Skip to Main Content
Collections
- Nineteenth-Century Disability: Cultures and Context
An interdisciplinary collection of primary texts and images on physical and cognitive disability in the long nineteenth century (c. 1780 to 1914).
- Disability History Museum Library
The records here illuminate everyday practices, dominant ideologies, and alternative perspectives. You will find individual voices as well as the opinions and rhetoric of groups. Most, but not all, of the Collections' records were produced in the United States from 1800 to the present.
- Museum of disABILITY History
The Museum of disABILITY History is dedicated to advancing the understanding, acceptance and independence of people with disabilities. The Museum’s exhibits, collections, archives and educational programs create awareness and a platform for dialogue and discovery. (Includes Virtual Museum)
- National Archives - Americans with Disabilities Act
The National Archives holds many records that relate to American citizens with disabilities. From personal letters to historic legislation, these records provide insight into efforts over the past century to establish programs and to protect the rights of people with disabilities.
Statistics
- Disability Statistics - Online Resource for U.S. Disability Statistics (Cornell University)
Information on the population size and disability prevalence for various demographic subpopulations, as well as statistics related to employment, earnings, and household income.
- StateData.info
Since the mid-1980s, the Institute for Community Inclusion has collected data from state intellectual and developmental disability agencies, the vocational rehabilitation system, and community organizations in order to describe trends in day and employment services for individuals with developmental disabilities.
- Annual Disability Statistics Compendium
The Annual Disability Statistics Compendium is a web-based tool that pools disability statistics published by various federal agencies together in one place. When working on legislative and other matters relating to persons with disabilities, the Compendium will make finding and using disability statistics easier.
Other Resources
- National Council on Disability
NCD is an independent federal agency charged with advising the President, Congress, and other federal agencies regarding policies, programs, practices, and procedures that affect people with disabilities. NCD is comprised of a team of Presidential and Congressional appointees, an Executive Director appointed by the Chair, and a full-time professional staff.
- National Organization on Disability
The National Organization on Disability (NOD) is a private, non-profit organization that promotes the full participation and contributions of America’s 57 million people with disabilities in all aspects of life. Today, the National Organization on Disability focuses on increasing employment opportunities for the 80-percent of working-age Americans with disabilities who are not employed.
- It's Our Story
A national initiative to make disability history public and accessible; we've collected over 1,300 video interviews from disability leaders across the country since 2005. Now, we're making this critical aspect of American history public, accessible and interactive.
