diseases, oncology, pediatrics, women's health, and others.
VisualDX
2000-present. A clinical decision support tool with nearly 1,200 visually presented conditions and over 22,000 medical images. The system will build a custom differential diagnosis for clinical staff as they enter specific findings about the patient. (Subscription of the "Regional Resource Center for Emergency Preparedness at Stony Brook")
Web of Science
.This product includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index Expanded, and Arts & Humanities Citation Index. (Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.)

Databases: Find the Best Library Databases for Your Research

ICD 9 and 10 Codes

Peer Review in Three Minutes

To find out if a particular journal title is peer-reviewed, UlrichsWeb Global Serials Directory will provide the answer. Look for the Refereed symbol appearing before the journal title.

This video tutorial created by North Carolina State University includes: how peer-reviewed articles are different from other types of publications; how these articles relate to campus teaching and learning activities; and where to go for assistance in locating peer-reviewed articles.

Managing PubMed Results Videos

Guides to APA Format

APA Formatting and Style Guide from Purdue University Online Writing Lab
This resource for the 6th edition offers examples for the general format of APA research papers, in-text citations, endnotes/footnotes, and references.

Physician Assistant

Databases for Physician Assistants

Databases: Find the Best Library Databases for Your Research

ICD 9 and 10 Codes

Peer Review in Three Minutes

Managing PubMed Results Videos

Guides to APA Format

Library

Resources

Follow Us