Promote Academic Engagement
Provide input to support the efforts of library faculty and staff in their promotion of academic engagement by creating internal LibGuides.
- Create an internal LibGuide with step by step instructions on troubleshooting initial e-resources issues.
- Serials & Electronic Resource Management Services (SERMS) continues to troubleshoot and discuss access issues with the Library Information Technology Department (Library IT) and EBSCO in regards to the implementation of EBSCO Full Text Finder. SERMS is preparing the groundwork to create an internal libguide when access issues have been resolved.
Provide collective expertise for seamless access to all materials in various formats to support the learning process and cultivate academic excellence.
- Implement best practices for managing electronic resources using TERMS (Techniques for Electronic Resource Management)
- SERMS has implemented some of the practices of TERMS (Techniques for Electronic Resource Management), focusing on specific aspects of TERMS such as:
-
Acquire: Collaborated with Library Administration and liaisons to confirm purchase orders, licenses, vendors, processing and subscription types.
-
Implement: Collaborated, resolved, and managed all serial resources issues which included working with EBSCO, other vendors and Library IT
-
Oversaw and managed transition to Full Text Finder, working closely with EBSCO and Library IT.
-
Identified and corrected problems that resulted in the transition, which is ongoing
-
Implemented Full Text Finder Link Outs for various major databases (e.g., PubMed, Web of Science, Scopus, etc.), working closely with individual vendors.
-
Assumed responsibility for managing Libguides databases.
- Work with Collection Development to create basic guidelines when making selection decisions for print, print plus online and online only content.
- Keeping within the framework of TERMS, SERMS will work more closely with Collection Development on the aspect of :
-
Investigate: Close collaboration in the decision-making process for the purchase of print, print plus online and online only content.This includes issues relating to remote access, ILL, concurrent users, full text coverage and other access issues.
Build, Preserve and Provide Access to Rich and Diverse Collections
Develop project management expertise in order to implement projects that respond to users and support emerging technology and data needs.
- Investigate project management software to organize and manage the lifecycle of electronic resources.
- Ongoing research regarding project management software to manage the lifecycle of electronic resources in the most timely and effective manner.
- Using Google calendar, Google Sheets and Google Docs as a management tool to track renewals, deadlines and new journals as we look for a management software program
Create, develop and implement uniform policies and procedures for continuing resources to ensure availability, accuracy and integrity of the collections across all Stony Brook University libraries.
- Develop uniform policies and procedures working with all stakeholders involved in the renewals, acquisitions, implementation and cancellations of all print and electronic resources.
- SERMS will work with the Associate Dean, of Collection Strategy and Management in the ongoing process to complete this goal.
- Plan meetings with Lead Selectors and Subject Liaisons to develop guidelines and considerations for the selection, cancelation and management of electronic resources for their specific subject areas.
- In conjunction with the new Director of Collections and Resource Management SERMS would like create a committee or be included in meetings with Lead Selectors and Subject Liaisons to develop guidelines and considerations for the selection, cancellations and management of electronic resources for their specific subject areas.
Maintain accuracy in the library collections' lifecycle by anticipating the constantly evolving publication models and technologies of the academic publishing world.
- Subscribe to email notifications from publishers and vendors about new products and and releases of technologies. Follow up with conversations regarding these new products and technologies.
-
Conversations with Library IT, and EBSCO in regards to issues that Stony Brook and other Universities share in the implementation of EBSCO FullTextFinder
-
SERMS has subscribed to various listservs and alerts that include issues regarding EBSCO EDS, Access Services, Clinical Key, Access Medicine and EBSCO.
Participate and contribute to the planning of a new library management system, providing expertise in the areas of acquisitions, serials cataloging and continuing resource management allowing seamless access to the collections.
- Participate in the SUNY Learning Commons "Next Gen" group to learn about considerations for the next library management system for SUNY.
