The Lead Selectors Team supports the University’s teaching and research missions locally and globally by:
Providing leadership for the creation of a resource-rich scholarly environment.
Implementing a framework for acquiring and preserving world-class scholarly collections.
Assessing and anticipating the needs of a constantly evolving learning and research community.
The Lead Selectors Team guides the development and preservation of a rich and diverse network of scholarly, cultural and informational resources in support of the University’s mission of excellence in scholarship, research, teaching, creativity, health care and economic and technological development.
Model liaison core and enhanced activities.
Through contacts and collaborations with faculty, researchers, and students in their subject areas, and by discussing these activities with their subject groups, Lead Selectors will model and promote academic engagement for their colleagues.
Selectors for the Health Sciences attended departmental faculty meetings to introduce new and promote existing resources that were identified as meeting needs of the group.
Selectors in Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences disciplines attended departmental meetings and special events to understand research and teaching priorities in those departments, to promote library resources, and to identify opportunities for interdisciplinary programs and collections at the Libraries. Additionally, selectors held on-site reference hours in the Humanities Building and in the Social & Behavioral Sciences Building.
Selectors in the Sciences & Engineering attended departmental meetings and met individually with faculty and students to promote the libraries' resources and identify new resources to meet departmental needs.
Lead Selectors will meet with the selectors in their respective groups on a monthly basis to discuss contacts made with stakeholders in their areas.
Selectors in the Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences meet regularly to discuss collection priorities, outreach initiatives, and special events in order to support and enrich research and teaching in these areas.
Selectors in the health sciences meet on a regular basis to discuss priorities, faculty requests and departmental initiatives.
Selectors in the Sciences & Engineering meet to discuss collection development issues and resources to support faculty and department needs.
Lead Selectors will document their meetings with their stakeholders and develop a toolkit other selectors can use.
The Lead Selector for Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences is collaborating with the Lead Selector for Health Sciences and the Head of Research & Emerging Technologies to create an outreach and support toolkit for BrowZine, expected to be complete in Fall 2016.
The Lead Selectors team has created a best practices document and feedback form to help other selectors request, conduct, and evaluate product trials.
Outreach
Find appropriate and efficient processes for faculty, researchers, and students to play a role in the development of an open access faculty research repository, fund allocations and scholarly communication issues.
Discussion is underway concerning developing policies and procedures for institutional repository and scholarly communication tools and initiatives. Lead Selectors are advising Head of Scholarly Communication and Associate Director for Library Technology on new and draft policies and procedures.
Lead Selectors will organize an annual meeting in the Fall with all new University faculty and library liaisons.
Planning is underway to meet with new faculty and liaisons in Fall 2016. Possible venues include new faculty luncheon, interactions at the department or college level, and regular meetings with and updates to library liaisons.
Institutional Repository.
Develop general content statement to clarify what content should be included in IR. (Fall 2015)
Content statement was developed for Academic Commons
Discussions have begun on additional content statements appropriate to existing digital platforms
Advise Library IT on content in existing collections and identify what should be included in local repository.
Added Associate Director of Library Technology to Lead Selectors Working Group to discuss existing collections and present new proposals for addition of digital collections to local repository.
Develop comprehensive collection development policy for IR.
Reviewed draft collection development policy for newly implemented institutional repository, Academic Commons. Advised Head of Scholarly Communication on policy content and structure.
Allocations.
Assess existing fund allocations. (Spring 2016)
Associate Dean for Collection Strategy and Management began review of fund allocations. AD for CSM will prepare recommendations for review and discussion by Lead Selectors Working Group in Summer 2016.
Associate Dean for Collection Strategy and Management began discussion with key selectors regarding alternative acquisition models with potential impact on fund allocation structure and workflows. AD for CSM will prepare recommendations for review and discussion by Lead Selectors Working Group in Summer/Fall 2016.
Develop new allocations based on updated analysis of University research and teaching priorities, student population and demographics, and other information impacting the cost and availability of content. (Fall 2017)
Work is on schedule to introduce new allocation model by Fall 2017. Review process will continue during AY2016-2017, with full implementation planned for Fall 2017.
Implement rational, data-driven, fund allocation procedure, including a methodology for ongoing review. (Summer 2018)
Following full implementation of new/revised allocation model, schedule and procedures for ongoing review will be developed and implemented for conclusion of AY2017-2018.
Coordination with subject groups.
Coordinate multidisciplinary purchases.
During the 2015/2016 fiscal year, the Libraries acquired two new databases to support interdisciplinary research and teaching in the Arts, Humanities, and Social Sciences, namely Sabin Americana, 1500-1926 (Gale) and 60 Minutes: 1997-2014 (Alexander Street Press). In addition, the Lead Selector for these areas worked with departmental selectors to identify monographs and serials of interdisciplinary interest.
Collection Development Policy.
Review existing collection development policy and develop format and guidelines for new policy. (Spring 2016)
Review of existing collection development policy was completed and discussion of new format and guidelines for new policy took place Spring 2016.
Begin working with selectors to revise collection development policy for their subject areas. (Spring 2016)
Began to solicit input from selectors for revision of subject-specific collection development policies and priorities. Lead Selectors Working Group has begun work on associating subject-specific statements with general collection development policy (currently in the drafting stage).
Expand ebook collections.
Select academic ebook subscription collection for one-year trial. (Fall 2015)
Trial completed and ebook subscription adopted for ebrary platform via ProQuest.
Work with selectors to develop patron-driven acquisitions (PDA) program in selected disciplines. (Fall 2015)
Patron-driven ebook acquisitions options currently under review by Associate Dean for Collection Strategy and Management. Recommendations will be presented to Lead Selectors Working Group in Summer/Fall 2016.
Virtual Space.
Develop and maintain web presence for Lead Selectors to be used to describe collection development operations and procedures; develop, maintain and publicize policies; and offer resources for faculty and students to make recommendations and provide feedback. (Fall 2017)
Under development
Develop online purchase recommendation form. (Fall 2017)
Planned for Fall 2017
Scholarly Communication.
Identify the role of the Lead Selectors Team in promoting and advancing Scholarly Communication.
Began discussions with Head of Scholarly Communication and Associate Director of Library Technology on defining role of Lead Selectors Working Group in promoting and advancing scholarly communication, including collection development policy for institutional repository.
STEM website developed to include links to scholarly communication information useful to researchers and students in those disciplines
Professional Growth.
Coordinate forums, webinars, invited speakers and other professional development activities.
During the 2015/2016 Academic Year, The Lead Selector for Arts, Humanities, & Social Sciences organized in-person and virtual presentations from several vendors, including ProQuest, EBSCO, and Kanopy, as well as additional events, such as the Women's History Month Colloquium Series and a workshop on eBook usage in research and teaching. Future professional development events, to be held in Fall 2016, will address using Kanopy for research and teaching and employing text mining and data visualization techniques in the humanities and lettered social sciences.
Health Science selectors have hosted on site and virtual instructional sessions with database vendors for our subscriptions to Clinical Key, DynaMed and Nursing Reference Center Plus and UptoDate. Additional visits are scheduled for the Summer of 2016.
Assessment.
Survey assessment tools and methodologies used by other ARL libraries, and develop plan to implement regular collection assessments. (Winter 2017)
Associate Dean for Collection Strategy and Management began research into possible assessment tools and methodologies and planning integration of annual collections review procedures into existing workflows and acquisitions timelines. AD for CSM will present recommendations to Lead Selectors Working Group during AY2016-2017.
Library Administration: 631.632.7100
Except where otherwise noted, this work by SBU Libraries is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
