COLLECTIONS: eBooks: SBU eBook Collections

Brill Online Books and Journals includes book chapters and journal articles covering the Humanities, International Law and Biology.

Date range varies. Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.

A growing collection of more than 44,000 online, open access scholarly books. The primary aim of DOAB is to increase discoverability of Open Access books.

1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.

A sub-set of the Internet Archive. This collection is comprised of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses, contributed by the Internet Archive Community.

Fulltext. Access to over 1,700 eBooks covering a wide range of topics.

1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.

Fulltext. E-books on historical studies published by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Each e-book offers extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.

Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. (This link provides full-text access only to the Open Access documents available in HathiTrust)

Illustrated full-color medical textbooks from Thieme covering anatomy, basic sciences, clinical sciences, and radiology. All titles can be downloaded to the MedOne app to read offline.

Open SUNY Textbooks is an open access textbook publishing initiative established by State University of New York libraries.

Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.

NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.

Date coverage varies. Searches the full text content of numerous medical textbooks including Harrison’s Online, Hurst’s The Heart, and Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery.

This resource also has a mobile format available.

An enhanced version of MD Consult including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, multimedia, patient education materials and other content across 12 distinct content types. Access to the point-of-care content from First Consult is also provided.

A mobile version of this resource is also available.

Nursing Reference Center Plus is the premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. This database includes access to a few of the core nursing reference titles as well as multimedia resources, full-text journal articles on a variety of topics.

Fulltext access for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals,1995 - present, and selected e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.

Date coverage varies. Includes books of classic and groundbreaking titles in a wide range of subject areas. Link between chapters, topics and referenced websites, and browse the table of contents.

Includes peer to peer medical review guides provided on the McGraw-Hill eBook Library platform for preparing for USMLE, clerkship, and specialty board exams.

Date coverage varies. Includes books in the medical handbooks and primary care clusters. Users can create their own accounts, add notes, bookmarks, and highlight and print parts of the book.

Access note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection. Look for the green unlocked icon.

Illustrated full-color medical textbooks from Thieme covering anatomy, basic sciences, clinical sciences, and radiology. All titles can be downloaded to the MedOne app to read offline.

Date coverage varies. A collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

The Psychiatry online database features five journals on the field of psychiatry. It also contains the DSM Library, online assessment measures, access to online textbooks, and other cases and topics relative to the field of psychiatry.

Rehabilitation Reference Center™ is an evidence-based, point-of-care resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and rehabilitation professionals. The collection of materials vary from exercise images to a selection of core ebooks in the field.

The world's most comprehensive neurosurgical resource online from Thieme.