Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ACM Digital Library
1960s-present for ACM titles, dates vary for others. Fulltext for all ACM publications, citations and abstracts for others. Articles, proceedings, books, theses, SIG newsletters.
Engineering Case Studies Online
Engineering Case Studies Online is a collection of primary resources, including documents, videos, images, and testimonies that can be used to understand the causes and impacts of engineering failures. Important engineering cases including Apollo 13, Chernobyl, the Hyatt Regency walkway, space shuttle Challenger, the Tacoma Narrows bridge, the Titanic, and TWA flight 800.
1969-present. Citations and abstracts. Most comprehensive coverage of scientific and technical engineering research, covering all engineering disciplines; began as Engineering Index in 1896. Over 5000 international sources, including journals, conference proceedings, book chapters, etc.
Google Scholar searches across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites. PLEASE NOTE: Google Scholar does not search all of Stony Brook's subscription databases.
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL)
[IEEE Xplore] Fulltext from 1988-present, with some titles going as far back as 1913. Includes IEEE and IET journals, magazines, and conference proceedings.
NIST Data Gateway
Date coverage varies. Scientific and technical data, including physical properties of compounds. Subjects covered include biology, chemistry, physics, mathematics and engineering.
Search biomedical literature from 1950- present. Includes MEDLINE and other resources. Includes links to full-text articles when available.
Web of Science
(Note: does not currently support Internet Explorer 9.) Includes SCIENCE CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1900 - present ), SOCIAL SCIENCES CITATION INDEX EXPANDED (1956 - present), and ARTS & HUMANITIES CITATION INDEX (1975 - present). All subjects are covered. Indexes articles from almost 10,000 journals as well as the citations in the articles indexed. Recent years include abstracts.
For a complete list of Engineering Databases, please click here.
Espacenet : esp@cenet
esp@cenet from the European Patent Office permits searching of more than 60 million patents using limited fields, keywords, IPC, and ECLA from 82 countries. PDF format is available for many international patent documents. Here is the advanced web site: http://worldwide.espacenet.com/advancedSearch?locale=en_EP
(World Intellectual Property Office) database searches international Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) applications
United States Patent and Trademark Office
The Federal agency for granting U.S. patents and registering trademarks.
Search Conference Proceedings
Proceedings Basic Search
1993-present. Citations only. Indexes proceedings of every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre. Contains in each record a list of the papers presented.
1993-present. Citations only. Indexes papers in every published congress, symposium, conference, exposition, workshop, and meeting received by The British Library Document Supply Centre.
Search for Magazines, Trade Publications, and News
Academic Search Complete
Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Remember - if we don't have an article or a book at Stony Brook that you need, you can order it free of charge through our Interlibrary Loan (ILL) service.
We will request a copy from another library.
Request an item or set up an account.
Note: Textbooks are not available through this service.