- Will plan to participate in SUNY Learning Commons "Next Gen" group to learn about considerations for the next library management system for SUNY as well as other avenues of investigation for the next library management system.
- Plan informational meetings with Library Technology for updates on the next library management system. Share ideas and considerations with Library Technology.
- Request information and keep an open dialog with Library IT in regards to the next library management system .
- Recently attended a Webinar for University Centers Regarding Alma and Consortial Configurations. Looking towards attending many more presentations regarding the next library management system.
Develop Responsive Library Spaces for Diverse Communities
Cultivate a merged collaborative workspace for ERMS/Serials & Continuations that provides an environment devoid of distractions and fosters concentration, communication and creativity.
- Merge ERMS/Serials & Continuations into one unified office space in Melville library to promote collaboration.
- Completed physical move of ERMS/Serials & Continuations to the Melville Library in September of 2015.
- Created a collaborative environment by recreating the physical space into an office that fosters creativity and concentration
Maintain a virtual learning space that supports distance learning communities, research and curricula initiatives by providing seamless access to online content by eliminating gaps between publishers, aggregators and subscription agents.
- Implement more efficient and proactive workflows to facilitate seamless access to the libraries resources using TERMS (Techniques for Electronic Resource Management).
- All members of SERMS now receive email through the LibraryERMS@stonybrook.edu email, to foster transparency, awareness of access issues, and a working knowledge of troubleshooting access issues. As a result of this department email, all members are aware or familiar with access issues,can refer issues to the correct person so that they are handled in an efficient manner thus avoiding gaps in communication.
- Changed location codes for all journals moved for the renovation project
Foster an Innovative Culture of Learning and Assessment
Create a learning environment where an exchange of ideas is encouraged and fostered so that cross-training provides a new skill set for each member of ERMS/Serials & Continuations.
- Create one unified office space to facilitate cross-training and reorganization of workloads for ERMS/Serials & Continuations departments.
- ERMS and Serials & Continuations has merged under the name SERMS which stands for Serials & Electronic Resource Management Services. This reorganization has resulted in the following:
- HSL journals rerouted to Melville Library
- Continue to divide print only, print plus online and online only subscriptions to clean up the data in the catalog (approximately 3000 ALEPH records ) which provides a more streamlined user experience for serials
- In conjunction with EBSCO divided print only, print plus online and online only subscriptions into separate accounts which streamlined invoice processing.
- Created a new serials account with EBSCO to expedite standing order invoices
- Created unified procedure for invoices sent to the Business Administration Office
- Created new procedure for serials check in
- Cross training in Serial Cataloging continues
- All members of SERMS are in the process of being cross trained for online link checking
- Prioritized correcting and revising prediction patterns in ALEPH to ensure the accuracy of the Library’s serial holdings
- Trained student assistants in the new procedures created regarding print periodicals
- Created a streamlined workflow for print subscription cancellations, discarded journals, and journals changed to online only formats.
Foster staff knowledge by providing access to webinars and encouraging attendance at national or regional conferences to increase creativity, skill sets and workflows.
- Encourage staff to attend webinars and workshops to improve their skill sets using EBSCO FullTextFinder, RDA for Serials cataloging and Google Drive. Encourage staff to attend regional and/or national library conferences to provide exposure to best practices in managing library resources.
- Attended RDA webinar, EBSCO FullTextFinder webinars and Time Management webinar
- Continue to encouraged staff to attend classes and webinars on latest technology in regards to e resources.
Collaborate with Library Information Technology to develop strategies and create more efficient workflows in Aleph Cataloging and Acquisitions/Serials modules.
- Plan meetings with Library Information Technology so that ERMS/Serials can contribute to the development of reports and recommend solutions to problems or issues in Aleph.
- Attended meetings and discussions with Library Information Technology regarding reports and solutions to issues in ALEPH
- Plan to continue to meet with Library Information Technology and suggest /develop ideas for reports, scripts and solutions to problems in ALEPH.
