It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this guide to find eBooks at SBU Libraries. Start by searching the eBook databases in the boxes below to find content quickly and efficiently, or learn how to perform more general searches for eBooks in the Finding eBooks tab.
The Libraries offer content from a variety of publishers in order to support the diversity of research and learning at Stony Brook University. For this reason, interfaces and functionalities may vary between eBooks. Consult the record page for the book for clarification, or contact us by e-mail (see Get Help, below) or by chat (Ask Us button in upper right corner).
For Off-Campus Access: Use your NetID and password.
SBU Libraries eBook Collections (West Campus)
The following eBook collections are available 24/7 to current SBU faculty, students and staff. If you are accessing this web site from off-campus, you will need to login with your NetID and password when prompted.
Brill Online Books and Journals is among the richest scholarly sources of its kind, with the full text of near 200,000 book chapters and journal articles, covering the Humanities, International Law and Biology.
Date range varies. Full-Text. Over 300 volumes of the renowned Cambridge Histories series covering History; Economic History; History of Science (including Modern Biological and Earth Sciences and Modern Physical and Mathematical Sciences); Language and Linguistics; Law; Literary Studies; Music; Philosophy; Political and Social Theory; Religious Studies; Theatre Studies and Performing Arts; and Warfare. In addition to substantial sets on American, British and European History, the collection also contains major works on the Histories of Africa, Egypt, India, Iran, Japan, Latin America, Russia, Southeast Asia, Turkey and the 15-volume Cambridge History of China.
1473-1700. Fulltext. Virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700. Contains more than 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions. Subject areas include English literature, history, philosophy, linguistics, theology, music, fine arts, education, mathematics, and science.
1700-1799. Fulltext. Major digital collection consisting of every significant English-language and foreign-language title printed in the United Kingdom during the 18th century, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Includes over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) - books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more. Based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Fulltext. E-books on historical studies published by Columbia University Press and the American Historical Association. Each e-book offers extensive documentation, hyperlinks to supplementary literature, images, music, video, search feature, and links to related web sites.
Over 8 million digitized items, including more than 2 million public domain books available for free. HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries. (This link provides full-text access only to the Open Access documents available in HathiTrust)
Full access to more than 4,000 titles in PDF format. The National Academies Press publishes more than 200 books a year on a wide range of topics in science, engineering, and health, capturing the most authoritative views on important issues in science and health policy.
Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series.
NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.
Fulltext. Approximately 1200 Oxford University Press books in Economics & Finance, Philosophy, Political Science, and Religion. Of the remaining 3000+ books in this collection, we have access to citations and abstracts only.
Electronic bibliographies online. Subjects cover early printing, world literature, natural history, science, medicine, theology, cultural and area studies, Judaica, music, theology, art and architecture, among others. Key bibliographies include standard reference works by Goff (Incunabula), Brunet (Manuel), Sabin (Americana), Fairfax Murray (French and German Books), and many more hard-to-find works.
An enhanced version of MD Consult including over 1,000 books, 500 journals, multimedia, patient education materials and other content across 12 distinct content types. Access to the point-of-care content from First Consult is also provided.
A mobile version of this resource is also available.
Nursing Reference Center Plus is the premier evidence-based information resource designed specifically for nurses. This database includes access to a few of the core nursing reference titles as well as multimedia resources, full-text journal articles on a variety of topics.
Fulltext access for nearly 2,000 scholarly journals,1995 - present, and selected e-books. Citations and abstracts for books and journals outside of SBU's fulltext subscription. Covers all disciplines with emphasis in the sciences (including medicine) and social sciences.
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8). Compatibility mode in IE9 or higher reverts the browser back to IE7 or IE8 behavior. If you experience issues accessing ScienceDirect using IE9 or higher, please disable the compatibility view mode in your IE browser.
Note2: Effective December 2016, Science Direct will also no longer support Internet Explorer 9.
Date coverage varies. A collection of online biomedical textbooks and other literature. In addition to some classic biology and medical textbooks and monographs, it also includes books and databases produced by the National Library of Medicine (NLM) and the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
The Psychiatry online database features five journals on the field of psychiatry. It also contains the DSM Library, online assessment measures, access to online textbooks, and other cases and topics relative to the field of psychiatry.
Rehabilitation Reference Center™ is an evidence-based, point-of-care resource for physical therapists, occupational therapists, speech therapists, and rehabilitation professionals. The collection of materials vary from exercise images to a selection of core ebooks in the field.