To find primary sources at Stony Brook, use STARS, the Library Catalog.
You can include various words in your search that will help you locate primary source material. A good general word to include would be sources.
For example, if you are looking for primary sources on the Philippines, you can do a KEYWORD ANYWHERE search in STARS for Philippines and sources.
Also try these Library of Congress subject headings that are often used for primary sources:
Search for material written by key figures involved in your topic. If you're studying the Irish War of Independence, for example, search for Eamon de Valera.
There are an increasing number of excelent web sites that have audio-visual proimary source material.
Internet Archive - Probably the best overall collection of audio-visual material that could be used for primary sources. The Archive currently contains almost 400,000 moving images and nearly 700,000 audio items, along with software and other material.
YouTube - Great resource for finding speeches and hidtoric news items, as well as musical and cinematic trasures.
Through the University's membership in various Library consortiums, Stony Brook students, staff and faculty have access to, and/or borrowing privileges at, numerous other research libraries on Long Island, in the greater New York area, and throughout the U.S., Canada, and other countries.
Research Libraries Group (RLG)
The University Libraries' membership in the Research Libraries Group (RLG) consortium allows Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty with current ID cards to enter and use many major libraries in the United States, Canada and abroad.
In our geographical region, other libraries in the program include: Columbia, NYU, The New York Public Library, The New School, American Museum of Natural History, Metropolitan Museum of Art, Museum of Modern Art, New-York Historical Society, Cornell, Princeton, Rutgers, The University of Pennsylvania, and Yale.
Stony Brook ID holders visiting these institutions may use materials; however, borrowing privileges are not usually available.
Students, staff, and faculty are urged to call ahead to a particular library, before actually going there, to confirm that they will be granted access at their time of arrival. Also, if they need to use a branch library within one of the participating library systems, it should be confirmed beforehand that the branch also takes part in the program and will allow access.
Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC)
The Long Island Library Resources Council (LILRC) is a regional
multi-type library organization serving academic, special, public,
hospital and school libraries and library systems in Nassau and Suffolk
The LILRC Research Loan Program (RLP), a reciprocal borrowing agreement between member libraries, allows Stony Brook students, staff and faculty to use and borrow material from numerous institutions on Long Island, including Adelphi University, Dowling College, Nassau and Suffolk Community Colleges, St. Joseph's College, Touro Law Center, Brookhaven National Laboratory, and the Nassau and Suffolk Public Library Systems.
Students, staff and faculty interested in borrowing material through the Research Loan Program must visit the Reference Desk in the Central Reading Room of Melville Library for an RLP pass.
New York Public Library
Any person who lives, works, attends school or pays property taxes in New York State is eligible to receive a New York Public Library card free of charge. This gives researchers the opportunity to use important collections in the NYPL system, check out material, and access a wide array of useful electronic resources from on-site or, in a few cases, from home. See the NYPL web site for more information on getting a card.
See their list of databases.
State Univeristy of New York Libraries
Stony Brook students, staff, and faculty have direct borrowing privileges at most other SUNY libraries.
New York Times Archive - 1851-3 years ago. Online access to page images and fulltext articles from the New York Times as far back as the first issue.
For newspaper articles after approx. 1980, you can search the following databases:
LexisNexis Academic - Thousands of newspapers, from major ones to more regional titles. Washington Post goes back to about 1975. Most papers go back to the mid 1980s or 1990.
Ethnic NewsWatch - Newspapers from minority and ethnic presses that often don't get covered in LexisNexis or Factiva. Most go back to early 1990s.
Newsday - 1985-present.
ON THE INTERNET
Chronicling America - The Library of Congress - Newspapers from some states from 1860-1922.
ICON: International Coalition on Newspapers - Best single guide to online newspapers. Lists digitization projects in the U.S. and around the world. Shows which are freely accessible and which cost money.
Google News Archive - Contains a mix of free and pay online newspapers, mostly from the 20th century.
Suffolk County Historical Newspapers – Eight Long Island titles 1839-1942.
Major Historical Sets
Index to Underground Newspaper Collection: Microforms Library Z6944.U5 B4 [1963-1985]
Alternative press. A guide to the microform collection Z6944.U5 B4 [1986-present]
Other Major Papers
Major Foreign Newspapers
Have historic newspapers for Long Island. Original newsprint copies and microfilm. Most but not all titles are in STARS. Consult with Kristen or Jason.
Card Catalog Drawer
Located at the Reference Desk. Indexes newspapers by state/region.
Primary source collections include:
Readers' Guide to Periodical Literature
To find magazine and journal articles between 1880 and 1980. Readers' Guide is located in the Central Reading Room (CRR). When you enter the CRR, it will be on the wall to your immediate left, at call number AI3 .R483.
Each volume of Readers' Guide is indexed by Subject. Under each subject, there will be a list of article titles, with abbreviations for the magazine or journal in which the article is located, the date of the issue, and the volume and page number(s).
When you find an article, you need to then check in STARS to see if the library has the magazine/journal for the date of the article. (I receommend using the JOURNAL CATALOG part of STARS. Once you find the magazine, check the "Summary Holdings" to see if we have the date you need.
For example, if you find an article from Time magazine from April 1957, search the JOURNAL CATALOG for Time. When you click on the link for Time, you will various Summary Holdings for Microfiche (1965-1974,1982-); Microfilm (1923-1956,1960-1964,1975-1981) and Print (1957-March 1975,Oct. 1975-1980,1982-). April 1957 would be available, then, in the Print version, which is located in the Main Stacks at call number AP2 .T37 OVERSIZE x.
You will also see a link for online versions. You can check this to see if the magazine/journal is available for your date. Please keep in mind, however, that most magazines and journals online will only go back to about 1980.
While JSTOR is often used for secondary sources, keep in mind that each journal in JSTOR goes back to its first issue. Many journals go back into the 19th century, and a few go back as far as the 17th and 18th centuries. So, it can also be used as a primary source.
Some of the major microforms that include historic magazines and journals are:
For more information on these collections, see the Microform Collections at Stony Brook section above.