Research & Subject Guides: Dance: Multimedia

Spotlight Video

Martha Graham: Dance on Film

Available for 7-day loan in the DVD Collection on the Third Floor of the Main Library. Call number DVD 1939.

One of the great artistic forces of the twentieth century, performer, choreographer, and teacher Martha Graham influenced dance worldwide. Criterion presents a sampling of her stunning craft, all collaborations with television arts-programming pioneer Nathan Kroll. A Dancer’s World (1957), narrated by Graham herself, is a glimpse into her class work and methodology. Appalachian Spring (1958) and Night Journey (1961) are two complete Graham ballets, the first a celebration of the American pioneer spirit, scored by Aaron Copland, the second a powerfully physical rendering of the Oedipus myth. These are signature Graham works and tributes to the art of the human body. (Criterion)

Special Edition Double-Disc Set includes:

Martha Graham: The Dancer Revealed, a 1994 documentary produced for PBS’s American Masters series
A comparison of Appalachian Spring with an archival performance, by dance critic and historian Deborah Jowitt
A visual essay on working with Graham, narrated by Nathan Kroll
New interviews with six dancers from the films: Mimi Cole, Mary Hinkson, Linda Hodes, Stuart Hodes, Yuriko Kikuchi, and Ethel Winter
Excerpts from a 1975 filmed technique demonstration by Graham’s company, narrated by Graham
Footage of Graham’s company from a 1954 European tour

More information.

Streaming Video

OntheBoards.tv
HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
Kanopy Streaming Service
A repository of streaming films supporting research and teaching in the arts and humanities, social sciences, natural sciences, health sciences, and technical fields. Content includes documentaries, training videos, and foreign language material.
Alexander Street Streaming Video
A repository of streaming films to support research and teaching in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

Access note: SBU does not have access to videos labeled as "Sample" titles
Swank Streaming Videos
On-demand streaming video by subscription.
Theatre in Video
Full-Text. More than 250 of the world’s most important plays, together with more than 100 video documentaries, online in streaming video. From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare, in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, with performances by leading actors and directors. Allows researchers to find the full text of a play, the history of its performance, the production background, reference materials and ephemera, and now the complete performance itself. Ability to bookmark specific scenes, monologues, and staging examples and then include those online links in papers and course reserves.

Digital Resources and Archives

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC) Digital Archives: Dance
Choreography Archives
List of dance and theatre archives compiled by The International Consortium for Advancement in Choreography.
Dance Archives Around the World
List of dance archives with online resources from around the world compiled by Tanzfonds.de
World Dance Digital Resources
This guide from Simon Fraser University includes digital resources from around the world.

Dance

Spotlight Video

Streaming Video

Digital Resources and Archives

Library

Resources

Follow Us