Research & Subject Guides: Dance: Find Articles & Databases

Library Databases for Dance

Library Databases provide access to millions of articles, eBooks, webpages, multimedia, news & more.

Browse our full selection of databases by title or subject: Databases A-Z

Here are some literature & general databases that are useful for Dance:

Academic Search Complete Date coverage varies, back to 1887. Scholarly, multi-disciplinary database. Covers over 6100 fulltext journals, 5100 peer reviewed journals, and indexing for over 10,000 journals. Non-journal publications are also indexed.
Cambridge Journals Online 1990s-present. Access to 500 fulltext, peer-reviewed journals and 20 books that cover a broad range of subjects across the humanities, arts, and sciences.
Dissertations & Theses Global Fulltext and citations. Contains 1.2 million full-text dissertations, including most dissertations added since 1997 and strong retrospective full text coverage for older graduate works. Includes 2.7 million citations to dissertation and theses from around the world from 1861 to the present day.
Gender Studies Database 1972-present. Fulltext, citations and abstracts. Combines Women's Studies International and Men's Studies databases, covering the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship. Includes professional journals, conference papers, books, government reports, theses & dissertations and other sources.
JSTOR Coverage begins with the first issue of a journal, some as early as the 1600s, and continues up until 1-to-5 years ago. An online archive of core scholarly journals in most fields of study. Comprised of high-resolution, scanned images of journal issues and pages as they were originally designed, printed, and illustrated. Not a source for recent articles.
OntheBoards.tv HD-quality contemporary performance films of the best new works by current leaders in Dance, Theatre, Music and other forms that defy categorization – all available for streaming, download or mobile viewing. Filmed at On the Boards, as well as peer theaters across the country, each full-length work is shot and edited with 4-5 high-definition cameras and edited collaboratively with the artists. The collection focuses on international innovators and regional artists, including works by artists who are rarely seen in the U.S. and works that will never be performed again.
Oxford Reference Current/Regularly updated. A fulltext reference collection that includes facts, figures, definitions, and translations from over 175 Oxford dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, guides, encyclopedias, and the "Oxford Companions" series. NOTE: Titles with subscription/access have a green, open lock at end of each title; no subscription/access for ones with a red closed lock at end of each title.
Project MUSE Date coverage varies, mostly current. Fulltext access to over 600 scholarly, peer-reviewed journals in the Arts & Humanities, Social Sciences and Medicine & Health, as well as some titles in Science, Technology, and Mathematics. Access Note: SBU only subscribes to some titles in this collection

Music Databases

Grove Music Online 1990s-present. Fulltext. A reference authority on all fields of music. Includes the Oxford Dictionary of Music, Grove Music Online (New Grove Dictionary, New Grove Opera, and New Grove Jazz), and The Oxford Companion to Music.
Music Index 1975-present. Includes data from over 690 music periodicals. Nearly all aspects of classical and popular areas of music: musicological topics, book & record reviews, premieres and obituaries.
RILM Abstracts of Music Literature RILM Abstracts of Music Literature is a comprehensive bibliography on writings about music featuring bibliographic citations, abstracts and indexes. It covers publications from around the world on traditional music, popular music, jazz, classical music, and related subjects. Its coverage of publications begins in the early 19th century and extends to the present.
RISM Series A/II: Music Manuscripts after 1600 Bibliographic records of music manuscripts written after 1600. The records include information in standard bibliographic categories as well as graphical images of over 780,000 music incipits.
An international, annotated bibliography, which aims to document the world's musical sources of manuscripts or printed music, works on music theory, and libretti. The most comprehensive annotated index and guide to music manuscripts produced after 1600 containing 585,559 records by over 20,500 composers from manuscripts found in over 750 libraries and archives in 31 countries.

Newspaper Databases

New York Times (Historical) Coverage: 1851-3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
Nexis Uni Date coverage varies. Fulltext. Over 10,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep backfiles and up-to-the-minute stories in national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, and non-English language sources.
Ethnic NewsWatch 1990-present. Fulltext. Articles from newspapers and periodicals published by ethnic, minority and native presses in the United States. In English and Spanish.
Washington Post (Historical) 1877-1997. Fulltext. Digitized historical archive of The Washington Post. Complete issues, cover to cover, from its beginning in 1877 until 1997, including news articles, photos, advertisements, marriage announcements, obituaries, cartoons, and more. In searchable pdf format.
America's Historical Newspapers 1755-1922. Fulltext. More than 135 historic newspapers from all 50 states. Titles include The Liberator, William Lloyd Garrison's anti-slavery newspaper; New Orleans Daily Creole, the first African-American newspaper in America; Siwinowe Kesibwi (Shawnee Star), the first newspaper printed wholly in a Native American language; and the Maryland Gazette, the oldest continuously published newspaper in America. Regional newspapers include The New York Herald, Irish World, and Jewish Daily News.

Google Scholar

A Google tool that limits your search to scholarly, academic or peer-reviewed articles.

Link Google Scholar to library databases to find more full text!

Go to Google Scholar - Settings
Click on Library links on the menu on the left
Type "Stony Brook" in the Library Links section search box
Hit Find Library
Check the box next to Stony Brook University - SUNY - FullText @ Stony Brook

You will now see FullText@StonyBrook links next to results if the content is available in our databases.

Note: Google Scholar does NOT search all our databases.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Interlibrary Loan (ILL) makes resources available by providing electronic or physical delivery of material from other library collections. Material that is not owned by Stony Brook University Libraries may be obtained from other participating libraries.

For more information, please visit our website.

Request via ILL

Dance

Library Databases for Dance

Music Databases

Newspaper Databases

Google Scholar

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Library

Resources

Follow Us